- Louisiana State University
- Research Guides
- LSU Libraries
- Business & Economics
- Companies & Industries
Business & Economics
Librarian
Companies & Industries
- AnnualReports.comFree and easy to use, access annual reports from companies worldwide. Search by company name, exchanges, industries, sectors, and alphabetically. Reports are available back to the early 2000s.
- Bloomberg (E.J. Ourso College of Business)The SMART Lab (located in the Business Education Complex) features 12 Bloomberg terminals and offers students the opportunity to obtain Bloomberg online. Bloomberg is a comprehensive interactive system that provides financial information about publicly traded companies worldwide, extensive data and analytics for equities, fixed income and derivatives as well as news and economic data.
NOTE: This is not an LSU Libraries subscription. - Company Information (Public and Private)Access public and private company information. On the right side of the screen, click on Company Information. Profiles include revenues, financials, subsidiaries, products, and executives.
- CrunchbaseCrunchbase is the premier destination for discovering industry trends, investments, and news about hundreds of thousands of companies globally. From startups to Fortune 500s, Crunchbase is recognized as the primary source of company intelligence by millions of users globally.
- FactSet (E.J. Ourso College of Business)Located in the Smart Lab at the Business Education Complex. Use the same tools trusted by investment professionals to monitor the global markets, public and private companies, and equity and fixed income assets in a single, intuitive interface. FactSet offers solutions for course work, trading rooms,student managed investment funds, and research. NOTE: This is not an LSU Libraries subscription.
- MarketLineAccess over 10,000 global company profiles covering the automotive, consumer, energy, financial services, healthcare and technology sectors. In Business Source Complete, search for "Marketline" and a company name or click on "Company Profiles" on the right-side of the screen.
- Mergent ArchivesMergent Archives (formerly WebReports) is an online database offering a vast archive of corporate annual, quarterly, and interim reports ranging back to the early 1900s. Mergent Archives contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries while providing the ability to search documents by company name, industry sector, region, country, document type, or year of report.
- Mergent OnlineMergent Online delivers a suite of comprehensive financial information with the accuracy, timeliness and transparency that is absolutely essential in today's marketplace. Through Mergent Online users leverage Mergent's unique history and experience, built on a century of transforming data into knowledge.
- OpenCorporatesOpenCorporates is the largest open database of companies and company data in the world, with in excess of 100 million companies in a similarly large number of jurisdictions. Search globally, by state, or by country. Access includes corporate public records from all the U.S. states.
- Secretary of StateAccess links to all the 50 states' Secretary of State web pages. Access o links include the website, forms, tax forms, statutes, and entity search.
- Seeking AlphaAccess market news, dividend news, market outlook opinions, earnings news, and earnings call transcripts.
- ThomasNet(R)Access over 500,000 North American manufacturers, distributors, and service companies in over 68,000 product/service categories.
- WRDS: Wharton Research Data ServicesWRDS provides financial, accounting, economic, management, marketing, banking, and insurance data. This E.J. Ourso College of Business subscription to WRDS includes: COMPUSTAT Global & EMDB, COMPUSTAT North America, CRSP, EVENTUS, Global Insight (formerly DRI), I/B/E/S, Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, Dow Jones Averages, Fama French, FDIC, Federal Reserve Bank Reports, Penn World Table, PHLX, and SEC Disclosure of Order Execution.
NOTE: This is not an LSU Libraries subscription. Access is restricted to LSU PhD students, faculty, and research staff who set up an account through the WRDS website.
- BizMiner This link opens in a new windowBizMiner provides industry analysis and reports covering business and U.S. market areas to the zip code level. Generate financial ratios and statistics using the Industry Financial Analysis and Industry Market Analysis tools. Please note this database may be used only for educational, non-commercial use.
- DeloitteIndustries covered include Consumer & Industrial Products (e.g. consumer business, gaming, sports), Energy & Resources, Financial Services, Life Sciences & Health Care, Manufacturing, Public Sector, Real Estate, Technology/Media/ Telecommunications.
