Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Veterinary - Research databases: Accessing resources in PubMed

Accessing resources in PubMed

When using the LSU SVM Library's PubMed Outside Tool link, every resource will include an LSU SVM Library icon within the abstract page. If the library has access to the resource, clicking the icon should resolve to the full text of the article. 

Image shows Vet Med Library full text link in PubMed

 

If the LSU SVM Library does not have access to the resource, clicking the icon will resolve to a screen with a link to search LSU Libraries' catalog and a link to request the resource through interlibrary loan. Please click the Check LSU Catalog link to see if the LSU SVM Library has the resource in print format or if another campus library owns the resource before requesting the resource via interlibrary loan. If the Full Text Finder screen does not have LSU School of Veterinary Medicine Library in the upper right corner of the page, please clear your cookies and attempt your search again.

 

Image shows ILL request and search catalog links

 

The Request this item through interlibrary loan link leads to a pre-filled interlibrary loan request; all you will need to enter is the date by which you need the article.

 

Many publishers include publisher links for article; sometimes these links are for open access full text articles, but most articles require a subscription for full access. When accessing PubMed from a campus PC or wireless laptop using Eduroam, clicking the publisher icon will resolve to the article's full text if LSU Libraries or the LSU SVM Library has access to the resource. If you are off campus, you must use the PubMed link on the SVM Library homepage in order to have access to the resources available through LSU Libraries. If you do not see the SVM Library logo link, go back to the SVM Library homepage and click the PubMed link again.

 

If a free full text article is available for a resource, the results list will have a Free article or Free PMC article below the title information. If you use the Text availability filter Free full text, your results will be limited to only those resources with a Free article or Free PMC article link.

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement