Information for New Faculty: Special Collections

Use this link as a place to start if you have any questions regarding Special Collections. We will be monitoring it and responding as quickly as possible throughout the fall.

Special Collections hosts classes from across the University for hands-on work with our extensive archive of manuscript material and rare books. For the fall of 2020 we are working to accommodate some classes in person while observing social distancing guidelines. We are also working with instructors to develop virtual visits to the library, both synchronously and asynchronously. Please contact us with any questions and we would be happy to work with you on tailoring instruction to your course's needs.

The Louisiana Digital Library houses digital version of items held by libraries across the state, including LSU Libraries Special Collections. These guides offer a quick overview of some of topics covered and can be used to offer students an entry into archival research.

Special Collections houses the University Archives, covering all things related to the history of LSU.

The Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collection is the largest accumulation of materials on Louisiana and the lower Mississippi Valley in existence. It includes a comprehensive collection of books, periodicals, maps, prints, pamphlets, Louisiana state documents, microfilm of Louisiana newspapers, historical manuscripts and photographs.

Special Collections holds roughly 150,000 books from the middle of the fifteenth century to the present. We have a particularly strong collection of natural history collection, but also hold significant works of history, literature, science, and art.