Skip to main content

Louisiana Hurricanes

Images of Hurricanes from left to right, Audrey, Betsy, Camille, Andrew, Katrina, Rita, Gustav, and Ike. Images used are in public domain, pulled from Wikipedia Commons.

Homepage

Introduction

Hurricanes have long impacted Louisiana and its inhabitants. This guide will offer information about the related materials in LSU Libraries Special Collections and how to best utilize the library's resources. For information on a specific named hurricane, please visit that hurricane's dedicated section using the menu on the left. Additional collections and information may be listed on the other general tabs. 

For general information on LSU Libraries Special Collections, please see the LibGuide listed below.

Using Key Terms

Key terms may be useful for browsing the library's online catalog. To use these in a search, follow one of the three steps below.

  1. Begin a new catalog search and type the terms into the "Find these words" field.
  2. If using the advanced search, these terms will be placed next to a drop down option listing "All Fields".
  3. If beginning a new search from within an earlier search results, type the key terms into the search bar at the top of the page with "All Fields" selected. 

Using Subject Headings

Each page of this guide will hold a brief listing of recommended key subject headings for browsing the library's online catalog. To use these in a search, follow one of the three steps below.

  1. Begin a new catalog search and type the terms into the "Find these words" field and select "Subject" in the Field drop down menu.
  2. If using the advanced search, these terms will be entered next to a drop down option listing "All Fields". Change the drop down menu to "Subject".
  3. If beginning a new search from within an earlier search results, type the key terms into the search bar at the top of the page with "Subject" selected from the drop down menu. 

These subject terms will not be an exhaustive list but will represent most common options for each topic. The subject terms are organized to be as specific as possible relating to each topic. Adjustments to specificity can be made by adjusting or dropping the final phrase. For example, "Disaster relief." may be adjusted to "Disaster relief -- Louisiana." to see the entire state or "Disaster relief -- Louisiana -- New Orleans." to see materials only relating to that region. 

A full listing of top level subject terms is available through the Library of Congress:

Using Key Collections

On each tab you will also find a listing of key collections related to that topic and organized by material type. The listings are not comprehensive. If you have materials related to this topic that you wish to donate to LSU Special Collections please see the information listed below: 

Additional Resources

In addition to the resources specifically listed on each page, you may wish to review our manuscript subject guides and online finding aids. Each of these will have their own separate search functions to look for key terms within their descriptions.

For available online resources you may choose to browse the Louisiana Digital Library. A link to the LDL and subject guides are listed below. Please note that these collections may not all be part of LSU Special Collections and may require contacting other institutions for further information.

Hurricane Images Banner information

Images in the banner from left to right are numbered below 1 to 8.

1. Hurricane Audrey  2. Hurricane Betsy  3. Hurricane Camille  4. Hurricane Andrew  
5. Hurricane Katrina  6. Hurricane Rita  7. Hurricane Gustav  8. Hurricane Ike

Images 1-4 are in the public domain because they contain materials that originally came from the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, taken or made as part of an employee's official duties. 
Images 5-8 are in the public domain in the United States because they were solely created by NASA. NASA copyright policy states that "NASA material is not protected by copyright unless noted". (See NASA copyright policy page.)

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement