Research Guides: William Morton Bowlus Comic Collection: Highlights of the Collection

Land Acknowledgement Statement

As a land, sea, and space-grant institution, Louisiana State University and A&M College (LSU) has a responsibility to acknowledge, honor, and affirm Indigenous culture, history, and experiences. LSU is a community of higher learning built upon the traditional, ancestral, and contemporary lands of Indigenous peoples. LSU recognizes the communities native to this region including the Caddo Adai Indians of Louisiana, Biloxi Chitimacha Confederation, Chitimacha Tribe of Louisiana, Choctaw Nation, Coushatta Tribe, Four Winds Cherokee Tribe, Muscogee (Creek), Point au Chien Tribe, Tunica Biloxi Tribe, United Houma Nation, and others whose memories may have been erased by violence, displacement, migration, and settlement. As a University, we thank them for their strength and resilience as stewards of this land and are committed to creating and maintaining a living and learning environment that embraces individual difference, including the Indigenous peoples of our region.

Highlights

The William Morton Bowlus Comic Collections contains over 400 comic book series. The collection houses a wide range of comic genres, spanning from action, horror, and sci-fi. Below are some highlights of the collection. To find a complete inventory of the collection, see the William Morton Bowlus Complete Inventory Sheet.

DC Comics

Action Comics

Boxes 1-6

Total: 169 Issues
- Box 1: 257; 292; 303; 311; 312; 315-318; 320-333; 336-340
  - Total: 28 Issues
- Box 2: 342-359; 361-370
  - Total: 28 Issues
- Box 3: 371-385; 387-400
  - Total: 29 Issues
- Box 4: 401-430
  - Total: 30 Issues
- Box 5: 431-434; 437-439; 441-458
  - Total: 25 Issues
- Box 6: 461-466; 472; 484; 488; 491; 494; 517; 522; 528-532; 534-540; 542; 545; 546; 550
  - Total: 29 Issues

Binder, Otto. The Reporter of Steel, Action Comics, Vol, 1 No. 257, Superman DC National Comics, 1959. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Batman

Boxes 36-38

Total: 75 Issues
- Box 1: 116; 157-159; 167; 169; 174; 177-179; 181-188; 192-195; 198-200; 202; 203; 205
  - Total: 28 Issues
- Box 2: 206-211; 213; 214; 217; 218; 220; 222; 224; 228; 234; 238; 244; 248; 249; 252-254; 257-259
  - Total: 25 Issues
- Box 3: 262; 263; 266-274; 276; 278; 279; 287; 289; 295; 297; 300; 330; 340; 346
  - Total: 22 Issues

Finger, Bill. The City of Ancient Heroes, Batman, Vol, 1 No. 116, Superman DC National Comics, 1959. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Detective Comics

Box 77-79

Total: 68 Issues
- Box 1: 283; 284; 295; 316; 324; 328; 345; 349; 351; 353; 354; 356; 359; 365; 368; 370; 381-386; 388; 393; 397; 402; 406; 407; 410
  - Total: 29 Issues
- Box 2: 414; 425; 431; 438-440; 442-448; 450-455
  - Total: 19 Issues
- Box 3: 456; 457; 459; 460; 462; 464; 466; 468; 469; 477-481; 484; 515; 516; 518; 533; 541
  - Total: 20 Issues

Miller, Jack. The Phantom of Gotham City, Detective Comics, Vol, 1 No. 283, Superman DC National Comics, 1960. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

The New Gods

Box 52

Total: 15 Issues
- Box 1: 1-4; 6-15; 17

Kirby, Jack. Orion Fights for Earth, The New Gods, Vol, 1 No. 1, DC Comics, 1971. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

The Flash

Box 100-103

Total: 116 Issues
- Box 1: 118; 126; 129; 130; 140; 147; 150; 152; 154; 155; 160-164; 166-168; 170-180
  - Total: 29 Issues
- Box 2: 181-195; 197; 198; 200-210
  - Total: 28 Issues
- Box 3: 211-235; 237-240
  - Total: 29 Issues
- Box 4: 241-250; 253; 260; 265; 270; 271; 287; 288; 292; 296; 299; 301-303; 305; 309; 310; 314; 318; 324; 332
  - Total: 30 Issues

Broome, John. The Doomed Scarecrow, The Flash, Vol, 1 No. 118, Superman DC National Comics, 1961. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Green Lantern and Green Arrow

Green Lantern: Issues 10-75; 128-174

Green Lantern and Green Arrow: Issues 76-109

Box 106-108

Total: 85 Issues
- Box 1: 10; 20; 23; 28; 30; 33; 35; 36; 40; 42; 45-52; 54-57; 60-64; 66-70
  - Total: 32 Issues
- Box 2: 71-86; 89-91; 94; 95; 98-100; 102; 109
  - Total: 26 Issues
- Box 3: 128; 141; 143; 145; 147; 149-161; 163; 165-171; 174
  - Total: 27 Issues

O’Neil, Denny. No Evil Shall Escape My Sight, The Green Lantern, Vol, 2 No. 76, Superman DC National Comics, 1970. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Justice League of America

Box 134-137

Total: 100 Issues
- Box 1: 16; 28-30; 36; 38; 39; 41; 43; 47; 51; 55-57; 59-62; 64-70
  - Total: 25 Issues
- Box 2: 72-77; 80-96; 98; 99
  - Total: 25 Issues
- Box 3: 100-105; 107-111; 113; 117-120; 122-125; 127-129; 131; 132; 142; 143; 160
  - Total: 28 Issues
- Box 4: 184; 188; 189; 193; 195; 198; 200; 201; 203-206; 208-211; 213; 214; 216-218; 222
  - Total: 22 Issues

Fox, Gardner. The Cavern of Deadly Spheres, Justice League of America, Vol, 1 No. 16, Superman DC National Comics, 1962. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Superman

Box 236-240

Total: 136 Issues
- Box 1: 156; 164; 166-169; 173; 175; 177-181; 185; 186; 188; 191; 196; 198-200
  - Total: 21 Issues
- Box 2: 203-211; 213-223; 225-228; 230
  - Total: 25 Issues
- Box 3: 231-235; 237-255; 257-260
  - Total: 28 Issues
- Box 4: 261-276; 278; 281; 285-300
  - Total: 34 Issues
- Box 5: 301-306; 309; 313; 330; 336; 357; 358; 360; 364; 369; 371; 372; 375-383; 386; 391
  - Total: 28 Issues

Hamilton, Edmond. The Last Days of Superman! Superman, Vol, 1 No. 156, Superman DC National Comics, 1962. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Teen Titans

Box 258-59

Total: 39 Issues
- Box 1: 1; 4; 6-19; 21-23; 25;27-32; 34; 35; 37; 40
  - Total: 32 Issues
- Box 2: 41-45; 48; 49
  - Total: 7 Issues

Haney, Bob. The Beast God of Xochatan! Teen Titans, Vol, 1 No. 1, Superman DC National Comics, 1966. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Wonder Woman

Box 270-272

Total: 76 Issues
- Box 1: 157; 162; 164; 167; 168; 172; 174; 176; 178-193; 195-200
  - Total: 30 Issues
- Box 2: 201-208; 210-214; 216-225
  - Total: 22 Issues
- Box 3: 226; 232; 234; 241; 248; 271; 274; 281; 282; 284; 285; 287; 288; 291-296; 298; 300-302; 309;
  - Total: 24 Issues

Kanigher, Bob. I--The Bomb! Wonder Woman, Vol, 1 No. 157, Superman DC National Comics, 1965. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Magazines

Cracked

Box 59

Total: 6 Issues
- Box 1: 73; 75-77; 88; 127

Carter, Dave, et al. Cracked Magazine, Vol, 1 No. 73, Major Magazines, Inc., 1968. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Creepy

Box 61-64

Total: 58 Issues
- Box 1: 1-4; 6-9; 11; 15; 16; 25-30
  - Total: 17 Issues
- Box 2: 31; 34; 35; 38; 40; 42-49
  - Total: 13 Issues
- Box 3: 54; 56-60; 62-66; 70; 72; 73; 77; 78
  - Total: 16 Issues
- Box 4: 79; 82-85; 87; 88; 91; 93; 94; 104; 108
  - Total: 12 Issues

Goodwin, Archie, et al. Creepy, Vol, 1 No. 1, Warren Publishing Co., 1964. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Eerie

Box 86-90

Total: 71 Issues
- Box 1: 2-16; 18; 20
  - Total: 17 Issues
- Box 2: 21-40
  - Total: 20 Issues
- Box 3: 41-43; 48-50; 52-60
  - Total: 15 Issues
- Box 4: 61; 64-72; 74; 78; 80
  - Total: 13 Issues
- Box 5: 82; 84-86; 96; 101
  - Total: 6 Issues

Binder, Otto, et al. Eerie, Vol, 1 No. 2, Warren Publishing Co., 1966. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Heavy Metal

Box 109-110

Total: 36 Issues
- Vol. 1 Total: 9 Issues
  - Box 1: 1-5; 7; 9; 12; 13
- Vol. 2 Total: 11 Issues
  - Box 1: 2-8
    - Total: 7 Issues
  - Box 2: 9-12
    - Total: 4 Issues
- Vol. 3 Total: 9 Issues
  - Box 1: 2-4; 6-11
- Vol. 4 Total: 4 Issues
  - Box 1: 3; 4; 8; 11
- Vol. 5 Total: 2 Issues
  - Box 1: 6; 7
- Vol. 8 Total: 1 Issue
  - Box 1: 2

Alexis, et al. Heavy Metal, Vol, 1 No. 1, HM Communications, Inc., 1977. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

MAD

Box 145-146

Total: 33 Issues
- Box 1: 106; 125; 126; 129; 134; 136; 138-140; 142; 144; 149; 151; 152; 154; 155
  - Total: 16 Issues
- Box 2: 156-161; 163; 165-167; 169-173; 185; 186
  - Total: 17 Issues

Feldstien, Albert F., et al. MAD, Vol, 1 No. 106, E.C. Publications, Inc., 1966. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Marvel Comics

The Amazing Spider-Man

Box 16-21

Total: 169
- Box 1: 3-5; 8; 9; 18; 21-24; 26; 27; 29; 30; 32-38;
  - Total: 21 Issues
- Box 2: 42-45; 47-49; 51-75
  - Total: 33 Issues
- Box 3: 76-100; 102-110
  - Total: 34 Issues
- Box 4: 111-120; 123-128; 130-150
  - Total: 37 Issues
- Box 5: 151-160; 162-182; 184; 185; 187; 188
  - Total: 35 Issues
- Box 6: 192; 207; 210; 214; 223; 226; 227; 255; 256
  - Total: 9 Issues

Lee, Stan. Spider-Man Versus Doctor Octopus, The Amazing Spider-Man, Vol, 1 No. 3, Marvel Comics Group, 1963. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

The Avengers

Box 29-34

Total: 188 Issues
- Box 1: 5; 6; 8-35
  - Total: 30 Issues
- Box 2: 36-47; 49-55; 58-65
  - Total: 27 Issues
- Box 3: 66-100
  - Total: 35 Issues
- Box 4: 101-135
  - Total: 35 Issues
- Box 5: 136-153; 155-169
  - Total: 33 Issues
- Box 6: 171; 173-177; 180-183; 186; 191; 195; 212; 215-218; 221; 226; 228; 238; 239; 244-248
  - Total: 28 Issues

Lee, Stan. The Invasion of the Lava Men! The Avengers, Vol, 1 No. 5, Marvel Comics Group, 1964. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Captain America

Box 47-50

Total: 116 Issues
- Box 1: 101-116; 118-135
  - Total: 35 Issues
- Box 2: 136-144; 146-170
  - Total: 34 Issues
- Box 3: 171-173; 175-178; 180-202; 204; 205
  - Total: 32 Issues
- Box 4: 208-213; 215; 216; 220-222; 226; 227; 255; 262
  - Total: 15 Issues

