Librarian
Medieval & Renaissance Manuscript Facsimiles
Introduction
Special Collections owns more than 125 facsimile reproductions of manuscripts dating from the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Some are of very high quality, reproducing not only the contents of manuscripts, but even the bindings and other unique features that shed light on medieval book production.
Several new facsimiles are added to the collection each year. In addition to being available to researchers, they are frequently shown to classes in history, art history, religious studies, and music, among other disciplines. To schedule a class viewing, please contact us.
Clicking on the links will take you to full catalog records, from which you may request materials for viewing in the Special Collections Reading Room or for a class instruction session.
One original medieval manuscript, a French Book of Hours from circa 1450, featuring twelve full-page illuminations, is available, as well as a few loose leaves from manuscripts. For more information on these resources, please see the separate guide to materials on the History of Books and Printing. The Rare Book Collection also contains scholarly and reference works on medieval manuscripts and the history of books in general.
Compiled by Michael Taylor, 2013
Bibles and Christian Liturgical Books
- Bible of St. LouisThree-volume moralized Bible, created in Paris between 1226 and 1234 for King Louis IX of France.
- The Pamplona BiblesTwo 13th-century picture Bibles with martyrologies, commissioned by King Sancho VII of Navarre.
- Old Testament miniatures (Morgan picture Bible)13th-century French Gothic illustrations depicting scenes from portions of the Old Testament. Sent as a gift to Shah Abbas I of Persia in the 17th century.
- Vienna Genesis6th-century illuminated manuscript of a fragment of the Book of Genesis, in Greek, on purple vellum.
- Ashburnham Pentateuch7th-century illuminated manuscript of the Pentateuch, possibly of Spanish origin.
- Rabbula Gospels6th-century illuminated Syriac Gospel Book. Illustrated pages only.
- Book of Durrow7th-century Irish manuscript of the Gospels.
- Godescalc Evangelistary8th-century collection of prayers and selections from the Gospels, mostly on purple vellum. Commissioned by Charlemagne.
- Lindisfarne GospelsNorthumbrian manuscript of the Gospels, circa 700.
- Stockholm Codex Aureus8th-century English Gospel book, also known as the Codex Aureus of Canterbury.
- Book of KellsIrish manuscript of the Gospels, circa 800, the finest example of the Insular style of illumination. Partial facsimile.
- Codex Egberti10th-century illuminated Gospel lectionary believed to have been produced at the German abbey of Reichenau for Egbert, archbishop of Trier. Contains one of the earliest picture cycles of the life of Christ.
- Golden Gospels of Henry III / Speyer Gospels11th-century illuminated Gospel book produced at the Abbey of Echternach under the patronage of Holy Roman Emperor Henry III.
- Reichenau Pericopes Book11th-century illuminated German lectionary containing readings from the Gospels.
- Bamberg Apocalypse11th-century German manuscript of the Book of Revelation and a Gospel lectionary
- Gulbenkian Apocalypse13th-century English illuminated manuscript of the Book of Revelation.
- Dyson Perrins Apocalypse13th-century English illuminated manuscript of the Book of Revelation. Reproduces the illustrations (in black and white), but not the text or commentary. Included also are a color facsimile of the whole of leaf 36 recto, and facsimiles of sixteen initials from the text
- Stuttgart Psalter9th-century illustrated psalter produced at the abbey of St. Germain des Prés in France.
- Chludov Psalter9th-century illuminated Byzantine Greek psalter probably produced in Constantinople.
- Tickhill Psalter and Related ManuscriptsBlack-and-white facsimile of selected leaves from a 14th-century English illuminated psalter.
- Capitulario of Philip IILate-16th-century liturgical book produced at the Monastery of San Lorenzo de El Escorial in Spain.
Christian Prayer Books
The most popular types of personal prayer books for lay people in western Europe during the late Middle Ages and Renaissance were psalters and books of hours. The list below includes examples of both.
- Psalter of Saint LouisColor reproductions of 78 full-page miniatures from a 13th-century illuminated psalter made for King Louis IX of France.
- Gorleston PsalterBlack-and-white facsimile of selected leaves from a 14th-century English illuminated psalter.
- Luttrell PsalterFull-size color facsimile of a 14th-century illuminated psalter produced in England, known especially for its numerous grotesques.
