About Pacific Editions
Charles Hobson established Pacific Editions in 1986 to publish his artists' books. Hobson's work takes inspiration from historcal sources, explores tactile book forms that emphasize sequence, utilizing structures like accordion folds, double bindings, gatefolds, and concertinas that one must navigate. In fact, the concept of navigation is a theme that appears in much of his work. Soft watercolors, chalk pastels, and monotypes are often his media of choice, therefore many of his books are produced by inkjet printing and embellished by hand.
Selected Works by Pacific Editions
Extracts from Eve's diary; Extracts from Adam's diary
Twain, Mark. Extracts from Eve's diary; Extracts from Adam's diary. San Francisco : Pacific Editions, 2003.
PS1309 .A1 2003 OVER, Rare
"The images of a running man and woman created as pastel monotypes are based on the human motion studies by Eadweard Muybridge made in 1901. The separate print entitled "Adam & Eve Embracing" contains the handwriting of Livy Twain in a letter to Mark Twain written August 5, 1903. The concertina and French door structure with cut-out pages and collaged folded sheets has been designed by Charles Hobson..."--Colophon.
Flight
Hobson, Charles. Flight: Tales of the Urge to fly from Daedalus to Lilienthal. [San Francisco, California] : Pacific Editions, 2017.
N7433.4 .H62 F55 2017 FLAT, McIlhenny Natural History Collection
"Each tale starts with a narrative of the attempt at flight followed by an image of the sky to which a paper airplane has been attached ... The airplane can be removed by the reader and unfolded to reveal a fictional message written to capture a personal incident in the life of the aspiring aviator..." --Artist's statment
Diderot Decaptioned
Hobson, Charles. Diderot Decaptioned. San Francisco: Pacific Editions, 2014.
N7433.4 .H63 D53 2014 FLAT, Rare
"The book contains some of the more intriguing illustrations from the [Diderot] Encyclopédie presented as vovelles with alternative captions to the original descriptions... includes a short essay on Denis Diderot and the Encyclopédie and a folder containing the vovelles." -- Artist's statment
1st image reads, "Damn predator drones!" 2nd image reads, "I'm ready for the flood but I need one of these birds for dinner."
Nelson and Emma: Aphrodite & Ares contemplate Admiral Nelson & Lady Hamilton
Hobson, Charles. Nelson and Emma: Aphrodite & Ares contemplate Admiral Nelson & Lady Hamilton. [San Francisco, Calif.] : Pacific Editions, 2008.
DA87.1 .N4 H63 2008 OVER, Rare
"The book is built around five signatures called 'intermezzos' attached to a concertina spine. Each intermezzo has a unique abstract acrylic painting on paper; an image of an historic sea battle printed on transparent film; a Renaissance-era painting of Aphrodite colored with acrylic wash; and a page with cutout windows. The book concludes with a pop-up square-rigged vessel containing the images of Admiral Nelson and Aphrodite." -- Colophon.
Trees
PS3563 .E75 T744 2010 FLAT, Rare
Red Thread, Two Women
Sager, Paula & Lizbeth Hamlin. Red Thread, Two Women. [San Francisco, Calif.]: Pacific Editions, 2006.
PS3619 .A385 R4 2006, Rare
"The design of the book has been inspired by the poem and evokes the experience imbedded in the writing. The string/thread acts like a drawn line and can be moved around by the reader to change the “drawing” and the experience.
The reverse of the book uses images of beets, accentuating characteristics of the poem – their string-like roots and the fullness and ripeness of their shape. The back pages also carry and emphasize individual words from the poem: voice, awaken, heart, distance, silence, tears, flame, breath, birth." --Artist's website
Additional Materials about Charles Hobson
Parisian Encounters by Call Number: NE2246 .H62 A4 1994 FLAT, RareISBN: 0811807037Publication Date: 1994-11-01Trade edition artist's book.
Why I Love Books by Call Number: N7433.4 .H62 W49 2002 , RarePublication Date: 2002Limited edition exhibition catalog, 2002-2003. Includes bibliographical references.
Experiments in navigation: the art of Charles Hobson by Call Number: N7433.3 .E97 2008, RarePublication Date: 2008Catalogue published in conjunction with the joint exhibitions at Green Library and the Iris and B. Gerald Cantor Center for Visual Arts. Nine of Charles Hobson's artist's books are the focus of the book, which also includes a checklist of Hobson's book works to date and a chronology of his development as an artist. Hobson's narrative texts describe how he conceived, researched, and developed the ideas, artwork, and physical structure for each of the featured books. The text is generously illustrated with images from the archive, production photographs, and photographs of the finished books.
