HIST 4046: 19th Century Britain: Beginning Research at LSU Libraries

This guide is to aid students in HIST 4046 in finding resources related to 19th century Britain. This guide can also be used for general research help pertaining to 19th century Britain.

Background Information Resources

CQ Researcher Plus Archive
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Literati by Credo
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. Whether you're working on a research paper, trying to win trivia or just curious, Credo Reference has something for you.

Searching using Boolean Operators

Boolean operators are simple words that are used while searching databases. These operators are used to either include or exclude particular keywords in searches. Utilizing these phrases helps make your search more specific and helps eliminate results that are not relevant to your research goals.

Discovery

Discovery is a good starting point when beginning your research. The discovery tab is the default function of the search box on the LSU Libraries Homepage. An image of the Discovery box is seen below.

The Discovery function searches many databases, journals, news sources, and book titles for relevant results pertaining to your research topic. these results can be limited in various ways such as source type, date, full text, and relevancy. It should be noted, that the Discovery function may miss some relevant resources for your research. You should further your research, by utilizing specific databases that are tailored to your specific subject matter.