Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Research Guide for Biological and Agricultural Engineering. This guide is a great starting place for research!
STEM Librarian
Cambria Huff
She/her
Contact:
Office: 225-578-6380
Subjects: Biological & Agricultural Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Construction Management, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Standards, Geology & Geophysics, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Petroleum Engineering
- Biological Reviews1923-current. Biological Reviews covers the entire range of the biological sciences, presenting several review articles per issue. Although scholarly and with extensive bibliographies, the articles are aimed at non-specialist biologists as well as researchers in the field. Authors are specifically instructed to be aware of this fact in their writing, and the resulting reviews serve as extensive introductions to particular fields, defining the state of the art, and drawing attention to gaps in knowledge.
- Nature Reviews Drug Discovery2002-current (1 year embargo). Nature Reviews Drug Discovery covers all aspects of drug discovery, from chemistry to disease mechanisms and novel therapeutic approaches.
- Nature Biotechnology1998-current. Nature Biotechnology is a monthly journal covering the science and business of biotechnology. It publishes new concepts in technology/methodology of relevance to the biological, biomedical, agricultural and environmental sciences as well as covers the commercial, political, ethical, legal, and societal aspects of this research. The core areas in which we are actively seeking research papers include: molecular engineering of nucleic acids and proteins; molecular therapy; large-scale biology; computational biology, regenerative medicine; imaging technology; analytical biotechnology, applied immunology; food and agricultural biotechnology; and environmental biotechnology.
- Advanced Materials1989-current. Advanced Materials has been bringing you the latest progress in materials science every week for over 30 years. Read carefully selected, top-quality Research Articles, Reviews, and Perspectives at the cutting edge of the chemistry and physics of functional materials.
- ACS Nano2007-current. Published monthly, ACS Nano is an international forum for the communication of comprehensive articles on nanoscience and nanotechnology research at the interfaces of chemistry, biology, materials science, physics, and engineering. Moreover, the journal helps facilitate communication among scientists from these research communities in developing new research opportunities, advancing the field through new discoveries, and reaching out to scientists at all levels. ACS Nano publishes comprehensive articles on synthesis, assembly, characterization, theory, and simulation of nanostructures (nanomaterials and assemblies, nanodevices, and self-assembled structures), nanobiotechnology, nanofabrication, methods and tools for nanoscience and nanotechnology, and self- and directed-assembly.
- Nano Letters2001-current. Nano Letters is a forum for reporting original results on fundamental, applied, and emerging research in all areas of nanoscience and nanotechnology that require rapid dissemination. A chief criterion to fit within the scope of Nano Letters is the convergence of at least two different areas or disciplines.
- Nano Energy2012-current. Nano Energy is a multidisciplinary, rapid-publication forum of original peer-reviewed contributions on the science and engineering of nanomaterials and nanodevices used in all forms of energy harvesting, conversion, storage, utilization and policy. Through its mixture of articles, reviews, communications, research news, and information on key developments, Nano Energy provides a comprehensive coverage of this exciting and dynamic field which joins nanoscience and nanotechnology with energy science. The journal is relevant to all those who are interested in nanomaterials solutions to the energy problem.
- Advanced Functional Materials1992-current. dvanced Functional Materials reports breakthrough research in all aspects of materials science, including nanotechnology, chemistry, physics, and biology every week. Advanced Functional Materials is known for its rapid and fair peer review, quality content, and high impact, making it the first choice of the international materials science community.
- Genome Research1997-current. Genome Research is an international, continuously published, peer-reviewed journal that publishes studies on the structure, function, biology, and evolution of genomes of all organisms, with a long-standing emphasis on genome-scale analyses, chromatin structure and function, epigenomics, systems genetics, and proteomics. We also feature gene discoveries that provide novel insights and reports of high-throughput experimental and computational approaches.
- Transactions of the ASABE (1958-2005)1985-2005. Print only. Transactions of the ASABE publishes research that advances the engineering of agricultural, food, and biological systems. Submissions must include original data, analysis or design, or synthesis of existing information; research information for the improvement of education, design, construction, or manufacturing practice; or significant and convincing evidence that confirms and strengthens the findings of others or that revises ideas or challenges accepted theory.
- Transactions of the ASABE (2006-current)2006-current. Print only. Transactions of the ASABE publishes research that advances the engineering of agricultural, food, and biological systems. Submissions must include original data, analysis or design, or synthesis of existing information; research information for the improvement of education, design, construction, or manufacturing practice; or significant and convincing evidence that confirms and strengthens the findings of others or that revises ideas or challenges accepted theory.
- Paddy and Water Development2003-current. Paddy and Water Development aims to advance the science and technology of water-related disciplines in paddy-farming.
- International Journal of Agricultural & Biological Engineering2008-present. IJABE publishes peer-reviewed research including editorials, research highlights, reviews, science news, as well as policy and education forums from disciplines including applied science, engineering and technology; animal, plant and facility systems; biosystems, biological and ecological engineering; power and machinery systems; natural resources and environmental systems; information technologies, control systems and sensors; renewable energy and material system; agro-product & food processing systems; safety, health and ergonomics; and emerging science, engineering and technologies.
- Bioresource Technology2003-current. Bioresource Technology publishes original articles, review articles, case studies and short communications on the fundamentals, applications and management of bioresource technology. The journal's aim is to advance and disseminate knowledge in all the related areas of biomass, biological waste treatment, bioenergy, biotransformations and bioresource systems analysis, and technologies associated with conversion or production.
- Industrial Crops and Products2003-current. Industrial Crops and Products is an International Journal publishing research on cultivated plants (crops) of industrial interest (non-food, non-feed). Papers concern both crop-oriented and bio-based materials research. It should be of interest to an international audience, hypothesis driven, and repeatable. Crops and products of interest include: fiber, forest, and energy crops, industrial oilseeds, rubber and resins, and cultivated medicinal and aromatic plants.
- Biomass & Bioenergy2003-current. Biomass & Bioenergy is an international journal publishing original research papers and short communications, review articles and case studies on biological resources, chemical and biological processes, and biomass products for new renewable sources of energy and materials. The scope of the journal extends to the environmental, management and economic aspects of biomass and bioenergy.
- Aquacultural Engineering2003-current. Aquacultural Engineering is concerned with the design and development of effective aquacultural systems for marine and freshwater facilities. The journal aims to apply the knowledge gained from basic research which potentially can be translated into commercial operations.
- Journal of Irrigation and Drainage Engineering1956-current. The Journal of Irrigation and Drainage Engineering covers all aspects of irrigation and drainage engineering. Related topics of interest include: hydrology; hydraulics; environmental impacts; solute and sediment transport; soil salinity; water‐quality control; sustainability; water management and conservation; evapotranspiration; soil‐water flow; design, operations and maintenance of irrigation and drainage infrastructure; development and application of technology; and economics, energy use, and regulation in irrigation and drainage engineering. The journal encompasses theoretical, experimental, numerical and analytical modeling; new developments and results of research; as well as case studies and practical applications of engineering. Submissions are evaluated for their originality, technical soundness, advancement of knowledge, and development of engineering solutions to practical irrigation and drainage problems.
- International Journal of Agricultural and Biological Engineering2009-current. International Journal of Agricultural and Biological Engineering is a peer reviewed open access international journal. IJABE, started in 2008, is a joint publication co-sponsored by US-based Association of Agricultural, Biological and Food Engineers (AOCABFE) and China-based Chinese Society of Agricultural Engineering (CSAE). This journal provides a platform for sharing the latest high-quality research concerning the agricultural, food and biological engineering and the application of these engineering techniques in all areas of agriculture. The journal features works of great significance, originality, and relevance in all the concerned areas. Our readers are from the international scientific community and may include educators, policy makers, agricultural engineers and scientists, and interested members of the public around the world.
- Bioprocess and Biosystems Engineering1986-current. The journal Bioprocess and Biosystems Engineering is an international peer-reviewed forum for discussion between engineering and biological science to find efficient solutions in the development and improvement of bioprocesses. The journal focuses attention on multidisciplinary approaches for integrative bioprocess design. Coverage includes rational manipulation of biosystems through metabolic engineering techniques to provide new biocatalysts. The journal examines model-based design of bioprocesses, such as up-stream processing, bioreactor operation and downstream processing, leading to new and sustainable production processes.