- Ernst & YoungIndustries covered include Consumer Products & Retail, Media & Entertainment, Oil & Gas, Technology, and Telecommunications.
- Google FinanceAccess market news, trends, and sector summaries.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of hundreds of Industry Market Research reports. Industries represented include Agriculture; Mining; Utilities; Construction; Manufacturing; Wholesale Trade; Retail Trade; Transportation; Information; Finance; Real Estate; Technical and Scientific; Waste Management; Education; Healthcare; Recreation; and Food Services.
- Internet Coin OfferingsLocate fund name, dollars raised, token sale price, token current price, and a PDF link to a paper written about each fund. Also includes information about upcoming ICO offerings.
- KPMGIndustries covered include Asset Management, Banking and Capital Markets, Building/Construction/Real Estate, Consumer & Retail, and Energy/Natural Resources/Chemicals.
- North American Industrial Classification SystemThe North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
- PitchbookLatest industry news and trends in the world of venture capital, private equity, and mergers & acquisitions.
- Price WaterhouseLocate various industry reports including coverage of Banking and Capital Markets; Forest, Paper, and Packaging; Health Industries; and Pharmaceuticals and Life Science.
- Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage (State Library of Louisiana)Access profiles for publicly-traded companies, lists of competitors, Industry Surveys, and mutual fund information. This database is only available for Louisiana residents.
NOTE: This database is not subscribed by the LSU Libraries. - Strategy&An annual collection of industry perspectives addresses major trends, challenges, and opportunities for companies to consider. Industries covered include Chemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Retail, and Technology.
The Airbnb Story: How Three Ordinary Guys Disrupted an Industry, Made Billions... and Created Plenty of Controversy by
This is the remarkable behind-the-scenes story of the creation and growth of Airbnb, the online lodging platform that has become, in under a decade, the largest provider of accommodations in the world. Fortune editor Leigh Gallagher explores the success of Airbnb along with the more controversial side of its story. Regulators want to curb its rapid expansion; hotel industry leaders wrestle with the disruption it has caused them; and residents and customers alike struggle with the unintended consequences of opening up private homes for public consumption.
Call Number: TX911.2 .G35 2017ISBN: 9780544952669Publication Date: 2017-02-14
Citizen Coke: the Making of Coca-Cola Capitalism by
How did Coca-Cola build a global empire by selling a low-price concoction of mostly sugar, water, and caffeine? The easy answer is advertising, but the real formula to Coke's success was its strategy, from the start, to offload costs and risks onto suppliers, franchisees, and the government. For most of its history the company owned no bottling plants, water sources, cane- or cornfields. A lean operation, it benefited from public goods like cheap municipal water and curbside recycling programs. Its huge appetite for ingredients gave it outsized influence on suppliers and congressional committees. This was Coca-Cola capitalism.
Call Number: HD9349 .S634 C6323 2015ISBN: 9780393241129Publication Date: 2014-11-03
The Industries of the Future by
Leading innovation expert Alec Ross explains what's next for the world: the advances and stumbling blocks that will emerge in the next ten years, and how we can navigate them. In The Industries of the Future, Ross shows us what changes are coming in the next ten years, highlighting the best opportunities for progress and explaining why countries thrive or sputter. He examines the specific fields that will most shape our economic future, including robotics, cybersecurity, the commercialization of genomics, the next step for big data, and the coming impact of digital technology on money and markets.
Call Number: HC79 .T4 R677 2016ISBN: 9781476753652Publication Date: 2016-02-02
Inside Coca-Cola: a CEO's Life Story of Building the World's Most Popular Brand by
Neville Isdell was a key player at Coca-Cola for more than 30 years, retiring in 2009 as CEO after regilding the tarnished brand image of the world's leading soft-drink company. This first book by a Coca-Cola CEO tells an extraordinary personal and professional world-wide story, ranging from Northern Ireland to South Africa to Australia, the Philippines, Russia, Germany, India, South Africa and Turkey.
