Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Veterinary - Scholarly Communications: Managing data

What is research data management?

Research data management is the process of organizing, storing, preserving, and sharing collected research data. Many funding agencies require a formal plan for data management, so to facilitate your data management planning, LSU offers a variety of tools.

Useful data management plan links

LSU Office of Research and Economic Development Data Management

This site includes an overview of data management with links to sample data management plans.

LSU's general policy on data management

This document describes the university's recommendations for data management plans.

LSU Libraries

The main campus LSU Libraries provides one-on-one data management plan consultations, as well as data management plan trainings that can be scheduled.

DMP Tool

This site provides templates that meet the current requirements for federal funding agencies. To save your work, select LSU as your institution and log in with your MyLSU credentials.

SPARC Data Sharing Requirements by Federal Agencies

This site gives current standards for data management and sharing for a variety of federal funding agencies.

Data storage options

Short term storage

OneDrive

Storage capacity: 1 Terabyte (faculty)

Box

Storage capacity: Unlimited (faculty, staff, students)

 

Archival storage

Digital Commons

Digital Commons is LSU's institutional repository, which can be used to archive and publish previously unpublished research materials, as well as to link to previously published materials.

LSU Libraries provides the following text to describe LSU Digital Commons in your data management plan:

A long-term data sharing and preservation plan will be used to store and make publicly accessible the data beyond the life of the project. Data management for this project will be supported by LSU Digital Commons, the institutional repository for LSU: https://digitalcommons.lsu.edu/. This uses the Digital Commons software, powered by bepress, in order to disseminate and archive the scholarly output of the LSU community. Digital Commons provides full-text indexing in major search engines for discoverability of content and provides secure infrastructure for storage and preservation with multiple backups, cloud storage with Amazon Glacier, and a multi-tiered disaster recovery plan. The investigators will consult with the LSU Libraries to facilitate the ingestion of data into Digital Commons and to ensure that appropriate descriptive metadata standards are in place for all datasets and their supplementary materials. The datasets will be published in LSU Digital Commons for long-term preservation. This will provide it with unique, persistent URLs.

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement