Campaigns and Elections: Louisiana: Offices
NOTES:
Some printed items are part of the LLMVC Ephemera Collection; they are listed by item title, with a link to the catalog record for the larger collection.
*Denotes unprocessed collection; see Notes & Tips tab for information on accessing unprocessed manuscript collections and oral history interviews.
Congress
Manuscript collections:
- Harrison G. Bagwell Papers
- John B. Breaux Papers
- Harvey G. Fields Papers
- William S. Hamilton Papers
- Andrew Jr. and George Hero Papers
- J. Bennett Johnston Papers
- Robert Floyd Kennon Papers
- Mary Landrieu Papers*
- Ladislas Lazaro Papers
- Huey P. Long Photograph Album
- Russell B. Long Papers
- David Weeks and Family Papers
Printed/Published items:
- Address to the voters of the Fourth Congressional District, composed of the parishes of Natchitoches, Sabine, Rapides, Calcasieu, St. Landry, Vermilion, Lafayette, Avoyelles, Pointe Coupee, St. Martin, West Baton Rouge, Iberville, Assumption and St. Mary (1865)
- The ballot box, the palladium of our liberties. (1871)
- “The History of the Campaign in the First Congressional District” pamphlet (1884)
Newspapers:
- Daily Crescent: April 3, 1848
- New Orleans Bee: June 19, 1838
- New Orleans Daily Democrat: December 23, 1877
- New Orleans Tribune: February 28, 1869
- Reveille: October 4, 1966; July 22, 1971
- True Democrat: August 29, 1908
- Weekly Louisianian: November 16, 1872; June 20, 1874; April 25, 1874; January 2, 1875; December 4, 1875
- Weekly Pelican: January 12, 1889
Governor
Manuscript collections:
- William Arceneaux Papers
- Harrison G. Bagwell Papers
- Albert A. Batchelor Papers
- Desmond Fitzgerald Letter
- John B. Fournet Papers
- Henry L. Fuqua Papers
- Henry L. Fuqua Scrapbooks
- Henry L. Fuqua Speech
- William S. Hamilton Papers
- Leon Jastremski Family Papers
- J. Bennett Johnston Papers
- Mary Landrieu Papers*
- Russell B. Long Papers
- James G. Taliaferro Papers
Oral history interviews:
- Harry Connick, Sr. oral history interview
- Robert d'Hemecourt and Cecil Warren oral history interview
- L.O. Fusilier oral history interview
- Jimmy Gill oral history interview
- J.W. "Cotton" Merchant oral history interview
- John A. and Arlene Mmahat oral history interview
- William Morgan oral history interview
- Winston Riddick oral history interview
- John Saunders and Larry Vidrine oral history interview
Printed/Published items:
- Inaugural address of Governor H.C. Warmoth and remarks of Lieut. Governor Dunn (1868)
- Murphy J. Foster campaign pamphlet (1903)
- “Platform of Henry Pharr, Republican candidate for Governor of Louisiana” (1908)
- Hewitt Bouanchaud cartoon (1924)
- Hewitt Leonidas Bouanchaud handbill (1924)
- Richard W. Leche speeches (1936-1937)
- “Why I Am for Earl Long” pamphlet by Russell B. Long (1948)
- “Buddy Roemer: A ‘Maverick’ Sets His Sights on the Governor’s Mansion” reprinted from the Greater Baton Rouge Business Report (1986)
Newspapers:
- Baton Rouge Gazette: July 3, 1830; July 10, 1830; July 16, 1842
- Feliciana Democrat: April 21, 1855
- Louisiana Democrat: November 20, 1872
- Lafayette Advertiser: November 18, 1903
- Morning Advocate: December 7, 1959, January 11, 1960
- Natchitoches Enterprise: January 15, 1920
- New Orleans Bee: June 25, 1840
- Reveille: December 4, 1959; August 1, 1963; January 10, 1964; May 6, 1971; July 22, 1971; August 31, 1971; September 20, 1971; November 5, 1971; February 2, 1972
