Skip to main content

Martin Luther King, Jr.


Dr. King received several hundred awards for his leadership in the Civil Rights Movement. Among them were:

1957 Who's Who in America
Among Time'smost outstanding personalities of the year
Spingarn Medal from NAACP
National Newspaper Publishers Russwurm Award
1958 Guardian Association of the Police Department of New York: Second Annual Achievement Award
1959 Listed as one of the sixteen world leaders who had contributed most to the advancement of freedom in 1959 in Link Magazine of New Dehli, India.
1963 Named Man of the Year by Time
NamedAmerican of the Decade by Laundry, Dry Cleaning, and Die Workers International Union
1964 United Federation of Teachers: John Dewey Award
Catholic Interracial Council of Chicago: John F. Kennedy Award
Nobel Peace Prize: At age 35, Dr. King was the youngest man, the second American, and the third black man awarded the Nobel Peace Prize
1968 Jamaican Government: Marcus Garvey Prize for Human Rights
Southern Christian Leadership Conference: Rosa L. Parks Award
Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement