Digital Advertising
This guide provides an overview of advertising databases and academic journals. Also includes links to online advertising archives, and news databases.
Mass Communication Librarian
News & Newspaper Databases
- News & Newspapers Research GuideThis comprehensive guide provides an overview of conducting news research, both current and historical. Includes links to news content, such as newspapers, news magazines, transcripts, video, and wire services available through LSU Libraries.
See the News & Newspapers research guide for a detailed list of news databases.
Below is a selection of news databases available at LSU Libraries:
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- Baton Rouge Advocate Collection Current and Historical Archives 1845 - present This link opens in a new window
- Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
- Los Angeles Times (1881- 2013) This link opens in a new window
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- New York Times with Index (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- Wall Street Journal 1984 - present This link opens in a new window
- Washington Post 1877 - 2005 This link opens in a new window
How To Videos: Search for a Specific Newspaper at LSU Libraries
Searching E-Journals for Full Text Access to Specific Newspaper Title
Searching the Library Catalog for a Newspaper on Microfilm
Transcripts & Video
LSU Libraries Research Databases:
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new windowThe Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a federal agency that monitors and translates foreign media into English. FBIS Daily Reports are translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. The reports contain political, military, economic, environmental, and sociological news and information.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Includes more than 1,200 full-text newspapers and 150 newswires.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new windowThe mission of the Vanderbilt Television News Archive focuses on creating, preserving and providing access to the news broadcasts from the U.S. national television networks. We create recordings of news broadcasts from the U.S. national television networks, preserve the content for future generations, and provide the widest access possible within the copyright limitations.
- 60 Minutes: 1997-2014 This link opens in a new window
The 60 MINUTES: 19972014 collection provides unprecedented access to the CBS News archives, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast.
Online Research Tools:
- AI Television ExplorerAllows users to use state-of-the-art computer vision and natural language AI to visually search a selection of a decade of broadcast television news coverage from the Internet Archive's Television News Archive analyzed by Google's Cloud Video API and Cloud Natural Language API, using the TV AI API 2.0. Options allow users to construct their search or switch to a different dataset like online news or traditional keyword captioning search.
- AP ArchiveCollection of international TV news footage from Associated Press Television News. Includes UPITN & WTN news footage (1963-1998), APTV news footage (1994-1998), and Universal Newsreels (1929-1967).
Coverage: 1929 - present
Free access with registration. - Chyron BrowserView a visual dashboard summary of the chyron text overlays of BBC, CNN, MSNBC and Fox News for the specified date, based on a special research-grade reprocessing of the Internet Archive's Television News Archive "Third Eye" chyron dataset. You can also download the data directly. Displays work best in Google Chrome.
- Chyron ExplorerCreate a visual dashboard that summarizes broadcast television news chyrons matching your search using data from the Internet Archive's Television News Archive's "Third Eye" OCR stream. Select the dataset to search, the kind of dashboard you want, the specific displays to include in your dashboard and the search to run.
- Television ExplorerCreate a visual dashboard that summarizes broadcast television news coverage of your search using data from the Internet Archive's Television News Archive, powered by the TV 2.0 API. Select the dataset to search, the kind of dashboard you want, the specific displays to include in your dashboard and the search to run.
Wire Services
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Includes more than 1,200 full-text newspapers and 150 newswires.
- Newswires This link opens in a new windowNewswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new windowThe Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a federal agency that monitors and translates foreign media into English. FBIS Daily Reports are translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. The reports contain political, military, economic, environmental, and sociological news and information.
NYTimes.com & WSJ.com
All LSU students, faculty, and staff can create free subscriptions to NYTimes.com and WSJ.com. Access is jointly funded by LSU Student Government and LSU Libraries. If you have questions about setting up your accounts, visit https://guides.lib.lsu.edu/NYT and https://guides.lib.lsu.edu/wallstreet for more information.
Use the links below to set up your free accounts.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowHow to Activate an LSU New York Times Account
1. Select the link above
2. Select from the search Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College - Baton Rouge, LA
3. Enter all of the requested information and use your LSU email on the registration form and click Sign Up.
4. Once you create your log-in credentials, you will be able to log in using nytimes.com where access is unlimited.
5. Faculty and staff must register every four years. Student access reflects the estimated graduation date.
LSU's access includes New York Times InEducation which provides curated reading lists across several disciplines of study. To access the InEducation tool, users must activate their News subscription and log in using the same account information.
Funding for LSU's New York Times access was provided by LSU Student Government and LSU Libraries. - Wall Street Journal + This link opens in a new windowLSU Libraries is excited to announce that The Wall Street Journals premium digital products including WSJ online and smartphone and tablet apps are now available to all students and faculty. For over a century, WSJ has sustained a legacy of journalistic excellence and is the #1 most trusted newspaper for the 27th consecutive year, according to the Pew Research Center.
All users will need to create a WSJ+ account.
Remote PC/Mobile access:
1. Click on the WSJ+ link
2. Login to MyLSU
3. Create a WSJ+ account using your LSU email address
4. Select account type
5. Set up account preferences
6. Agree to terms and click create
7. Your personal WSJ+ login and password are now active. Access is available through the WSJ app or at WSJ.com.
8. Note that WSJ+ accounts that are inactive for 90 days expire. Expired accounts can be reactivated at LSU's WSJ+ page.
Funding for LSU's Wall Street Journal access was provided by LSU Student Government and LSU Libraries