Census Reference Resources
Catalogs provide information on specific data products for each decennial census by type and subject area.
Circular of information concerning census publications, 1790-1916. by Call Number: C 3.19:2/917Publication Date: 1917This circular presents the descriptive and chronological lists of census publications produced for the 1790 to the 1910 Censuses, listing the publications primarily according to subject, with the times under each subject heading being presented in the order of the dates to which they were issued. It also includes a brief summary of the contents of each publication and on page 111 lists the intercensal publications published between 1910 and 1916.- Catalog of United States census publications, 1790-1945, prepared by Henry J. Dubester, Chief. by Call Number: C 3.2:P 96/8/1790-1945Publication Date: 1950Developed by the Census Library Project under the sponsorship of the Bureau of the Census and the Library of Congress, this publication represents the second compilation of Bureau of the Census reports. It contains LC call numbers for all LC-owned census reports from 1790-1945.
- Bureau of the Census catalog of publications, 1790-1972. by Call Number: C 3.163/2-2:790-972Publication Date: 1974This volume comprises two catalogs listed above. The Catalog of United States Census Publications, 1790-1945 was published in 1950 and lists all materials issued by the Bureau of the Census and its predecessor organizations starting with the first census report of 1790. The Bureau of the Census Catalog of Publications, 1946-1972 updates the historical compilation and describes more than 60,000 reports issued by the Bureau between 1946 and 1972.
Dubester's U. S. Census Bibliography with Sudocs Class Numbers and Indexes by Call Number: HA214 .D83 1997Publication Date: 1996-04-15Gain access to the vast number of historical statistics contained in census publications with this guide. Intended to increase the usefulness of Henry J. Dubester's standard bibliography of historical U.S. census publications (Catalog of United States Census Publications, 1790-1945), this work adds a section of supplemental entries (including SuDocs classification numbers) to the original bibliography and subject index.- Census Catalog and Guide by Call Number: C 3.163/3:Publication Date: 1985-2024 (ongoing)This annual guide describes all the census data products generated by the Census Bureau. It provides information on all series, new products, has handy charts, and indicates formats available for each title.
Basic guides and user's guides primarily focus on providing specific detail on operations and activities involved in planning and carrying out the censuses as well as guidance and technical documentation in using specific data products. Indexes generally provide assistance in accessing specific types of census data products, such as a subject index to current population reports.
- Census tract manual by Call Number: C 3.6/2:C 33/966Publication Date: 1966Includes information that explains what census tracts are, why they are needed, how they are established, what they can be used for, and provides a list of approved tracts at the time of publication.
- Population information in nineteenth century census volumes by Call Number: HA214 .S38 1983Publication Date: 1983This publication provides subject access to the decennial censuses covering 1790-1890. It includes LC Call Numbers and LC Catalog Record Numbers and provide subject access to tables in the census reports.
- Population information in twentieth century census volumes, 1900-1940 by Call Number: HA214 .S38 1985Publication Date: 1985Continues Population information in nineteenth century census volumes. and provides subject access to the decennial censuses covering 1900-1940.
- Population information in twentieth century census volumes, 1950- 1980 by Call Number: HA214 .S38 1988Publication Date: 1988Continuation of the two publications listed above covering the 1950-1980 decennial censuses.
- Topical index of population census report, 1900-1930. by Call Number: C 3.2:P 81/3Publication Date: 1934Covers the volumes of the regular Census Reports on Population for 1900 - 1930 together with the 1920 and 1930 Abstracts, the 1930 Report on Unemployment, and the 1900 Special Report on Occupations. The tables cover each subject area, giving geographic breakdown from national to metropolitan areas, listing the report volume and page number where data can be found.
Understanding the Census by Call Number: HA201 1990ARPublication Date: 1996-03-26Designed as a textbook, a handbook, and a ready-reference tool, Understanding the Census is written in a user-friendly narrative style. It features a wealth of research tips, background information, and answers to frequently asked questions. The book's many appendixes also provide valuable support material and answer important questions about the census.
Census 2020 : understanding the issues by Call Number: Electronic ResourceThis book details the fundamentals and significance of the 2020 Census for the non-specialist reader. It covers why the Census is the only statistical activity required by the US Constitution, the challenges of working towards an accurate and complete count, and what political ramifications flow from this process. Concise, timely, and comprehensible, this book provides helpful real-life examples while also offering an overview of the entwined statistical and political issues that surround the Census.
- Monthly Product Announcements (U.S. Government Printing Office)This link provides access to issues covering 1997-2000. The Monthly Product Announcement provided the latest releases of census data products and it updated the Catalog.
- 2010 Census Data Products: United States At a GlanceThis table lists Census 2010 data products with their contents and geographic coverage.
- U.S. Census Bureau: Press ReleasesCensus press releases provide information on data releases and the latest developments at the Census Bureau.
- Publications (U.S. Census Bureau)See this site for more recent subject access to census publications. Publications, briefs and reports from Census Bureau experts arranged by topics, surveys and programs, and by year.