Configuring EndNote for full text
- EndNote's find full text feature must be configured to find and attach LSU Libraries' holdings
- To configure EndNote's find full text feature, follow these directions (lightly adapted from LSU RIS' guide on 'Using Citation Management Software'):
- Open EndNote
- Under the 'Edit' menu, go to 'Preferences', then select 'Find Full Text'
- Check the top four boxes (pertaining to the find full text feature)
- In OpenURL Path, enter http://resolver.ebscohost.com/openurl
- In Authenticate with, enter http://libezp.lib.lsu.edu/login?url=
- Click 'Apply' and then 'OK' to close the window
- Upon configuration, EndNote will attempt to find references from LSU Libraries journals as well as open-access and freely available journals online
- The four search options that EndNote uses to find full text include Web of Science Full Text links, DOI (Digital Object Identifier), PubMed LinkOut, and OpenURL, but these methods have some limitations
- If EndNote does not find the full-text, check the Library Catalog to see if the full-text is available
- For resources available through the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine Library, you will need to manually find and attach PDFs (see below for instructions)
Tips for finding and attaching PDFs
- Highlight the references to which you would like to find and attach full-text PDF articles
- From the toolbar, click the search icon
or from the toolbar go to 'References', then 'Find Full Text' - You will see the progress of the full text search in your groups panel (left-hand column) under 'Find Full Text'
- If a full text PDF article is successfully found
and is attached to a reference, a paperclip icon 
will appear for that reference in the reference list
will appear for that reference in the reference list- If a full text PDF is not found but a webpage associated with the reference is found, a 'Found URL' group
will appear - You will have to manually find and attach the full text PDF
- Select your desired reference
- In the right-column Reference panel, locate the link URL and click on "Go-to" link to pull up the associated webpage
- If the URL leads to a full text PDF, download and save the full text PDF. Then, attach it to your reference by clicking the PDF tab
in the top-right toolbar - Select the "Attach PDF" button
- Select your desired full text PDF and click 'Open'
- If the four methods used in the EndNote full-text configuration do not find a PDF or URL, a 'Not Found' group
will appear - You will have to manually find and attach the full text PDF, if one can be found
- Select your desired reference
- Locate the 'Reference' tab on the top-right toolbar
- Scroll down to the URL field to see if a URL is available that may lead to full text
- If a URL is found and leads to a full text PDF, download and save the full text PDF
- Then, attach it to your reference by clicking the "Attach file"
box in the right-column Reference panel - Select your desired full text PDF and click 'Open'
- If no URL exists, search the LSU Library Catalog or Google Scholar to determine if full text can be obtained (If found, attach the PDF manually)
- If no full text can be found, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan (Once the article is received, save and attach it manually)
Full discussion
For a full discussion of EndNote topics and tips, visit the Clarivate research guide located online: https://proquest.libguides.com/endnote