- St. Landry Clarion: January 17, 1920
- Weekly Louisianian: September 7, 1871; November 26, 1871; December 7, 1871; December 10, 1871; December 14, 1871; December 28, 1871; March 14, 1872; July 6, 1872; July 27, 1872; September 21, 1872
Legislature
Manuscript collections:
- Albert A. Batchelor Papers
- John B. Breaux Papers
- Buck-Ellis Family Papers
- J. Bennett Johnston Papers
- Mary Landrieu Papers*
- Andrew D. Lytle Collection
- Roberta M. Madden Papers
- William J. Minor and Family Papers
- Wright-Boyd Family Papers
Oral history interviews:
Printed/Published items:
- Bythell Haynes letter (1857)
- A reply to an open letter from J.H. Ringgold, addressed to the voters of the 24th senatorial district (1880-1892)
Newspapers:
- Reveille: November 5, 1971
Mayor/City Council
Manuscript collections:
Printed/Published items:
Other Offices
Manuscript collections:
Oral history interviews:
- Moses Williams oral history interview*
Printed/Published items:
Newspapers:
- Bogalusa Enterprise: January 20, 1916
- Daily Crescent: April 3, 1848
- Daily Picayune: January 5, 1896
Parish Police Jury
Manuscript collections:
- Ozeme Fontenot Family Papers
- W.P.A. Collection Historical Records Survey: Transcriptions of Louisiana Police Jury Records
Newspapers:
- Baton Rouge Gazette: July 3, 1830; July 12, 1834
Mary Landrieu Papers
Senator Mary Landrieu, 2002
Edward J. Gay III Congressional File
Campaign poster for Senatorial candidate Edward J. Gay III, 1918
Roberta M. Madden Papers
Campaign ephemera for state legislature,1979
President
Manuscript collections:
- William Arceneaux Papers
- Harrison G. Bagwell Papers
- Donna Brazile Papers*
- John B. Breaux Papers
- Certification of Louisiana Presidential Election Returns
- G.K. Chase Letter
- H. Donald DeVol Collection on Huey P. Long
- William S. Hamilton Papers
- Hancock Club Campaign Ribbon
- William Pitt Kellogg Letter, 1916
- Presidential Campaign Songs
- Howard M. Romaine Papers
- S. Teesdale Letter
- David Weeks and Family Papers
- David Williams Letter
- Wright-Boyd Family Papers
Printed/Published items:
- [Miscellaneous political pamphlets] [1800-1899]
- Speech of Mr. M'Duffie on the proposition to amend the constitution of the United States respecting the election of president and vice president (1826)
- Speech of Dr. J.W. Harmon before the state convention of the American Party, held at Baton Rouge, June 16th (1856)
- Republican Party election ticket (1872)
- William Jennings Bryan ribbons (1906)
- Louisiana McGovern for President Organization political leaflet (1972)
- The Presidential campaign, 1976 (1978)
- John R. Rarick: American Independent Party presidential campaign buttons and flyer (1980)
Newspapers:
- Baton Rouge Gazette: October 10, 1840; August 31, 1844; September 7, 1844; October 12, 1844;
November 2, 1844 - Black Republican: May 20, 1865
- Courrier de la Louisiane: August 28, 1844
- Louisiana Democrat: November 20, 1872; August 23, 1876
- New Orleans Bee: October 1, 1844; October 9, 1844
- New Orleans Republican: June 28, 1868
- Reveille: January 8, 1960; October 20, 1960; October 26, 1960; October 9, 1964; November 3, 1964; November 5, 1968; September 1, 1972; October 13, 1972
- Semi Weekly Louisianian: June 18, 1871
- Southern Sentinel: July 3, 1852
School Board
Oral history interviews:
Secretary of State
Oral history interviews: