News & Newspapers

This research guide provides an overview of conducting news research, both current and historical. Includes links to news content, such as newspapers, news magazines, transcripts, video, and wire services available through LSU Libraries.

Newspaper Archives Online

Chronicling America
Search selected America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Google News Archive
Discontinued by Google, this archive includes thousands of digitized newspapers dating back to the 18th century.
Wikipedia: List of Online Newspaper Archives
List of international online newspaper archives and some magazines and journals. Some are behind a pay wall.
*Free sites are noted.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside (JSTOR & Reveal Digital, open access)
American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
Freedom on the Move
Search this database of fugitives from North American slavery. Search digitized newspaper advertisements from enslavers who posted “runaway ads” to try to locate fugitives. Additionally, jailers posted ads describing people they had apprehended in search of the enslavers who claimed the fugitives as property.
Independent Voices (JSTOR & Reveal Digital, open access)
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Newspaper Front Pages

Today's Front Pages - Freedom Forum
Download PDFs of today's front pages of local, national, and international newspapers. Users can review the participating newspapers by region, state, or map.
Louisiana Front Pages
Selected images highlighting the evolution of Louisiana newspapers’ front-page appearance and structure. This showcase exhibits 28 newspaper titles representing the seven geographic regions of Louisiana including Acadiana/Cajun Country, Crossroads, Florida Parishes, Greater New Orleans Area, North-central, Northeast, and Northwest. From the Digitizing Louisiana Newspapers Project.

International Newspapers in Archives

Historical Digital Newspaper Archives from all over the World
Mostly free access. Links to scores of archives by country, in Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia & South Pacific, North America, South America, Latin America, & the Caribbean. From Providence College.
ICON's Newspaper Archive Links
Free and pay sites included. See links to digitized newspaper archives from around the world, by country. From ICON, (International Coalition on Newspapers) based at the Center for Research Libraries
Latin-American News & Newspapers
Over 100 contemporary Latin-American news resources, mostly in Spanish, many with archives that don't go back very far. Scroll down page for links to Spanish language papers in the U.S. From LANIC, the Latin American Network Information Center at the University of Texas at Austin.
The Gazette (1665-1998)
The Gazette has been recording national and international events since November 1665, in its first incarnation as The Oxford Gazette. The Gazette is formally the combination of three publications: The London Gazette, The Belfast Gazette and The Edinburgh Gazette. The Gazettes are official journals of record.

Primary Documents (LSU Databases)

History Commons This link opens in a new window
History Commons assembles diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture into comprehensive databases.
Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
The acclaimed Archive of Americana enables students and scholars to explore virtually every aspect of United States history, culture and daily life across three centuries. Providing unprecedented online access to newspapers, books, broadsides, ephemera, government publications and more, the Archive of Americana puts tens of millions of pages of primary documents at researchers' fingertips.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale’s Women’s Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women’s History, Gender Studies and Social History.

Access to 2 sections: Issues and Identities & Voice and Vision

Trade Publications

Editor & Publisher 1901-2015 (via Internet Archive)
Editor & Publisher is an active American trade magazine focused on the newspaper industry, advertising and public relations, communication, journalism and printing.