- Madresfield HoursReproductions of miniatures and selected illuminated pages from a 14th-century book of hours produced in England.
- Hours of Jeanne d'EvreuxPartial facsimile of 14th-century prayer book produced for a queen of France. One of the smallest manuscript books of hours in existence.
- Visconti HoursPartial facsimile of an illuminated book of hours produced in northern Italy, begun in the late 14th century and completed in the 15th.
- Très riches heures du duc de Berry15th-century book of hours, perhaps the best-known example of French Gothic manuscript illumination.
- Grandes heures de Jean de BerryPartial facsimile of early 15th-century illuminated book of hours produced for Jean de France, Duke of Berry.
- Belles Heures of Jean, Duke of BerryColor facsimiles of 32 illuminated pages with miniatures from a 15th-century book of hours.
- Black Hours15th-century Flemish book of hours. Pages dyed black.
- Hours of Engelbert of NassauPartial facsimile of a late 15th-century Flemish book of hours.
- Rohan Hours15th-century French book of hours. Reproduction of the miniatures only
- Sobieski Hours15th-century French book of hours. Reproduction of the miniatures only.
- Book Altar of Philip the Good15th century. Combination of a panel diptych and a prayer book. Made for the Duke of Burgundy.
- Farnese HoursColor facsimiles of full-page miniatures and illuminated pages of text from a 16th-century book of hours considered the last great Italian Renaissance manuscript.
Christian Commentary
- Beatus of San MillánLate 10th/early 11th-century manuscript (with later additions) of a commentary on the Apocalypse by the 8th-century Spanish theologian Beatus of Liébana
- Beatus of Gerona10th-century manuscript of the 8th-century commentary on the Apocalypse by Beatus of Liébana. Contains many additional illustrations than earlier manuscripts of this text.
- Morgan Beatus10th-century manuscript of an 8th-century commentary on the Apocalypse by the Spanish theologian Beatus of Liébana. Also known as the Ashburnham-Morgan Beatus.
- Beatus of Turin12th-century manuscript of the 8th-century commentary on the Apocalypse by Beatus of Liébana. The Turin manuscript is believed to have been copied from the 10th-century Beatus of Gerona.
- Parma Ildefonsus11th-century manuscript of a text by St. Ildefonsus on the sanctity of the Virgin Mary. Each page features illustrations and/or elaborate borders. Produced at the Abbey of Cluny.
Christian Biography
- Menologion of Basil IIEarly 11th-century Byzantine manuscript with Greek text, containing 430 miniatures illustrating lives of saints whose feastdays were observed from September through February in the church year.
- Martyrology of Usuard15th-century manuscript produced in Prague, depicting the martyrdom of saints, with Latin text by the 9th-century French monk Usuard.
- Thomasskinna15th-century Icelandic manuscript containing Old Norse text of two sagas, one on the life of Thomas Becket and the other on St. Olaf.
- Lives of Saints14th-century Icelandic manuscript.
- Codex Scardensis14th-century Icelandic collection of the Lives of the Apostles.
Christianity, miscellaneous
- Codex Albeldensis (or Codex Vigilanus)10th-century Spanish manuscript containing a compendium of canon and civil law, a life of Muhammad, and a calendar with an early depiction of Arabic numerals.
- Joshua Roll10th-century Byzantine illuminated scroll containing scenes from the Old Testament Book of Joshua, Greek captions, and selections from the Septuagint.
- Codex Calixtinus12th-century illuminated manuscript containing advice for pilgrims to the cathedral of Santiago de Compostela in Spain and other materials related to St. James the Great.
- Necrologium LundenseManuscript begun in 1123 at Lund Cathedral in Denmark. Contains a necrology, religious tracts, and rules for the community of canons.
- Liber capituli arusiensis / Liber monasterii carae insulaePart 1: 14th-century manuscript on the history of Aarhus Cathedral and other aspects of the Danish Church.
Part 2: 13th-15th century manuscript on the founding the Danish monastery of Øm. - The Antichrist and the Fifteen Signs15th-century German block book, with printed woodcut illustrations and handwritten text.
- Poems of John Mauropus, bishop of EuchaitaIllustrated manuscript of 11th-century religious poems in Greek, produced in the 16th century for King Philip II of Spain.
