Veterinary - Scholarly Communications: Researcher Profiles

Developing your scholarly profile, including claiming your works with a unique identifier and cultivating an online scholar presence, can help raise the visibility of your scholarly research. The links below for creating unique author identifiers and researcher profiles can help you curate and maintain an online scholarly profile that will allow you to disambiguate your work from the work of authors that share a similar name, and keep your works together if you change your name or publish under variant name forms.

Benefits of a strong profile:

• Showcases your scholarly activities and research output in one place
• Helps in identifying you to potential collaborators
• Distinguishes you from other researchers, helping to avoid misidentification
• Allows you to manage your publications list
• Allows you to track your citation metrics and demonstrate your research impact

ORCID 

The non-profit organization Open Researcher and Contributor ID (ORCID) provides unique digital author identifiers for researchers and maintains a registry of these identifiers. A number of journals require authors to provide ORCID IDs in order to publish in those journals. A number of funders require ORCID IDs to make funding applications and outcome reporting easier.

Researchers can import their existing publications indexed in Web of Science, Scopus, Google Scholar, and others to their ORCID profile via the links below. For more details visit: Why Get an ORCID?

• Register for an ORCID ID

• Build your ORCID profile and connect your ID

• Add works by direct import

• Auto-updates-time-saving-and-trust-building

• Connect your ORCID to your Web of Science Researcher ID

• Import files from Google Scholar to ORCID using BibTeX files

 

Web of Science ResearcherID & Researcher Profile

Web of Science ResearcherID is a unique author identifier that is integrated into the Web of Science platform. Having a ResearcherID distinguishes an author in the Web of Science database. Having a Web of Science Researcher Profile with your publications claimed to that profile allows you to track your impact, citation metrics, peer reviews, etc.

• Register for a Web of Science Researcher Profile and obtain a ResearcherID in Web of Science
• Build your Web of Science Researcher profile 
• Claim/add your publications to your profile
• Connect your Web of Science ResearcherID to your ORCID 

 

Google Scholar Profile

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across disciplines. With a Google Scholar profile, you can claim and showcase your publications and the citations your scholarly work has received. Once your publications are claimed to your Google Scholar profile, your h-index will automatically be calculated. 

• Create a Google Scholar Profile
• Set up access to LSU Libraries/LSU Vet Med resources in Google Scholar

 

Scopus Author ID and Author Profile

A Scopus Author ID and Profile help to provide a complete picture of the output and influence of a researcher. These are automatically generated for an author who has at least one paper indexed in the Scopus database, so registration for a Scopus Author ID or Profile is not needed.

To view your Scopus author profile, go to the Scopus database and perform an Author Search of your name and your affiliation. No Scopus author ID or profile will be found unless an author has at least one paper published in Scopus. 

Having a Scopus Author ID and profile allow you to quickly see a list of your publications and view your citation metrics such as your H-index and citation counts.

The Scopus Author Feedback Wizard can be used to submit requests for corrections, to get citation alerts, to collect all of your Scopus publications in one unique author profile, or to add any other pertinent information to your profile. You will be prompted to create a Scopus user account, or log in if you already have one. See the Scopus LibGuide: Author profile for more information on how to review and revise your profile.

Link your Scopus Author ID to your ORCID profile to get automatic updates. Once you authorize permission, you will see your ORCID ID in your Scopus Author Profile.

 

CABI Digital Library and ORCID

You can connect your MyCABI account in CABI Digital Library to your ORCID ID to claim your works in CABI Digital Library and export them to ORCID. To claim records, you will need to first log into your MyCABI account.

Register for a MyCABI account.

 

SciENcv: Science Experts Network Curriculum Vitae

SciENcv is an electronic system that researchers can use to create and maintain biosketches that must be submitted with NIH and NSF grant applications and annual reports. SciENcv pulls information from other systems, including MyNCBI, ORCID, and eRA commons in order to ease administrative burden and allow researchers to quickly create and recreate a biosketch for each grant application or annual report. 

The National Science Foundation (NSF) requires biographical sketches and current and pending support to be generated using the online platform, SciENcv, for all NSF proposals due on or after October 23, 2023.

Your ORCID profile can auto-populate your SciENcv information, making the whole process very simple. Instructions for linking your ORCID profile can be found here.

LSU Elements users can benefit from an automatic sharing of publications between ORCID and Elements. 

     1. Log in to your LSU Elements account 

     2. From the Homepage under My Actions, navigate to Add your ORCID ID, and select ADD

     3. Sign in with your ORCID ID and add your publications

• Keep your researcher profiles up-to-date with your publications claimed to them
• Use a consistent author name for publications; include your middle initial
• Use a consistent affiliation statement: “Louisiana State University, School of Veterinary Medicine"

PubMed's My Bibliography page allows you to create a list of your publications in your My NCBI account that can be shared with others. 

From the PubMed database, login to your account and click your My NCBI icon in the upper right corner. From the dropdown menu, select Publications which will take you to your My NCBI Bibliography page. Here, you can manage your citations, add citations, or make your publication list public or private.

To add citations from a PubMed search results list, select the citations to be added by clicking the boxes to the left of the citations, then click the Send To drop down menu and select My Bibliography. You will find these citations added to your My Bibliography list.

From the My Bibliography page, you can also add citations from a file (upload Medline or RIS formatted file) or manually (use My Bibliography templates to create citations for publications not found in PubMed).

To share your list of publications, from the My Bibliography page under My NCBI, select "Make your bibliography public". You will then see the message, "Share your bibliography with this URL..." Copy the URL link to share the list publicly. 

• Sharing My Bibliography 
• My Bibliography

Link your ORCID ID to your NCBI My Bibliography so that your publications are automatically synced.

1. Go to www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (or to PubMed) and sign in to your NCBI Account.
2. Click on your username icon at the top right corner.
3. Select Account Settings. Under Linked Accounts, select "Change" and then search for ORCID. Select it, enter your ORCID username and password, and authorize it. Then you should see your ORCID account listed in your Linked Accounts.
4. Log out of NCBI and then log back into NCBI but use your ORCID account to do so. From the "Sign In" page, click on "See more 3^rd party sign in options." Search for ORCID in the list. Click on ORCID and it will take you to ORCID. Select, "Sign In. Enter your ORCID email and password.
5. Then you will be directed back to your NCBI account.