Campaigns and Elections: Louisiana: Political Parties & Organizations

Printed/Published items:

• Speech of Dr. J.W. Harmon before the state convention of the American Party, held at Baton Rouge (June 16th, 1856)

Manuscript collections:

• William Arceneaux Papers 
• Albert A. Batchelor Papers 
• Martin Behrman Campaign Poster
• Donna Brazile Papers*
• John B. Breaux Papers
• H. Donald DeVol Collection on Huey P. Long
• Desmond Fitzgerald Letter
• Hancock Club Campaign Ribbon
• J. Bennett Johnston Papers
• Robert Floyd Kennon Papers 
• Mary Landrieu Papers*
• Russell B. Long Papers
• Presidential Campaign Songs
• Howard M. Romaine Papers 
• Pierre Soulé Papers
• Thomas Thomson Taylor Papers 

Printed/Published items:

• [Miscellaneous political pamphlets] [1800-1899]
• Campaign document no. 2 (1855)
• New Orleans journal prospectus (1870)
• Louisiana Herald, a Democratic Party political broadside from Amite, Tangipahoa Parish, La. (1870)
• Democratic poll book (blank) (1882)
• Louisiana Democratic Party State Central Committee election tickets (1892)
• Reorganization of the Democratic Party handbill (1896)
• Jackson Democratic Association of Louisiana pamphlet (1899)
• Murphy J. Foster campaign pamphlet (1903)
• Rules adopted by the Democratic State Central Committee of the State of Louisiana for the government and conduct of the Democratic primary election (1904)
• William Jennings Bryan Ribbons (1906)
• Huey P. Long posters (ca. 1934-1935)
• Richard W. Leche speeches (1936-1937)
• “Why I Am for Earl Long” pamphlet by Russell B. Long (1948)
• Delegates to the national convention of the Democratic Party to be held in Chicago, July 21, 1952 (1952)
• How to be a delegate to the 1976 Democratic National Convention (1975)

Newspapers: 

• Baton Rouge Gazette: August 31, 1844
• Courrier de la Louisiane: August 28, 1844
• Daily Picayune: October 6, 1868; January 5, 1896
• Feliciana Democrat: April 21, 1855
• Louisiana Democrat: April 1, 1868
• People’s Vindicator: November 14, 1874
• Reveille: December 4, 1959; July 22, 1971; August 31, 1971; November 5, 1971; August 31, 1972; September 1, 1972; October 13, 1972
• Times Democrat: October 16, 1894

Printed/Published items:

• The ballot box, the palladium of our liberties (1863)

Printed/Published items:

• John R. Rarick / American Independent Party presidential campaign buttons and flyer (1980)

Manuscript collections:

• William S. Hamilton Papers 

Printed/Published materials:

• Campaign document no. 2 (1855)

Newspapers: 

• Feliciana Democrat: April 21, 1855

Printed/Published items:

• Political manual / prepared by Judge A.B. Sloanaker, by authority of the state central committee of the Liberal Party of Louisiana (1872)

Manuscript collections:

• David Weeks and Family Papers

Printed/Published items:

• A political register, setting forth the principles of the Whig and Locofoco Parties in the United States (1844)

Printed/Published items:

• "The R. W." alias red warriors, alias right white: the brains of the so-called National Party of Louisiana, a wheel within a wheel (1878)

Newspapers:

• Louisiana Democrat: September 23, 1874

Manuscript collections:

• D. Warren Brickell Papers 

Manuscript collections:

• Harrison G. Bagwell Papers
• Albert A. Batchelor Papers 
• Charles W. Boothby Papers 
• Leroy S. Boyd Papers
• Andrew Jr. and George Hero Papers
• William Pitt Kellogg Letter, 1874 
• William Pitt Kellogg Letter, 1916
• Charlton Havard Lyons, Sr. Papers 
• John Milton G. Parker Family Papers 
• Presidential Campaign Songs
• James G. Taliaferro Papers
• Thomas Thomson Taylor Papers 

Printed/Published items:

• Official report of the proceedings of the ... Republican National Convention (n.d.)
• Declaration of principles and platform (n.d.)
• [Miscellaneous political pamphlets] [1800-1899]
• Proceedings of the convention of the Republican Party of Louisiana held at Economy Hall, New Orleans, September 25, 1865 (1865)
• Inaugural address of Governor H.C. Warmoth and remarks of Lieut. Governor Dunn (1868)
• Sabine Parish Conservative election ticket (1871)
• Sabine Parish Republican election ticket (1871)
• Republican Party election ticket (1872)
• Assumption Parish Republican election ticket (1875)
• “Platform of Henry Pharr, Republican candidate for Governor of Louisiana” (1908)
• Conservative political pamphlets (c. 1950s)
• Official report of the proceedings of the ... Republican National Convention (1988)

Newspapers: 

• Louisiana Democrat: April 1, 1868
• New Orleans Republican: April 18, 1868; May 2, 1868; June 28, 1868; January 1, 1873; August 20, 1874; May 30, 1876
• Reveille: October 9, 1964
• Semi weekly Louisianian: June 18, 1871
• Weekly Louisianian: April 24, 1880
• Weekly Pelican: October 1, 1887

Manuscript collections:

• Walter F. Dietz Papers 
• Samuel J. Peters and Family Papers 

Manuscript collections:

• James G. Taliaferro Papers 
• S. Teesdale Letter
• David Weeks and Family Papers 

Printed/Published items:

• Adresse du comité central whig aux votans indépendans de la Louisiane (1840)
• A political register, setting forth the principles of the Whig and Locofoco Parties in the United States (1844)
• Address of the New Orleans Central Rough and Ready Club to the people of Louisiana (1848)
• A letter to the public upon political parties, caucuses and conventions, and the next presidential election (1848)

Newspapers:

• Baton Rouge Gazette: October 3, 1840; October 10, 1840; September 7, 1844; October 12, 1844; November 2, 1844
• Daily Delta: November 26, 1852
• Daily Picayune: October 6, 1844
• Feliciana Democrat: April 21, 1855
• New Orleans Bee: June 25, 1840; October 1, 1844; October 6, 1844

CITIZENS' POLITICAL CLUBS

Manuscript items:

• Albert A. Batchelor Papers 
• E. John and Thomas C.W. Ellis Family Papers 
• Samuel J. Peters and Family Papers 

Newspapers: 

• Daily Picayune: October 6, 1844

COMMON CAUSE

Printed/Published items:

• Common Cause / Louisiana (1982-1996)

CONGRESS ON RACIAL EQUALITY (CORE)

Oral history interviews:

• Johnnie Jones, Sr. oral history interview
• Robert and Essie Mae Lewis oral history interview*
• Meg Redden oral history interview
• Lola Stallworth oral history interview
• Martin Williams oral history interview*
• Moses Williams oral history interview*
• John Zippert oral history interview

HONEST ELECTION LEAGUE

Printed/Published items:

• This memorandum brief is respectfully submitted to Senator Sam G. Bratton, Chairman, and Senators Tom Connally, John G. Townsend, Robert D. Carey (1932)

LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS

Manuscript collections:

• Charlton Havard Lyons, Sr. Papers 
• Roberta M. Madden Papers 

Printed/Published items:

• Voter's key, 1992-1996 (1992)

SHARE OUR WEALTH CAMPAIGN COMMITTEE

Printed/Published items:

• Share our wealth, our principles and our friends (1936)

VOTERS' LEAGUE

Oral history interviews:

• Harrison Brown oral history interview*
• Martin Williams oral history interview*
• Moses Williams oral history interview*

YOUNG AMERICANS FOR FREEDOM

Printed/Published items:

• Young Americans for Freedom imprints (1969)