Skip to Main Content

Martin Luther King, Jr.

A resource guide to the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Honorary Degrees

Dr. King was awarded honorary degrees from numerous colleges and universities in the United States and several foreign countries. They include the following:

1957 Doctor of Humane Letters, Morehouse College
Doctor of Laws, Howard University
Doctor of Divinity, Chicago Theological Seminary 1958 Doctor of Laws, Morgan State College
Doctor of Humanities, Central State College
1959 Doctor of Divinity, Boston University
1961 Doctor of Laws, Lincoln University
Doctor of Laws, University of Bridgeport
1962 Doctor of Civil Laws, Bard College
1963 Doctor of Letters, Keuka College 1964 Doctor of Divinity, Wesleyan College
Doctor of Laws, Jewish Theological Seminary
Doctor of Laws, Yale University
Doctor of Divinity, Springfield College
1965 Doctor of Laws, Hofstra University
Doctor of Human Letters, Oberlin College
Doctor of Social Science, Amsterdam Free University
Doctor of Divinity, St. Peter's College
1967 Doctor of Civil Law, University of New Castle Upon Tyne
Doctor of Laws, Grinnell College, Grinnell, Iowa
Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement