Skip to main content

Social Work

Tips on databases, database searching, APA Style, government info, etc.

Finding Related Articles

If you find a helpful article, it's a good idea to look at the sources that article cites to identify other, earlier articles that may be relevant to your research. At this point of the semester, you should be able to locate an article with the information you find in its citation.

A citation index allows you to find later articles (and in some cases book chapters) which cite an earlier article. In other words, if you find an article you are very interested in, you can look up the article in a citation index to identify later articles which list that original article in their references. These articles will often be related to the topic of the original article; a citation index can lead you to newer articles on a related topic.

Web of Science

Web of Science is a powerful citation index database. LSU Libraries' subscription includes coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Although LSU's subscription includes the humanities and social sciences, the scope of their coverage in Web of Science is much narrower than that of the sciences. If you are using Web of Science and are running into roadblocks, you may want to switch to Google Scholar.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is one of the easiest tools to use as a citation index. Note: If you aren't authenticated through MyLSU, Google Scholar will not recognize you as being affiliated with the university, and these articles won't be available as full text directly in Google Scholar.

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement