Nutrition & Food Sciences: Reference Sources
Research Guide for Nutrition & Food Science. This is a great starting place when researching.
Agriculture Librarian
Randa Lopez Morgan
She/Her
Reference Sources
- Food Composition from USDAFind information about the nutrients and compounds in food, including macronutrients, micronutrients, phytonutrients, and sweeteners. Browse food composition databases, nutrient functions, commodity foods, and more.
- USDA Food Surveys ResearchUSDA food surveys
- National Center for Health Statistics (Centers for Disease Control)Data on vital events; information on health status, lifestyle, and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability; the use of health care.
- USDA Economic Research ServiceWebsite full of useful resources such as meat price spreadsheets, USDA Ag Census Web Maps, and more.
- Common Fragrance and Flavor Materials byPublication Date: 2016-04-25
- Essentials of Food Science byPublication Date: 2013-12-05
- Handbook of Food Fortification and Health byPublication Date: 2013-07-04
- Sustainable Food Production byPublication Date: 2012-12-05
- Food and Nutrition Resource ListComprehensive food and nutrition websites resource from the National Agricultural Library.
- Dietary Assessment Instruments for ResearchTools provided by the USDA- National Agriculture Library
- Nutrition Analysis Tools for Good HealthNAT is a free program. It allows you to do a nutritional analysis on a wide variety of foods, within the limitations of the data (see the site). The database used by NAT is composed of the USDA Handbook #8 and information from food companies.
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new windowWhile ASTM is best known for it's standards, the ASTM Compass also includes nearly every other ASTM publication, thats 1,500+ books and 60,000+ papers and chapters, dating back to 1932.
- International dietetics and nutrition terminology (IDNT) reference manual byCall Number: RM216 .I56 2013ISBN: 9780880914673Publication Date: 2013
- CDC Healthy LivingA collection of CDC guides dealing with various topics from Alcohol and Public Health to Workplace Safety Information.
- Dietary Guidelines for AmericansPublished every 5 years, the Dietary Guidelines for Americans encourages individuals to eat a healthful diet — one that focuses on foods and beverages that help achieve and maintain a healthy weight, promote health, and prevent chronic disease.
- Food Safety and Inspection ServiceThe Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) is the public health agency in the U.S. Department of Agriculture responsible for ensuring that the nation's commercial supply of meat, poultry, and egg products is safe, wholesome, and correctly labeled and packaged.
- National Guideline ClearinghouseNGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
- USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard ReferenceRelease 27 of the USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
- USDA StandardsUSDA quality standards are based on measurable attributes that describe the value and utility of the product.
Having Trouble Getting Access?
In order to access the LSU Libraries' resources, please make sure that you are logged into your myLSU. Failure to do so may result in you being unable to access our information.
Steps for Logging into the Libraries' website using your myLSU
1. Log into your myLSU
2. Scroll down and look on the left-hand side for the words, "Library Resources"
3. Select, "LSU Libraries Home Page"
Once you have clicked that link, you should be logged into all of the libraries resources.
For difficulties using any of our resources, please contact the Research Help Desk.
Agricultural Support Librarian
Additional Help
- Citation HelpA research guide created by LSU Libraries that covers the importance of academic integrity and the basics of citing sources in different styles.