Find the best library databases for your research.
We haven't yet identified any Popular databases. Check back soon!
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
As compelling as it is comprehensive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Rich collections of periodicals detail American history and culture from the
late-17th century through the late-19th century meeting the research
needs of scholars and faculty in specific academic departments. See the More Info section below for a complete list of collections offered in this database. Collections can be searched individually or all at one time. The URL linking out from this database record searches all collections.
• Advertising Periodicals, 1815-1888
• Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern U.S., 1789-1879
• Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western U.S., 1800-1878
• Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878
• Alternative Medicine and Health Periodicals, 1810-1877
• American Civil War Periodicals, 1855-1868
• American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1834
• American Literary Periodicals, 1835-1858
• American Literary Periodicals, 1859-1891
• American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877
• American Political and Social Movements, 1815-1884
• American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891
• Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881
• Business and General Education Periodicals, 1800-1885
• Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1774-1858
• Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1859-1870
• Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1871-1901
• Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877
• Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals 1797-1904
• College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877
• Commercial Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1811-1877
• Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902
• Cultural Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1797-1877
• Current Events and History Periodicals, 1691-1912
• Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts Periodicals, 1764-1877
• Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895
• Fireside Companions and Family Literature Periodicals, 1805-1877
• Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904
• General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889
• Hobbies, Socialization, and Sport Periodicals, 1775-1889
• Literary Periodicals of New England, 1789-1878
• Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877
• Military and Law Enforcement Periodicals, 1691-1877
• Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902
• Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879.
• Periodicals from Around the World, 1691-1880
• Periodicals of the American West, 1779-1881
• Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879
• Popular Educational Periodicals, 1758-1889
• Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878
• Religious Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1801-1904
• Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901
• Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887
• Story Papers, Dimes and Dollar Periodicals, 1828-1877
• Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885
• Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877
• Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877
• Women’s Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844
• Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865
• Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891
Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an array of publications, this database is a robust resource for art students and art historians. Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
• More than 360 full-text periodicals (40 more full-text than Art Full Text)
• 220 full-text books (which are not in Art Full Text)
• Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 790 academic journals, magazines and trade publications and more than 220 books
• A collection of over 63,000 images
The Environment Complete database offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
• More than 1,200 full-text journals and monographs
• Nearly 4 million records
• Indexing for more than 2,000 domestic and international journals dating back more than 100 years
• More than 180 full-text monographs
Containing full text for hundreds of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals, Legal Source is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
• More than 1,100 full-text journals (approx. 720 additional full text journals over Legal Collection)
• Detailed indexing for legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications and university publications
• More than 420 law reviews
• Over 2.3 million records, including book reviews and case studies
Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 430 literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; full text of over 7,000 classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
• More than 36,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
• More than 87,000 articles/essays of literary criticism (7,000 more than LRC)
• Nearly 260,000 author biographies (10,000 more than LRC)
• More than 780 literary journals (330 more than LRC)
• Nearly 2,800 reference books (none of which are in LRC)
• More than 930,000 book reviews (30,000 more than LRC)
• More than 150,000 classic and contemporary poems (50,000 more than LRC)
• More than 35,000 classic and contemporary short stories (8,000 more than LRC)
• More than 11,000 author interviews (1,000 more than LRC)
• More than 7,400 classic novels
• Nearly 170 critical essays about popular young adult (YA) literature titles (not in LRC)
• More than 150 Critical Insights volumes (not in LRC)
Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS Complete contains full text for nearly 500 popular high school magazines covering a wide-range of subject areas including history, science, careers, and more.
• Full text for more than 570 popular high school magazines (100 more than MAS Ultra)
• Nearly 420 full-text reference books (80 more than MAS Ultra)
• More than 117,000 biographies (13,000 more than MAS Ultra)
• More than 73,000 primary source documents
• An image collection of more than 1.6 million photos, maps, flags and color PDFs
MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
The Newspaper Source database provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
• Full text for more than 1,200 newspapers **
• More than 40 news magazines
• News from more than 130 newswires
• More than 77 million full-text articles
• More than 1.8 million television and radio news transcripts
Newspaper Source Plus brings critical news content with ongoing updates throughout the day with its News View feature. Popular sources include:
• AP (Associated Press)
• CNN Wire
• PR Wire
• UPI (United Press International)
• Xinhua (China)
Part I delivers the complete series of State Papers Domestic for the Tudor era, encompassing every facet of early modern government, including social and economic affairs, law and order, religious policy, crown possessions, and intelligence. The collection is of immense value to researchers of religious history, chronicling social unrest in England as it pitched back and forth between the religious positions of its rulers: from the boy-king Edward VI's promotion of the Reformation, to Mary I's bloody reassertion of Catholicism and Elizabeth's loyalty to Protestantism and enduring suspicion of Catholic plots.
Part II: The Tudors: Henry VIII to Elizabeth I, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign: Ireland, Scotland, Borders and Registers of the Privy Council completes the State Papers of the Tudor period by reuniting the Foreign, Scotland, Borders, and Ireland papers for the sixteenth century together with the Registers (Minutes) of the Privy Council for the whole of the Tudor period. Part II opens up a window on the Tudor world beyond the borders of England, documenting Tudor England's relations with other states both near and distant, including those it sought to control (Scotland, Ireland, and Wales), those it fought wars or maintained peace with in Europe (the Holy Roman Empire, Spain, and France), and those it traded with (the Ottoman Empire, the Barbary Coast, and Russia).
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2012. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
Theatre in Video: Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II offers views to the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.