Campaigns and Elections: Louisiana: Elections
NOTES:
Some printed items are part of the LLMVC Ephemera Collection; they are listed by item title, with a link to the catalog record for the larger collection.
*Denotes unprocessed collection; see Notes & Tips tab for information on accessing unprocessed manuscript collections and oral history interviews.
General
Manuscript collections:
Printed/published items:
- The ballot box, the palladium of our liberties. New Orleans, July, 1863
- Proclamation : Headquarters, Department of the Gulf, New Orleans, January 11, 1864
- Democratic poll book (blank) (1882)
- Terrebonne Parish Election Commissioners List (1921)
Newspapers:
- Reveille: October 9, 1969; September 20, 1971; November 5, 1971
Election Returns
Manuscript collections:
- William Acy, Jr. Papers
- Albert A. Batchelor Papers
- D. Warren Brickell Papers
- Concordia Parish Records
- Elisabeth K. Dart Collection
- Democratic State Central Committee of Louisiana Papers
- Harvey G. Fields Papers
- William S. Hamilton Papers
Printed/Published items:
- Proceedings on the canvass of the returns of the election held November 7, 1876 (1876)
- Presidential Election Returns (2000-2020)
Newspapers:
- Baton-Rouge Gazette: July 10, 1830; July 16, 1842
- Daily Picayune: April 22, 1868
- Louisiana Democrat: November 20, 1872
- Morning Advocate: January 11, 1960
- New Orleans Republican: December 25, 1874
- Weekly Louisianian: November 16, 1872; January 2, 1875
Primary
Manuscript collections:
Newspapers:
- Morning Advocate: December 7, 1959
- New Orleans Daily Democrat: December 23, 1877
Ticket
Manuscript collections:
Printed/published items:
- Election tickets (1859-1891)
- Sabine Parish Conservative election ticket (1871)
- Sabine Parish Republican election ticket (1871)
- Reconstruction election ticket (1872)
- Republican Party election ticket (1872)
- Assumption Parish Republican election ticket (1875)
- Louisiana Democratic Party State Central Committee election tickets (1892)
Newspapers:
- Caucasian: September 19, 1874
- Daily Picayune: January 5, 1896
- Louisiana Democrat: April 1, 1868
- New Orleans Bee: June 19, 1838; June 25, 1840
- New Orleans Republican: June 28, 1868
Russell B. Long Papers
Russell B. Long in voting booth, n.d.
Voting Methods: Paper Ballot, Machines, Polling Places
MECHANIZED MACHINE
Manuscript collections:
POLLING PLACES
Newspapers:
- Daily Picayune: October 6, 1868
PUBLIC PAPER BALLOT
Manuscript collections:
- Concordia Parish Records
- Alexandre DeClouet Family Papers
- Democratic State Central Committee of Louisiana Papers
- E. John and Thomas C.W. Ellis Family Papers
PRIVATE PAPER BALLOT
Manuscript collections: