Skip to Main Content

William Morton Bowlus Comic Collection

A research guide on the William Morton Bowlus Comic Collection

Diversity and Inclusion

Though most comics in our collection are dominated by white super-heroes, late in the Silver Age and during the Bronze Age, comics brands began publishing stories which included more diverse characters. 

Asian Representation

Shang-Chi (Zheng Shang-Chi)

First appearance: Special Marvel Edition #15 (1973)
Featured in:

  • Master of Kung Fu

Englehart, Steve. Lair of the Lost! Master of Kung Fu, Vol, 1 No. 17, Marvel Comics Group, 1977. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Black Representation

Black Panther (T'Challa)

First appearance: Fantastic Four #52 1966)
Featured in:

  • Avengers
  • Black Panther
  • Fantastic Four

Kirby, Jack. The Six-Million Year Man! Black Panther, Vol, 1 No. 1, Marvel Comics Group, 1977. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Falcon (Sam Wilson)

First appearance: Captain America #117 (1969)
Featured in:

  • Avengers
  • Captain America

Lee, Stan. The Coming of Falcon! Captain America, Vol. 1, No. 117, Marvel Comics Group, 1969. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database

Power Man (Luke Cage)

First appearance: Hero for Hire #1 (1972)
Featured in:

  • Hero for Hire
  • Power Man
  • Power Man and Iron Fist

Goodwin, Archie. Out of Hell-A Hero! Hero for Hire, Vol. 1 No. 1, Marvel Comics Group, 1972. Retrieved From: Grand Comics Database. 
 

Black Goliath (Bill Foster)

First appearance: Power Man #24 (1975)
Featured in:

  • Black Goliath
  • Power Man

Isabella, Tony. Black Goliath. Black Goliath, Vol. 1, No. 1, Marvel Comics Group, 1976. Retrieved From: Grand Comics Database.

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Black Lightning (Jefferson Pierce)

First appearance: Black Lightning #1 (1977)
Featured in:

  • Batman and the Outsiders
  • Black Goliath

Isabella, Tony. Merlyn Means Murder. Black Lightning, Vol. 1, No. 2, DC Comics, 1977. Retrieved From: Grand Comics Database. 

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Cyborg (Victor Stone)

First appearance: DC Comics Presents #26 (1980)
Featured in:

  • The New Teen Titans
  • Tales of the New Teen Titans

Wolfman, Marv. Cyborg. Tales of the New Teen Titans, Vol. 1, No. 1, DC Comics, 1982. Retrieved From: Grand Comics Database.

Black Women Representation

Nubia (Zahavah)

First appearance: Wonder Woman #204 (1973)
Featured in: 

  • Wonder Woman

Bates, Cary. War of the Wonder-Women! Wonder Woman, Vol, 1 No. 206, DC Comics, 1973. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Storm (Ororo Munroe)

First appearance: Giant Sized X-Men #1 (1975)
Featured in:

  • Giant Sized X-Men
  • X-Men

Claremont, Chris. Second Genesis! Giant-Size X-Men, Vol, 1 No. 1, Marvel Comics Group, 1975. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Disability Representation

Professor-X (Charles Xavier)

First appearance: X-Men #1 (1963)
Featured in:

  • X-Men

Bates, Cary. No One Can Stop the Vanisher! X-Men, Vol, 1 No. 2, Marvel Comics Group, 1963. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

​​​​​​​Daredevil (Matthew Murdock)

First appearance: Daredevil #1 (1964)
Featured in:

  • Avengers
  • Daredevil
  • The Defenders
  • Fantastic Four
  • Marvel Super-Heroes

Lee, Stan. The Origin of Daredevil! Daredevil, Vol, 1 No. 1, Marvel Comics Group, 1964. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Hawkeye (Clint Barton)

First appearance: Tales of Suspense #57 (1964)
Featured in:

  • Avengers
  • The Defenders
  • West Coast Avengers

Englehart, Steve. Avengers Assemble! West Coast Avengers, Vol, 1 No. 1, Marvel Comics Group, 1984. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.


 

LatinX Representation

White Tiger (Hector Ayala)

First appearance: Deadly Hands of Kung Fu #19 (1974)
Featured in:

  • Deadly Hands of Kung Fu

Mantlo, Bill. Who is the White Tiger? Deadly Hands of Kung Fu, Vol, 1 No. 22, Marvel Comics Group, 1976. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Native American Representation

Wyatt Wingfoot

First appearance: Fantastic Four #50 (1966)
Featured in:

  • Fantastic Four

Lee, Stan. Enter...Dr. Doom! Fantastic Four, Vol, 1 No. 57, DC Comics, 1966. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Thunderbird (John Proudstar)

First appearance: Giant Sized X-Men #1 (1975)
Featured in:

  • Giant Sized X-Men
  • X-Men

Claremont, Chris. Second Genesis! Giant-Size X-Men, Vol, 1 No. 1, Marvel Comics Group, 1975. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

  • Last Updated: May 27, 2025 9:41 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.lsu.edu/Bowlus
  • Print Page