- Czechoslovakia : Romanesque and Gothic illuminated manuscriptsA selection of color reproductions of illuminated manuscript leaves from the 11th through 14th centuries, representing the Bohemian style of art. Included are leaves from Bibles, Gospel books, liturgical books, and other Christian religious texts.
Judaism
- Leningrad CodexThe oldest complete manuscript of the Hebrew Bible, produced in the 11th century in Cairo, Egypt.
- Jewish BibleHighly ornamented manuscript Hebrew Bible, produced in Spain in the 15th century.
- The North French Hebrew Miscellany13th-century illuminated Hebrew manuscript produced in northern France, containing 49 full-page miniatures and a variety of texts, including several books of the Hebrew Bible, prayers, religious poems, and Jewish legal codes.
- Parma PsalterHebrew illuminated book of psalms produced in 13th-century Italy.
- Kaufmann Haggadah14th-century illuminated Hebrew manuscript produced in Spain, containing texts related to the celebration of Passover.
- Sarajevo Haggadah14th-century illuminated Hebrew manuscript produced in Spain, containing texts related to the celebration of Passover.
- Copenhagen Haggadah18th-century Hebrew illuminated manuscript produced in Germany, containing texts related to the celebration of Passover, together with commentary by Isaac Abravanel.
- Esther Scroll (Kaniel Megillah)18th-century illustrated manuscript scroll of the Book of Esther in Hebrew, produced in central or northern Europe.
- Esther Scroll (German)18th-century illustrated manuscript scroll produced by a Jewish artist-scribe, containing the text of the Book of Esther in German from Martin Luther's translation of the Bible.
- Sefardi Mahzor for Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippur from the Year 132014th-century Hebrew manuscript of a Sephardic-rite prayer book for the Jewish High Holidays.
- Sefardi Collection of Piyyutim for Fast Days and Special Sabbaths from the Year 148115th-century Hebrew manuscript containing liturgical poetry of the Sephardic rite.
- Sefardi mahzor for Yom Kippur from the year 148115th-century Hebrew manuscript of a Sephardic-rite prayer book for Yom Kippur.
Islam and Islamic book arts
- Qur'anLate 16th-century illuminated manuscript Qur'an from the library of Mawlay Zaydan, Sultan of Morocco, which was produced for the personal use of his father.
- The Book of Felicity16th-century illuminated Ottoman manuscript based on earlier Arabic texts on astrology, demonology, and fortune-telling. Commissioned by Sultan Murad III as a gift for one of his daughters.
- Codex Albeldensis (or Codex Vigilanus)10th-century Spanish manuscript containing a compendium of canon and civil law, a life of Muhammad, and a calendar with an early depiction of Arabic numerals.
Romances, Epics, and Other Poetry
- The Ellesmere ChaucerReproduction of the early 15th-century manuscript of the Canterbury Tales now at the Huntington Library.
- Book of the Knight Zifar15th-century illustrated manuscript of the first prose adventure tale in Spanish, written around 1300.
- Livre du coeur d'amour éprisColor facsimiles of the miniatures from a French manuscript of the 15th-century chivalric romance by René, Duke of Anjou. Reproduced from the manuscript held in the Austrian National Library, believed to have been the author's personal copy.
- Saga of Charlemagne13th-century Old Norse compilation and adaptation of French epic poems about Charlemagne.
- The Sagas of Ywain and Tristan and Other Tales15th-century Old Norse versions of 12th-century French romances, plus three original Icelandic works
- Das Nibelungenlied (Song of the Nibelungs)Early 13th-century manuscript of epic poem in Middle High German, featuring the mythical hero Siegfried.
- Trivulziano Codex of Dante's Divine ComedyOne of the oldest surviving manuscripts of Dante’s Divine Comedy, copied and illuminated in Italy in 1337.
- Divine Comedy (Codex Altonensis)Late 14th- / early 15th-century illuminated manuscript of Dante’s Divine Comedy.
- Divine Comedy (Venice, 1491)Facsimile of a 1491 printed edition with extensive added illustrations attributed to Antonio Grifo.
- Vergilius VaticanusThe most famous illustrated book surviving from classical antiquity, produced in Rome in the late 4th or early 5th century, and containing parts of Virgil’s Aeneid and Georgics.
