Social Work

• Administration for Children and Families

  ACF is a division of the Department of Health & Human Services that promotes the economic and social well-being of families, children, individuals and communities.

U. S. Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau website provides a source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Center for Disease Control
This website contains information and insight about health, safety, life stages, and a plethora of related topics. The CDC’s mission is "to promote health and quality of life by preventing and controlling disease, injury, and disability."

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
This website is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.

Some programs include:

• Health and social science research
• Preventing disease, including immunization services
• Medicare (health insurance for elderly and disabled Americans) and Medicaid (health insurance for low-income people)
• Health information technology
• Financial assistance and services for low-income families
• Improving maternal and infant health
• Faith-based and community initiatives
• Preventing child abuse and domestic violence
• Substance abuse treatment and prevention
• Services for older Americans, including home-delivered meals

Department of Health and Human Services: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Evidence Based Practice
The department website provides links to evidence-based practice centers in the United States and Canada performing funded research and information mainly in the area of physical health, but also provides reports in psychiatry and substance abuse.

National Institute on Drug Abuse
There are two main factors that this website focuses on: strategic support and conduct of research across a broad range of disciplines, and ensuring the rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention, treatment and policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.

SAMHSA’s National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices
The National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP) is a searchable online registry of mental health and substance abuse interventions that have been reviewed and rated by independent reviewers.The purpose of this registry is to assist the public in identifying approaches to preventing and treating mental and/or substance use disorders that have been scientifically tested and that can be readily disseminated to the field. NREPP is one way that SAMHSA is working to improve access to information on tested interventions and thereby reduce the lag time between the creation of scientific knowledge and its practical application in the field. NREPP is a new registry and currently has several dozen reviewed interventions. New intervention summaries are continually being added as reviews are completed. The registry is expected to grow to a large number of interventions over the coming months and years. Please check back regularly to access the latest updates.

Office of Extramural Research
This website provides useful information about policies, funding opportunities, and the application process for research grants.

The Administration for Children and Families (ACF). Department of Health and Human Services

The ACF is responsible for federal programs which promote the economic and social well-being of families, children, individuals, and communities. Links to government reports, fact sheets, and specific ACF programs.

Administration on Aging

The “Elders and Families” section of the Administration on Aging website is designed to assist older persons and their caregivers quickly obtain information and resources on a variety of aging-related topics. The site also provides links to topics of interest to professionals working with the elderly such as statistics and AOA programs.

American Bar Association Commission on Domestic Violence

Click on "Resources" for statistics, resources for survivors, and Web links.

Child Welfare Information Gateway

"Promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children, youth, and families by connecting child welfare, adoption, and related professionals as well as the general public to information, resources, and tools covering topics on child welfare, child abuse and neglect, out-of-home care, adoption, and more. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services."

Children, Youth and Families Education and Research Network

CYFERnet's Web site brings together the best, children, youth and family resources of all the public land-grant universities in the country. Materials are carefully reviewed by college and university faculty.

Family Issues

A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. Lists quality Web links to a wide variety of family issues. Related topics include Adoption, Child Care, Divorce, Parenting, and Social/Family Issues.

Family Law in the Fifty States

A selection of tables providing a quick view of various aspects of family law for the fifty states in the areas of alimony/spousal support factors, custody criteria, child support guidelines, grounds for divorce and residency requirements, property division, third-party visitation, and appointment laws in adoption, guardianship, unmarried parent and divorce cases

The National Institute of Child Health and Human Development

"The NICHD was initially established to investigate the broad aspects of human development as a means of understanding developmental disabilities, including mental retardation, and the events that occur during pregnancy. Today, the Institute conducts and supports research on all stages of human development, from preconception to adulthood, to better understand the health of children, adults, families, and communities." The Web site includes information on health and human development topics

PewResearchCenter Topics: Publications on Social Trends

"Features selected Pew Research Center reports (since 2005) related to family, community, health, personal finance, work and leisure. Individual project websites contain more reports related to this topic. In particular, please visit the Social & Demographic Trends project, which explores changes in behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives.

Social Security Programs Throughout the World

"Highlights the principal features of social security programs in more than 170 countries. Published in collaboration with the International Social Security Association, one of four regional volumes is issued every six months."