Import References

Direct export from select databases

Direct export from select databases
Create an RIS file from a list of references

Direct export from PubMed

Conduct your PubMed search
Select your preferred references with a check mark
From the 'Send to' drop-down menu, select 'Citation manager'
Click 'Create File'
'Open' file
If prompted with a choice, select 'EndNote'

Direct export from Web of Science

Conduct your Web of Science search
Select your preferred references with a check mark
From the 'Export' tab, select 'EndNote Desktop'
Choose your 'Records' option and 'Records Content' option
Select 'Export'
'Open' file
If prompted with a choice, select 'EndNote'

Direct export from CAB Direct

Conduct your CAB Direct search
Select your preferred references with a check mark
Select the 'Download or export selected records' button on the 'Actions' ribbon
Export to 'File'
Choose your preferred 'Records to Export'
Choose 'RIS' for 'Export Format'
Choose your 'Citation Format'
'Open' file
If prompted with a choice, select 'EndNote'

Direct export from VetMed Resource

Conduct your VetMed Resource search
Select your preferred references with a star
Select the My CABI tab at top right
Choose 'Selected records' tab
Select your records with a check mark
Select 'Export Citations' at the top
'Open' file
If prompted with a choice, select 'EndNote'

If you have a collection of reference citations that you have gathered from other places, there is a tool that allows you to find corresponding PubMed records (minus the PMID or DOI numbers). The records can then be downloaded as an RIS (or BibTeX) file and uploaded into your EndNote Library. There are just a few things to keep in mind when using the HubMed Citation Finder:

Navigate to HubMed Citation Finder

HubMed Citation Finder link

Paste your list of citations - one on each line

undefined

Choose a citation format and select the "Search" button
Select the correct Match for each of your citations

undefined

If there is no correct Match for your citation, de-select the highlighted Match and either: 1) edit the text and search again OR 2) leave unselected

undefined

Once you have selected all of the correct Matches for each citation, click the 'Download' button at the bottom of the page

Image of "Download All Selected Citations" button

Import the RIS file into EndNote using one of the first two import techniques listed above: 1) Direct export from select databases OR 2) Import reference files (that have been downloaded/ saved /shared)

Import reference files from select databases

While many databases allow a direct export of references to be sent to EndNote, some databases do not. In these cases, reference files must be saved to a computer and then imported into EndNote. The procedure to format and save references varies by database, but the import procedure is the same. The import method is also used when a colleague has sent you a reference file that you would like to add to your EndNote library.

Import the reference file into EndNote by selecting 'File' at the top menu, then 'Import'. You can either select a single file to import or a folder. Choose the file you wish to import and then select the correct 'Import Option’ by file-type or database (The RIS file format works well with EndNote)

Using this import method gives you an optional feature to: 1) 'import all' duplicate references, 2) 'discard duplicates' 3) 'import into duplicates library'

Using this import method also gives an optional feature to choose a foreign language text translation filter