Lee, Stan. When Wakes the Sleeper! Captain America, Vol, 1 No. 101, Marvel Comics Group, 1968. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Daredevil

Box 65-69

Total: 188 Issues
- Box 1: 1; 3-6; 8-35
  - Total: 33 Issues
- Box 2: 36-70
  - Total: 35 Issues
- Box 3: 71-105
  - Total: 35 Issues
- Box 4: 106-140
  - Total: 35 Issues
- Box 5: 141-148; 150; 151; 154; 156; 158; 160; 174; 210
  - Total: 16 Issues

Lee, Stan. The Origin of Daredevil, Daredevil, Vol, 1 No. 1, Marvel Comics Group, 1964. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

The Defenders

Box 74-76

Total: 65 Issues
- Box 1: 1-30
  - Total: 30 Issues
- Box 2: 31-41; 44-50; 52-56; 61; 64; 67-69
  - Total: 28 Issues
- Box 3: 71; 74; 79; 82; 87; 89; 101; 127; 133-135
  - Total: 11 Issues
  - Issues 125-135: The New Defenders

Englehart, Steve. I Slay by the Stars, The Defenders, Vol, 1 No. 1, Marvel Comics Group, 1972. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Fantastic Four

Box 91-97

Total: 198 Issues
- Box 1: 1-4; 7; 14-19; 21-24; 28; 30-39
  - Total: 27 Issues
- Box 2: 40-44; 47; 51; 53-65
  - Total: 20 Issues
- Box 3: 68-95
  - Total: 28 Issues
- Box 4: 96-125
  - Total: 30 Issues
- Box 5: 126-154
  - Total: 30 Issues
- Box 6: 155-179; 182-190
  - Total: 33 Issues
- Box 7: 191-193; 195-197; 199-201; 203-205; 207; 209-211; 214; 225; 226; 230; 238; 240; 241; 249; 250; 256; 264; 268-270
  - Total: 30 Issues

Lee, Stan. The Fantastic Four! Fantastic Four, Vol, 1 No. 1, Marvel Comics Group, 1961. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Iron Man

Box 125-127

Total: 108 Issues
- Box 1: 1; 2; 4-37; 40
  - Total: 37 Issues
- Box 2: 41-44; 46-54; 56-64; 66; 67; 69-80
  - Total: 36 Issues
- Box 3: 181-87; 89-91; 93; 96; 99; 100; 103-105; 108; 109; 112; 115; 116; 119; 136; 141; 142; 151; 157; 161; 174-176; 180; 185; 209
  - Total: 25 Issues

Goodwin, Archie. Alone Against A.I.M.! Iron Man, Vol, 1 No. 1, Marvel Comics Group, 1968. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Hero For Hire and Power Man

Hero for Hire

Box 144
- Total: 13 Issues
  - Box 1: 2-4; 6-9; 11-16

Power Man

Box 144
- Total: 18 Issues
  - Box 1: 17; 18; 20; 22-24; 26-31; 33-37; 46

Power Man and Ironfist

Box 144
- Total: 3 Issues
  - Box 1: 52; 109; 110

Goodwin, Archie. Vengeance is Mine! Hero for Hire, Vol, 1 No. 1, Marvel Comics Group, 1972. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

The X-Men

Box 277-280

Total: 112 Issues
- Box 1: 6; 8; 13-34; 36-40
  - Total: 29 Issues
- Box 2: 41-48; 50-57; 59; 61-63; 65-70
  - Total: 26 Issues
- Box 3: 71-93; 95-99; 101; 104-110
  - Total: 36 Issues
- Box 4: 114; 115; 119-124; 126; 130; 138; 139; 141; 143; 144; 150; 170; 179; 183; 184; 186
  - Total: 21 Issues
  - Issues 143-186: The Uncanny X-Men

Lee, Stan. Sub-Mariner! Joins the Evil Mutants, X-Men, