Selected Resources on Dime Novels, Pulp Fiction, and Comics
The Western Pulp Hero by ISBN: 9781557420336Publication Date: 1989A popular and enthusiastic guide to the major continuing western hero characters of the American pulp magazine era, complete with bibliography, index, and illustrations of pulp covers, and with a new introduction by well-known Western writer, Ryerson Johnson.
Western Heroes of Pulp Fiction by ISBN: 9780911611113Publication Date: 2015Exhibition catalogue for Tucson Museum of Art Western Heroes of Pulp Fiction: Dime Novel to Pop Culture October 24, 2015- February 14, 2016.
The Pulp Western by ISBN: 9780893702618Publication Date: 1983
Selling the Wild West by ISBN: 0253351510Publication Date: 1987
The Dime Novel Western by ISBN: 0879720972Publication Date: 1978Traces the development of the western dime novel form from its source in early nineteenth-century fiction through to its full manifestation in the late 1800s. Daryl Jones focuses on the development of character types (backwoodsman, plainsman, outlaw, and cowboy), the settings, the structures, and the plots of this form.
The Comic Book Western by ISBN: 9781496218995Publication Date: 20222023 Ray and Pat Browne Award for Best Edited Collection in Popular and American Culture. One of the greatest untold stories about the globalization of the Western is the key role of comics. Few American cultural exports have been as successful globally as the Western, a phenomenon commonly attributed to the widespread circulation of fiction, film, and television. The Comic Book Western centers comics in the Western's international success. Even as readers consumed translations of American comic book Westerns, they fell in love with local ones that became national or international sensations. These essays reveal the unexpected cross-pollinations that allowed the Western to emerge from and speak to a wide range of historical and cultural contexts, including Spanish and Italian fascism, Polish historical memory, the ideology of shōjo manga from Japan, British post-apocalypticism and the gothic, race and identity in Canada, Mexican gender politics, French critiques of manifest destiny, and gaucho nationalism in Argentina. The vibrant themes uncovered in The Comic Book Western teach us that international comic book Westerns are not hollow imitations but complex and aesthetically powerful statements about identity, culture, and politics.
The Pulps : fifty years of American pop culture by ISBN: 0394441869Publication Date: 1970Tony Goodstone; research consultant: Sam Moskowitz; photography: Christine E. Haycock. Includes bibliography.
Great American Folklore by ISBN: 9780385185554Publication Date: 1986From Amazon: "This compilation of more than 280 memorable tales from the American oral tradition features both popular and less-familiar folktales, legends, verses, ballads, superstitions, riddles, children's rhymes, ghost stories, and witty anecdotes." Chapter 10 includes tales from "That Wild, Wild West," and Chapter 11 has stories about "The Cowboy: Funny, Tough, and Lonesome."
Journal Articles:
- Bischoff, Peter and Peter Noçon. (2011) "The Joys of Reading Western Pulp Magazines," Studies in the Western 19, pp. 5-23.
- Bold, Christine. (1983) "The Voice of the Fiction Factory in Dime and Pulp Westerns," Journal of American Studies 17(1), pp. 29-46. https://www.jstor.org/stable/27554256
- Hall, Kenneth E. (2011) "The Era of the Pulp Western," Studies in the Western 19, pp. 25-33.
- Hans, Birgit. (2011) "'Injuns and Spicks': Ethnic Stereotypes in the Pulps," Studies in the Western 19, pp. 35-45.
- Kelton, Elmer. (1996) "Pulp Fiction: Writing for the Western Magazines," Gilcrease Journal 4(1), pp. 46-61
Historic Photography Collections (Online Access)
- Alaskan, Western Canada and United States CollectionDigitized historical photographs documenting the geographic area of Alaska, Western United States and the Canadian provinces of Yukon Territory and British Columbia from the University of Washington Libraries.
- Charles R. Savage Collection19th century photographs of the American West from Brigham Young University Library.
- Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana (Newberry Library)Over 3700 images documenting America's westward expansion.
- Indians and the Colorado River19th century stereographs from UC Berkeley Library.
- Nez Perce Photographs Collection73 images of Nez Perce people, ca. 1877-1905. From Washington State University Libraries.
- Stereographs of the West, ca. 1858-1906From UC Berkeley Library.