- Book of Good Love (Libro de buen amor)The most complete manuscript of a 14th-century classic of Spanish literature, the fictional autobiography in verse by Juan Ruiz, combining religious and secular themes.
- Millstatt Genesis12th-century illustrated manuscript containing poetry in Middle High German, including an adaptation of the biblical book of Genesis.
- Cantigas de Santa Maria13th-century Spanish collection of poems on the Virgin Mary, with musical notation. National Library of Florence manuscript.
- Cantigas de Santa Maria13th-century Spanish collection of poems on the Virgin Mary, with musical notation. Library of El Escorial manuscript.
- Roman de Fauvel14th-century French satirical poem, with musical pieces added.
- Carmina Burana13th-century manuscript containing a collection of primarily Latin poetry, including dancing and drinking songs and love songs; some with musical notation.
Norse Sagas and Mythology
- BergsbókContains the sagas of kings Olaf Tryggvason and Saint Olaf. 14th-century.
- Codex Trajectinus: The Utrecht Manuscript of the Prose Edda13th-century Icelandic collection of tales from Norse mythology.
Music
Codex 121 Einsiedeln10th-century manuscript containing the oldest complete surviving neumed Mass antiphonary, at the Benedictine abbey of Einsiedeln, Switzerland- Winchester Troper11th-century English manuscript, with later additions, of plainchant and organa.
- Codex Calixtinus12th-century manuscript containing a pilgrims' guide for the Way of St. James from France to Santiago de Compostela in Spain. Also includes texts and music for the liturgy of St. James the Greater.
- Cantigas de Santa Maria13th-century Spanish collection of monophonic songs in honor of the Virgin Mary. National Library of Florence manuscript.
- Cantigas de Santa Maria13th-century Spanish collection of monophonic songs in honor of the Virgin Mary. Library of El Escorial manuscript.
- Carmina Burana13th-century manuscript containing a collection of primarily Latin poetry, including dancing and drinking songs and love songs; some with musical notation.
- Las Huelgas CodexCollection of monophonic and polyphonic music used at a convent in Burgos, Spain, circa 1300.
- Codex GisleGradual, dated 1300, copied and illuminated by the Cistercian nun Gisela von Kerssenbrock. Contains 53 historiated initials depicting the life of Christ.
- Roman de Fauvel14th-century French satirical poem, with musical pieces added.
- Bologna Q15Masses and motets, with some songs, hymns, Magnificats, sequences, and laude by Guillaume Dufay and other 15th-century Flemish composers.
- Codex J.II.9 (Turin National University Library)Early 15th-century collection of French plainchant, polyphonic mass movements, motets, and polyphonic chansons.
- The Eton ChoirbookEnglish sacred music of the late 15th century.
- Squarcialupi CodexEarly 15th-century illuminated manuscript containing more than 200 examples of 14th-century Italian secular songs.
- Codex ChantillyEarly 15th-century collection of 112 polyphonic chansons in Latin and French.
- Codex Faenza 117Early 15th-century collection of Italian and French polyphonic sacred music and dances.
- Songbook of Joan the MadEarly 16th-century collection of Latin, French, and Flemish polyphonic chansons. Includes 54 miniatures.
- The Dow Partbooks16th- and 17th-century English music for five-part viol consort or vocal ensemble.
Medicine
- Latin DioscoridesFacsimile of the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana manuscript, Chig. F. VII. 158, containing illustrations of Dioscorides Pedanius’ 1st-century work De materia medica.
- Codex Vindobonensis6th-century Byzantine treatise on the medicinal value of herbs. Based on the 1st-century De materia medica of Dioscorides Pedanius.
- Naples Dioscurides7th-century Greek herbal based on the 1st-century De materia medica of Dioscorides Pedanius.
- Herbolarium et materia medica (Ms. 296)9th-century anthology of medical texts, with illustrations of plants and animals.
- Theriaka and Alexipharmaka of Nicander10th-century manuscript of a work by a 2nd-century Persian physician on poisonous plants and animals.
- Medical miscellany (Biblioteca medicea laurenziana. Manuscript. Plut. 73, cod. 16)13th-century Italian illustrated manuscript, written in Latin, on the therapeutic uses of plants. Possibly commissioned by Holy Roman Emperor Frederick II.
