NOTES:
Some printed items are part of the LLMVC Ephemera Collection; they are listed by item title, with a link to the catalog record for the larger collection.
*Denotes unprocessed collection; see Notes & Tips tab for information on accessing unprocessed manuscript collections and oral history interviews.
General
Manuscript collections:
- Nathaniel P. Banks Letterpress Copybook
- Albert A. Batchelor Papers
- E.A. Burke Papers
- Democratic poll book (blank)
- Ladislas Lazaro Papers
Printed/Published items:
- "The R. W." alias red warriors, alias right white: the brains of the so-called National Party of Louisiana, a wheel within a wheel (ca. 1878)
- A reply to an open letter from J.H. Ringgold, addressed to the voters of the 24th senatorial district (ca. 1880-1892)
- “The Louisiana Amendment the Same as Ours!” broadside on a North Carolina disfranchisement measure (1900)
- Terrebonne Parish election commissioners list (1921)
Newspapers:
- Weekly Louisianian: July 4, 1874
Age
Manuscript collections:
- Donna Brazile Papers*
- Concordia Parish Records
Newspapers:
- Opelousas Courier: October 1, 1870
- Reveille: August 31, 1971; September 3, 1971; November 3, 1971; November 5, 1971
Gender
Manuscript collections:
- Donna Brazile Papers*
Printed/Published items:
Immigrants & Naturalized Citizens
Newspapers:
- Daily Picayune: October 8, 1870
Literacy Test & Poll Tax
LITERACY TEST
Oral history interviews:
- Johnnie Jones, Sr. oral history interview
- Robert and Essie Mae Lewis oral history interview*
Newspapers:
- New Orleans Bee: June 25, 1840
- New Orleans Republican: April 18, 1868
POLL TAX
Manuscript collections:
- James B. Aswell Papers
- Thomas Butler Papers
- Bynum Family Papers
- Benjamin Philip Cuny Family Papers
- Harvey G. Fields Papers
- Eva Scott Family Papers
Printed/Published items:
Race
Manuscript collections:
- Albert A. Batchelor Papers
- Charles W. Boothby Papers
- David French Boyd Papers
- Donna Brazile Papers*
- John B. Breaux Papers
- Buck-Ellis Family Papers
- O. Lean Delelis Scrapbook
- William Pitt Kellogg Papers
- Russell B. Long Papers
Oral history interviews:
- Dupuy Anderson oral history interview*
- Jesse Bankston and Larry Bankston oral history interview
- John B. Breaux oral history interview
- Harrison Brown oral history interview*
- Harry Connick, Sr. oral history interview
- Robert d'Hemecourt and Cecil Warren oral history interview
- L.O. Fusilier oral history interview
- Jimmy Gill oral history interview
- Jack Paul Faustin Gremillion oral history interview
- Janette Harris oral history interview*
- Johnnie Jones, Sr. oral history interview
- Robert and Essie Mae Lewis oral history interview*
- Joe McPherson oral history interview
- J.W. "Cotton" Merchant oral history interview
- John A. and Arlene Mmahat oral history interview
- William Morgan oral history interview
- Winston Riddick oral history interview
- Freya Rivers oral history interview
- John Saunders and Larry Vidrine oral history interview
- Lola Stallworth oral history interview
- Martin Williams oral history interview*
- Moses Williams oral history interview*
- John Zippert oral history interview
Printed/Published items:
- Intimidation and the number of white and of colored voters in Louisiana in 1876, as shown by statistical data derived from Republican official reports (1877).
- The Negro in Louisiana, seventy-eight years of progress ...(1942)
- The Citizens' Council (1955-1961).
Newspapers:
- Black Republican: April 29, 1865; May 20, 1865
- Daily Picayune: February 2, 1868
- Donaldsonville Chief: September 20, 1873
- New Orleans Bulletin: January 10, 1875
- New Orleans Republican: April 18, 1868, January 1, 1873
- New Orleans Tribune: November 18, 1864; August 24, 1865; September 12, 1865; December 22, 1866; April 23, 1867; May 17, 1867; November 7, 1867
- Opelousas Courier: October 1, 1870
- Reveille: December 10, 1965
- Times-Democrat: February 8, 1899, December 1, 1899
- Weekly Louisianian: October 1, 1871; March 14, 1872; October 26, 1872; January 11, 1873
- Weekly Pelican: October 1, 1887
J. Bennett Johnston Papers
Senator Johnston speaks to voters on the campaign trail, 1990
E. John and Thomas C. W. Ellis Family Papers
Voter registration certificate for Stephen D. Ellis, Tangipahoa Parish, 1870
Daily Reveille
Article regarding registration of students in first election in which citizens 18 to 20 years old could vote, September 3, 1971
(view in Louisiana Digital Library)
Registration: Certificates & Drives
Manuscript collections:
- John B. Breaux Papers
- Donna Brazile Papers*
- Bynum Family Papers
- Common Cause Louisiana Records
- Alexandre DeClouet Family Papers
- Walter F. Dietz Papers
- E. John and Thomas C.W. Ellis Family Papers
- Holcombe-Kilbourne-Craddock Family Papers
- Arthur Hawley Scouten Papers
- Waddill Family Papers
Oral history interviews:
- Dupuy Anderson oral history interview*
- Jesse Bankston and Larry Bankston oral history interview
- Harrison Brown oral history interview*
- Jack Paul Faustin Gremillion oral history interview
- Janette Harris oral history interview*
- Johnnie Jones, Sr. oral history interview
- Robert and Essie Mae Lewis oral history interview*
- J.W. "Cotton" Merchant oral history interview
- Meg Redden oral history interview
- Winston Riddick oral history interview
- Freya Rivers oral history interview
- Lola Stallworth oral history interview
- Martin Williams oral history interview*
- Moses Williams oral history interview*
- John Zippert oral history interview
Printed/Published items:
Newspapers:
- Baton Rouge Tri-Weekly Gazette and Comet: March 31, 1868
- Caucasian: September 19, 1874
- Daily Picayune: February 2, 1868; October 6, 1868; January 12, 1878
- Donaldsonville Chief: September 20, 1873
- Louisiana Capitolian: October 18, 1879
- New Orleans Bulletin: January 10, 1875
- New Orleans Republican: October 4, 1874
- New Orleans Tribune: October 1, 1865; April 23 and 25, 1867; May 17, 1867; June 21, 1867
- Reveille: November 3, 1964; July 22, 1971; May 6, 1971; May 11, 1971; September 3, 1971; August 31, 1972; September 8, 1972; March 5, 1975
- Times-Democrat: February 9, 1870
- Weekly Louisianian: October 26, 1872; November 2, 1872
- Weekly Pelican: August 10, 1889
Roll Purges
Manuscript collections:
Oral history interviews:
Printed/Published items:
Suffrage and Disenfranchisement
Manuscript collections:
Newspapers:
- Louisiana Democrat, January 24, 1877
- True Democrat, February 8, 1899, December 1, 1899, January 27, 1900
Printed/Published items: