Research Guides: AEEE 3011 Public Engagement Strategies for Agricultural Research: Researching Agricultural Issues

Researching Ag Issues

Places to go to learn more about your topic include reference material such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, or manuals.

Invasive Species Compendium
The Invasive Species Compendium (ISC) is an encyclopaedic resource that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information to support decision-making in invasive species management worldwide.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

A great place to go to find topic ideas, current issues, and up-to-date information.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
How to Activate an LSU New York Times Account

1. Select the link above
2. Select from the search Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College - Baton Rouge, LA
3. Enter all of the requested information and use your LSU email on the registration form and click Sign Up.
4. Once you create your log-in credentials, you will be able to log in using nytimes.com where access is unlimited.
5. Faculty and staff must register every four years. Student access reflects the estimated graduation date.

LSU's access includes New York Times InEducation which provides curated reading lists across several disciplines of study. To access the InEducation tool, users must activate their News subscription and log in using the same account information.

Funding for LSU's New York Times access was provided by LSU Student Government and LSU Libraries.
Wall Street Journal + This link opens in a new window
LSU Libraries is excited to announce that The Wall Street Journals premium digital products including WSJ online and smartphone and tablet apps are now available to all students and faculty. For over a century, WSJ has sustained a legacy of journalistic excellence and is the #1 most trusted newspaper for the 27th consecutive year, according to the Pew Research Center.

All users will need to create a user account.

Remote PC/Mobile access:
1. Click on the WSJ+ link
2. Login to MyLSU
3. Create an account using your LSU email address
4. Select account type
5. Agree to terms and hit create
6. Setup account preferences
7. Your account is now setup for access

Funding for LSU's Wall Street Journal access was provided by LSU Student Government and LSU Libraries

There are places to go to find peer-reviewed scholarly articles and original research on a topic. It can also include some newspapers, review articles, and books within the results. Use the filter option to ensure the best results i.e. "full-text", date, and "peer-review scholarly articles".

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.

Discovery

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista offers over 1.5 million statistics and facts on more than 60,000 topics drawn from over 18,000 different sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. The data is aggregated by a dedicated team of researchers and statisticians who are experts in the 20 market and industry sectors covered. For each data set, extensive source information is provided as well as several download formats for direct integration into various end products.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of hundreds of Industry Market Research reports. Industries represented include Agriculture; Mining; Utilities; Construction; Manufacturing; Wholesale Trade; Retail Trade; Transportation; Information; Finance; Real Estate; Technical and Scientific; Waste Management; Education; Healthcare; Recreation; and Food Services.