HIST 4046: 19th Century Britain: Useful databases

British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of 19th-century British society. The collection includes Parts I-V and covers the years 1732-1950.

This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 18111849 to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 22.7 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers.

Online access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series, with access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content. Coverage includes American and British history, general history, music, religious studies, theater and performing arts, and more.

The Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history. It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. This is more than a fantastic collection of primary source material; it is a unique online resource offering new insight into a fascinating period of our past.

Founded in 1843, The Economist's principles and methods remain relevant today. It is renowned for its consistent approach to internationalism and championing of minimal state in political and government affairs. In more than 8,000 issues since its first publication in 1843, The Economist has presented timely reporting, concise commentary, and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. With objective authority, clarity, and wit, The Economist presents the worlds political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them.

A unique archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays.

Bringing together rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

Digital curated historical artifacts from over 500 years of world history, curated by Gale and partnering libraries from around the world.

The Berg Collection is recognised as one of the finest literary research collections in the world, and the Victorian holdings are the undisputed jewel in its crown. A broad range of authors from across the nineteenth century make this an essential research tool for all scholars and students researching Victorian literature. Most of these unique manuscripts are unavailable in any medium elsewhere. They are supplemented by some rare printed materials, including early editions annotated by the authors. Each author collection is included in its entirety, allowing users to browse and search the manuscripts as they would in the Berg Reading Room.

The Stationers’ Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material for historians and literary scholars.

The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. The Oxford Art Online database contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts. This includes painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.

With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006)

The Romantic Era Redefined is a searchable collection of works focusing in the period between 1800 and 1830, that will bring academic research libraries a new, genre-redefining electronic collection of Romantic-era literature. In partnership with Pickering & Chatto Publishers, Alexander Street Press will publish in this collection canonical and previously unrecognized writers from Britain, the British Empire, and North America.

iscover the working methods of Romantic poets and trace the evolution of celebrated verse in this powerful digital resource. Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this digital collection offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.

The Telegraph Historical Archive provides access to an archive of 1 million pages. The paper is considered to be Britain's first "penny newspaper" and became the largest-selling newspaper in the world by 1876.

The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2014. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.

Victorian Popular Culture is a portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist seances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures.

Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals.

This site provides users with a free, expansive, searchable, reliable, peer-reviewed, copy-edited, easy-to-use overview of the period 1775-1925.

Over 5% of The National Archives' records have been digitized and are accessible online