- Pope Alexander VII Greek-Latin DioscoridesIllustrations of medicinal plants compiled in 15th-century Constantinople.
- De simplici medicina15th-century French copy of a manuscript on medicinal herbs, based on Dioscorides, by the 12th-century Italian physician Matthaeus Platearius.
- Theatrum sanitatis14th-century Italian manuscript of a health handbook by the 11th-century Arab physician Ibn Butlan. In addition to plants, the manuscript’s 208 illustrations depict scenes from daily life and the work of tradesmen.
Natural History
- St. Petersburg Bestiary12th-century English manuscript depicting animals.
- The Art of Hunting with Birds (De arte venandi cum avibus)13th-century illustrated treatise by Holy Roman Emperor Frederick II. (2004 edition.)
- The Art of Hunting with Birds (De arte venandi cum avibus)13th-century illustrated treatise by Holy Roman Emperor Frederick II. (1969 edition.)
- Atlas of Natural History (Pomar Codex)16th-century Spanish illustrations of European and American flora and fauna.
Law
- Scanian Law13th-century manuscript of one of the first written Nordic laws.
- Codex Rantzovianus / Siaela TrøstPart 1: 13th-century Norse law book.
Part 2: 15th-century Danish commentary on the Ten Commandments. - Codex Ledreburgensis, Codex Arnamagnaeanus, Codex Holmiensis (B 69 and B 72)14th- and 15th-century Scandinavian law books.
- Codex Holmiensis (C 37 and C 44)14th- and 15th-century Scandinavian law books.
- Codex Arnamagnaeanus (284, 2o; 4, 4o; and 453, 12o)14th-century Scandinavian law books.
- Skálholtsbók eldri: Jónsbók etc.Medieval Icelandic law book.
Miscellaneous
- Domesday Book11th-century survey of land holdings in England and parts of Wales, produced for William the Conqueror after he became King William I.
- Liber FloridusTranscription and partial facsimile of a 12th-century Latin encyclopedia. Includes maps.
- Li Livres dou tresorIlluminated 14th-century manuscript of a 13th-century encyclopedia written in French by the Italian scholar Brunetto Latini, friend and tutor of Dante.
- Chronicon Pictum (Képes krónika)14th-century illuminated Latin manuscript depicting figures and events in the history of Hungary up to 1342.
- The Travels of Sir John Mandeville15th-century illustrations depicting scenes from a popular 14th-century text on fictional travels in the eastern Mediterranean.
- Passages d'outremer (A chronicle of the Crusades)Late 15th-century illuminated French manuscript of a history of the Crusades by Sébastien Mamerot.
- Libros del ajedrez, dados y tablas (Libro de los juegos)13th-century illustrated Spanish manuscript on chess, dice, and other board games, derived from Arabic texts.
- Gladiatoria15th-century illustrated German manuscript on martial arts.
- The King’s Mirror / Speculum regale (Konungs skuggsjá)13th-century Old Norse educational text in the form of a dialogue between father and son, produced for the future King Magnus VI of Norway.
- The Madrid CodicesNotes and drawings by Leonardo da Vinci on mechanics, geometry, fortifications, and other subjects, from the years 1491 to 1505.
- Catilina and Jugurtha by Sallust, and Pharsalia by Lucan (Rómverja saga)Old Norse translations of Latin works on the history of Rome.
- Peutinger TableRoman road map in scroll format.
- Roman tabula and stylus replicasReproduction of a wax tablet, such as was used in the Middle Ages for note-taking.
- The Tailor’s BookOwned by two generations of tailors in Milan, this manuscript contains illustrations of men’s and women’s fashions of the 16th century as well as tents, war flags, and tournament costumes.
- Trevelyon Miscellany of 1608Highly illustrated English commonplace book created in the early 17th century, with contents copied or adapted from printed sources. Includes practical, historical, and religious subjects, as well as patterns and designs for various applied arts.
- Apicius (or De re coquinaria)9th-century manuscript of Roman recipes originally compiled in the 4th or 5th century.
- Kamasutra persaA collection of 119 illuminated miniatures depicting erotic scenes, produced in northern India in the 18th/19th centuries and inspired by the Kama Sutra. In a Persian-style binding.