Digital versions of many of the journal and newspaper articles and eBooks listed in this guide are available via databases and online collections accessible to current Louisiana State University faculty, staff and students. If you are not affiliated with LSU, check with your local public library system or university library regarding access to these and other related sources.
Report problems accessing databases via the Ask Us! button on the right side of the page.
The newspaper articles listed in this guide represent items that have been digitized that are in LSU’s holdings. LSU has many more titles that include relevant articles, but those items are currently only available on site in microfilm format. Click here for more information on LSU Libraries Special Collections newspaper holdings.
Databases & Digital Collections Online:
Access all databases available via LSU Libraries here.
When searching the library catalog and manuscript finding aids, try these search terms:
ballot
campaign
candidacy/candidate
Congress/Congressman
elect/election
governor
House
legislature
literacy test
mayor
police jury
poll
presidency/president
representative
Senate/Senator
suffrage
vote/voter
women's issues/women's rights
Some manuscript collections include large quantities of campaign and election-related material. Search finding aid via the catalog to identify relevant items.
Submit questions regarding accessing oral history interviews to LSU Libraries Special Collections, Public & Research Services Department.
Processed Collections
All processed oral history interviews may be accessed on-site in the Hill Memorial Library Reading Room. Duplication information is provided here.
All requests for access to unprocessed collections require the authorization of the Director of the T. Harry Williams Center for Oral History at LSU. Duplication of unprocessed interviews is not allowed beyond "Fair Use" unless this restriction is cleared by the Director upon staff review of the item. Please note that the review process may take at least one business day, depending on the size of the collection.
Note that materials related to particular politicians may not be reflected in the name of the collection. For example, the Russell B. Long Papers include extensive holdings related to both Huey P. Long and Earl K. Long, as well as some items related to the campaigns of political opponents.
Access to unprocessed manuscript collections requires permission, subject to Special Collections’ Policy on Access to Unprocessed Collections.