It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"The Photo Archive's two million photographs provide supplementary and original pictorial research for the study of fine arts from antiquity to the modern period. The archive's strength lies in the photographic reproduction of western art, architecture, and decorative arts."
"The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people. The catalog provides access through group or item records to about 95% of the Division's holdings."
"ALIC, the Archives Library Information Center, exists to provide staff and researchers ready access to the background and context information necessary to describe, organize, and access the essential evidence in NARA records."
The LSU Digital Commons repository collects, preserves, publishes, and makes openly accessible the research and scholarship contributed by LSU faculty, staff, students, and units. Research and scholarly archived materials can include articles, monographs, books, theses & dissertations, audio-visual presentations, working papers, technical reports, conference proceedings, special collections, data, and publicly funded research
"The Historic New Orleans Collection (THNOC) is a museum, research center, and publisher dedicated to the stewardship of the history and culture of New Orleans and the Gulf South."
This link will open up the various collections available at HNOC, inlcuding their photograph collection.
The Louisiana Digital Library (LDL) is an online library of more than 400,000 digital items from Louisiana archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories, making unique historical treasures accessible to students, researchers, and the general public in Louisiana and across the globe. The items in the Louisiana Digital Library are as diverse and interesting as the people and places in Louisiana, with photographs, maps, manuscript materials, books, oral histories, and more documenting the state’s history and culture.
"APA is a non-profit trade organization built by photographers for photographers. Now in our fourth decade, APA exists to provide business tools and creative inspiration which help photographic artists of all levels run a smarter, more creative, and profitable business. APA offers education, community, inspiration, and opportunities for networking and social engagement through local chapter activities."
Click on the 'Inspiration' tab on the menue at the top of the page to see examples of photographers' work.
"The American Society of Media Photographers is the premier trade association for the world's most respected photographers. ASMP is the leader in promoting photographers' rights, providing education in better business practices, producing business publications for photographers, and helping to connect purchasers with professional photographers. ASMP, founded in 1944, has nearly 7,000 members and 39 chapters."
"Brings together a community of people from all over the world, who are united by a common interest in and passion for early photography of all types. Our international members include top museum curators and scientists, photo collectors and dealers, photo historians, photographers and artists, as well as students and teachers."
"The National Press Photographers Association is dedicated to the advancement of visual journalism, its creation, practice, training, editing and distribution, in all news media and works to promote its role as a vital public service."
"NANPA promotes the art and science of nature photography as a medium of communication, nature appreciation, and environmental protection; provides information, education, inspiration and opportunity for all persons interested in nature photography; fosters excellence and ethical conduct in all aspects of our endeavors and especially encourages responsible photography in the wild."
"The opportunity to enjoy your hobby with members in 60 countries throughout the world. Established in 1934, it is the largest association of its kind, bringing together professional and amateur enthusiasts of all ages and levels of achievement. As a non-profit organization, its mission is to promote and enhance the art and science of photography in all its phases, among members and non-members alike."
"Professional Photographers of America (PPA) is the world’s largest nonprofit association for professional photographers, with more than 20,000 members in 54 countries. This association seeks to increase its members’ business savvy as well as broaden their creative scope, advancing careers by providing all the tools for success...as they have since 1880."
"Royal Photographic Society was founded in 1853 'to promote the Art and Science of Photography', a mission it continues to this day. Membership is open to everyone interested in photography in the UK and throughout the world, be they amateur or professional, artist or scientist, young or old. Many members also join one or more of the specialist Groups within The Society. Events are also organised by local Regions or Chapters."
"The Society for Photographic Education is a nonprofit membership organization that provides a forum for the discussion of photography and related media as a means of creative expression and cultural insight."