Research Guides: News &amp; Newspapers: U.S. News

Historical U.S. Newspapers (LSU Databases)

Historical Newspapers (search specific newspaper archives):

Chicago Defender (1909-1975) This link opens in a new window
As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, the Chicago Defender offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Covering the years 1909-1975, the Chicago Defender includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
Los Angeles Times (1881- 2013) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
New York Times with Index (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-2018) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Washington Post 1877 - 2005 This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Proquest provides access to articles from 1877 to 2005.

Historical Newspaper Databases (search multiple sources within one database collection):

19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
As compelling as it is comprehensive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
As the first draft of history, newspapers document the life and times of a community,a region and a nation. For searching and browsing American newspapers published in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries, Americas Historical Newspapers is the single most comprehensive online resource, providing more than 1,300 titles from all 50 states.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day. Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. An easy-to-use online resource—updated daily—for every institution working toward social justice and racial equity.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
llustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines: Important and Rare Periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British Presses is the definitive online Civil War media resource. The database contains 65,000 pages drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers, most of them illustrated3,720 issues published from 1860 to 1865.
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs/books.

Contemporary U.S. Newspapers, selected titles from LSU databases

The newspaper titles listed below are only a selection of popular titles available at LSU Libraries. Search E-Journals on the Libraries' website to see if LSU has full-text to a specific newspaper title.

National Newspapers:

The New York Times
Full Text: 06/01/1980 - present
via Nexis Uni
The New York Times
Full Text: 2008 - present (Full Text Delay: 3 months)
via ProQuest Digitized Newspapers
*view digital images of issues
USA Today
Full Text: 1987 - present
via Access World News Research Collection

Wall Street Journal 1984 - present This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is the worlds leading financial newspaper. Access the full-text articles from 1984 to the present.

The Washington Post
Full Text: 02/13/2003 - Present
via Newspaper Source Plus
*please note, not all articles are available

Regional Newspapers:

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Full-Text: 1985 - Present
via Access World News Research Collection
The Denver Post
Full Text: 1989 - Present
via Access World News Research Collection
Houston Chronicle
Full Text: 1985 - Present
via Access World News Research Collection
Los Angeles Times
Full Text: most recent 6 months
via Nexis Uni
The Mercury News (San Jose, CA)
Full Text: 1985 - Present
via Access World News Research Collection
The Miami Herald
Full Text: 1982 - Present
via Access World News Research Collection
The Seattle Times
Full Text: 1985 - Present
via Access World News Research Collection
Star Tribune (Minneapolis, MN)
Full Text: 1986 - present
via Access World News Research Collection

Search a News Aggregator Database for Current U.S. News Sources

What is a "news aggregator database"?

The resources listed below include full-text access to current articles from newspapers, news websites, trade publications, television news transcripts, and much more. These databases are known as news aggregators, which means that multiple news sources have been organized into one research tool.

The advantage of using a news aggregator database is the ability to easily search multiple news sources with one search.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Includes text (and some images) from newspapers, magazines, newswires, television news transcripts, audio, video, and web-only content.
Coverage: As early as 1970s/1980s, but varies by publication
Title list: At the top of the Access World News homepage, click on "A-Z Source List". Search by title, location, or language.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes text (and some video) from newspapers, magazines, newswires, and transcripts.
Coverage: As early as 1980s, but varies by publication
Title list: Select "Publications" from the top menu bar.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source type: newspapers, magazines, newswires, and some television news transcripts.
Coverage: As early as 1980s/1990s, but varies by publication
Title list: At the top of the Nexis Uni home page, use the "Menu" to select "All Sources". Narrow sources only to news by selecting "News" under "Category". To search for a specific source, use the "Search Within Sources" box.

Video: How to Find a Specific News Source at LSU Libraries

Searching E-Journals for Full Text Access to Specific Newspaper Title

Searching the Library Catalog for a Newspaper on Microfilm

News & Newspapers

Historical U.S. Newspapers (LSU Databases)

Contemporary U.S. Newspapers, selected titles from LSU databases

Search a News Aggregator Database for Current U.S. News Sources

Video: How to Find a Specific News Source at LSU Libraries

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement

News & Newspapers

Historical U.S. Newspapers (LSU Databases)

Contemporary U.S. Newspapers, selected titles from LSU databases

Search a News Aggregator Database for Current U.S. News Sources

Video: How to Find a Specific News Source at LSU Libraries

Provide Website Feedback Accessibility Statement

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement