Nutrition & Food Sciences: Food & Nutrition Service

FNS works continuously to achieve its mission by setting goals and utilizing evidence, measurement, and learning to improve results of programs and the effectiveness and efficiency of agency operations in service to the American public.

The program data site provides selected statistical information on activity in all major FNS programs. These include the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP); the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC); child nutrition programs (National School Lunch, School Breakfast, Child and Adult Care, Summer Food Service and Special Milk); and food distribution programs (Schools, Emergency Food Assistance, Indian Reservations, Commodity Supplemental, Nutrition for the Elderly, and Charitable Institutions).

The SNAP page provides access to information on all aspects of the program. See the SNAP page on Applicants and Recipients for detailed information about eligibility requirements and benefits. SNAP is the federal name for the program. State programs may have different names.

For information on all Food Distribution programs (and on food distributed in child nutrition programs), see the USDA Foods home page. Here you can access regulations, information on available commodities, and links to other agencies concerned with USDA Foods distribution.

This factsheet provides information on the child nutrition programs. Also see the child nutrition home page for the latest news and further information.

See the FAQ section of the WIC site for an explanation of program eligibility requirements and benefits. The WIC home page provides the latest program news and links to program regulations.

USDA's food distribution programs strengthen the nutrition safety net through the distribution of USDA Foods and other nutrition assistance to children, low-income families, emergency feeding programs, Indian reservations, and the elderly.

The Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP) works to improve the health of persons with low-income, at least 60 years of age, by supplementing their diets with nutritious USDA Foods. USDA distributes both food and administrative funds to participating states and Indian Tribal Organizations to operate CSFP.

The Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations (FDPIR) provides USDA Foods to income-eligible households living on Indian reservations and to Native American households residing in designated areas near reservations or in Oklahoma. USDA distributes both food and administrative funds to participating Indian Tribal Organizations and state agencies to operate FDPIR.

The Emergency Food Assistance Program (TEFAP) is a federal program that helps supplement the diets of people with low income by providing them with emergency food assistance at no cost. USDA provides 100% American-grown USDA Foods and administrative funds to states to operate TEFAP.

The USDA Foods in Schools program supports domestic nutrition programs and American agricultural producers through purchases of 100% American-grown and -produced foods for use by schools and institutions participating in the National School Lunch Program (NSLP), the Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP), and the Summer Food Service Program (SFSP).

Learn about programs that offer food and nutrition assistance for children, including the School Breakfast Program and National School Lunch Program.

The Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) is a federal program that provides reimbursements for nutritious meals and snacks to eligible children and adults who are enrolled for care at participating child care centers, day care homes, and adult day care centers. CACFP also provides reimbursements for meals served to children and youth participating in afterschool care programs, children residing in emergency shelters, and adults over the age of 60 or living with a disability and enrolled in day care facilities. CACFP contributes to the wellness, healthy growth, and development of young children and adults in the United States.

The Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program (FFVP) provides a variety of free, fresh fruit and vegetable snacks to children at eligible elementary schools. A USDA study found that FFVP students eat more fruits and vegetables than students who do not participate in the program. Schools deliver FFVP snacks along with bite-sized nutrition lessons. This encourages children to try new foods, learn about seasonal produce, and set healthy eating habits to last a lifetime.

Feeding the Future with Healthy School Lunches
The National School Lunch Program (NSLP) is a federally assisted meal program operating in public and nonprofit private schools and residential child care institutions. It provides nutritionally balanced, low-cost or free lunches to children each school day. The program was established under the National School Lunch Act, signed by President Harry Truman in 1946.

The School Breakfast Program (SBP) provides reimbursement to states to operate nonprofit breakfast programs in schools and residential childcare institutions. The Food and Nutrition Service administers the SBP at the federal level. State education agencies administer the SBP at the state level, and local school food authorities operate the program in schools.

Through SUN Meals, kids of all ages can eat meals and snacks during the summer at no cost at schools, parks, and other neighborhood locations. SUN Meals may have a different name where you live, but the benefit is the same: nutritious meals for kids and teens in the summer when school is out.

Every child aged 18 and under can enjoy SUN Meals, some rural communities now offer SUN Meals To-Go, and eligible school-aged children can also receive SUN Bucks.

SNAP offers nutrition assistance to millions of eligible, low-income individuals and families and provides economic benefits to communities. SNAP is the largest program in the domestic hunger safety net.

From the moment you find out you're expecting until your child turns 5, WIC provides extra support to help keep your family healthy. WIC is the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children.

The WIC Farmers' Market Nutrition Program (FMNP) is associated with the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children, popularly known as WIC. Eligible WIC participants are issued FMNP coupons in addition to their regular WIC benefits. These coupons can be used to buy eligible foods from farmers, farmers' markets or roadside stands that have been approved by the state agency to accept FMNP coupons.

The Senior Farmers' Market Nutrition Program (SFMNP) is designed to:
Provide low-income seniors with access to locally grown fruits, vegetables, honey, and herbs.
Increase the domestic consumption of agricultural commodities through farmers' markets, roadside stands, and community-supported agricultural programs.
Aid in the development of new and additional farmers markets, roadside stands, and community support agricultural programs.