Photography Research: Databases
Art & Design Librarian
Marty Miller
She/her/hers
Subject Databases
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowFeaturing full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an array of publications, this database is a robust resource for art students and art historians. Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. The Oxford Art Online database contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts. This includes painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new windowInternational Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and covers the time period from 2008 - present. For the years, 1975-2007, see BHA. Authoritative coverage of international scholarship is provided for European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Visual arts in all media are also covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history.
- IWAW Biographical DatabaseTemporarily free via Virginia Tech U.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) & RILA Broad in scope, BHA and RILA encompasses fine arts-painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, and architecture-as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, folk, and popular art.
Related/General Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences Collections I-XV, Ireland Archive Collection, Life Sciences Collection, University of California Press Collection, University of Chicago Press Collection, Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, and the Sustainability Collection.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) & RILA Broad in scope, BHA and RILA encompasses fine arts-painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, and architecture-as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, folk, and popular art.
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new window History Reference Source offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window Offers Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. While this resource is convenient, researchers should know that Google indexes as much scholarly content as possible, so it can sometimes return results from predatory journals. Click here for information on how to identify a predatory journal.