Call Number: HD9349 .S634 C645 2012ISBN: 9780312617950Publication Date: 2011-10-25
Move Fast and Break Things: How Facebook, Google, and Amazon Cornered Culture and Undermined Democracy by
A stinging polemic that traces the destructive monopolization of the Internet by Google, Facebook and Amazon, and that proposes a new future for musicians, journalists, authors and filmmakers in the digital age. Move Fast and Break Things is the riveting account of a small group of libertarian entrepreneurs who in the 1990s began to hijack the original decentralized vision of the Internet, in the process creating three monopoly firms--Facebook, Amazon, and Google--that now determine the future of the music, film, television, publishing and news industries.
Call Number: HM851 .T365 2017ISBN: 9780316275774Publication Date: 2017-04-18
Netflixed: the Epic Battle for America's Eyeballs by
The inside story of Netflix's incredible rise and uncertain future as master of the video universe. Journalist Gina Keating recounts the fast-paced drama of the company's turbulent rise to the top and its attempt to invent two new kinds of business. First it engaged in a grueling war against videostore behemoth Blockbuster, transforming movie rental forever. Then it jumped into an even bigger battle for online video streaming against Google, Hulu, Amazon, and the big cable companies.
Call Number: HD9697 .V544 N484 2013ISBN: 9781591846598Publication Date: 2013-09-24
The One Device: The Secret History of the iPhone by
The secret history of the invention that changed everything-and became the most profitable product in the world. How did the iPhone transform our world and turn Apple into the most valuable company ever? Veteran technology journalist Brian Merchant reveals the inside story you won't hear from Cupertino-based on his exclusive interviews with the engineers, inventors, and developers who guided every stage of the iPhone's creation. It's a firsthand look at how the cutting-edge tech that makes the world work-touch screens, motion trackers, and even AI-made their way into our pockets.
Call Number: QA76.8 .I64 M47 2017ISBN: 9780316546164Publication Date: 2017-06-20
Shoe Dog: A Memoir by the Creator of Nike by
In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and board chairman Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company's early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one of the world's most iconic, game-changing, and profitable brands.
Call Number: HD9992 .U52 K555 2016ISBN: 9781501135910Publication Date: 2016-04-26
Streampunks: YouTube and the Rebels Remaking Media by
An entertainment and tech insider--YouTube's chief business officer--delivers the first detailed account of the rise of YouTube, the creative minds who have capitalized on it to become pop culture stars, and how streaming video is revolutionizing the media world. In the past ten years, the internet video platform YouTube has changed media and entertainment as profoundly as the invention of film, radio, and television did, more than six decades earlier. Streampunks is a firsthand account of this upstart company, examining how it evolved and where it will take us next.
Call Number: PN1992.927 .Y68 K96 2017ISBN: 9780062657732Publication Date: 2017-09-05
The Upstarts: How Uber, Airbnb, and the Killer Companies of the New Silicon Valley are Changing the World by
Ten years ago, the idea of getting into a stranger's car, or a walking into a stranger's home, would have seemed bizarre and dangerous, but today it's as common as ordering a book online. Uber and Airbnb have ushered in a new era: redefining neighborhoods, challenging the way governments regulate business, and changing the way we travel. In the spirit of iconic Silicon Valley renegades like Steve Jobs and Bill Gates, another generation of entrepreneurs is using technology to upend convention and disrupt entire industries. These are the upstarts, idiosyncratic founders with limitless drive and an abundance of self-confidence.
Call Number: HD62.5 .S759 2017ISBN: 0316388394Publication Date: 2017-01-31
Wild Ride: Inside Uber's Quest for World Domination by
In your pocket is something amazing: a quick and easy way to summon a total stranger who will take you anywhere you'd like. In your hands is something equally amazing: the untold story of Uber's meteoric rise, and the massive ambitions of its larger-than-life founder and CEO.
Call Number: HE5620 .R53 L37 2017ISBN: 9780735211391Publication Date: 2017-05-23
