Contact Information
Introduction
Constructed in 1859, the New Orleans French Opera House was a quintessential part of New Orleans music and theatre culture for 60 years. The hall was commissioned by Charles Boudousquie, local impresario and head of a stock company, and designed by renowned architect James Gallier Jr. in the Greek Revival style. The theatre played an important social role in the city not only as the host of operas and concerts, but of parties and carnival balls. Special Collections houses several manuscript collections containing invitations, accounts, and announcements for events held at the French Opera House from the mid-19th century to the early-20th century. Though it had been rebuilt following accidents in the past, the French Opera House closed its doors for good following a fire on December 4, 1919 that destroyed the building’s wooden interior. The French Opera House of New Orleans clippings collection (Mss. 1270) contains newspaper articles describing the disaster.
Key Catalog Terms
Listed below are some recommended catalog key terms for searching for the French Opera House in New Orleans. Full steps on how to use these key terms can be found on this LibGuide's homepage.
French Opera House
New Orleans French Opera House
Key Subject Headings
Listed below are some recommended subject headings for searching for the French Opera House in New Orleans. Full steps on how to use these subject headings can be found on this LibGuide's homepage.
Balls (Parties) -- Louisiana -- New Orleans.
Benefit performances -- Louisiana -- New Orleans.
Concert programs -- Louisiana -- New Orleans.
Concerts -- Louisiana -- New Orleans.
French Opera House (New Orleans, La.)
Music -- Louisiana -- New Orleans.
Music festivals -- Louisiana -- New Orleans.
Musicians Louisiana New Orleans
New Orleans (La.) -- Theater.
New Orleans Grand Opera Company.
Opera -- Louisiana -- New Orleans.
Opera companies -- Louisiana -- New Orleans.
Performing arts -- Louisiana -- New Orleans.
Theater -- Louisiana -- New Orleans.
Theater programs.
Theatrical companies -- Louisiana -- New Orleans.
Selected Collections
A few of the collections held by LSU Libraries Special Collections are listed below. Additional collections may be found utilizing the subject headings listed in the sections above.
Books and other published materials
Manuscript collections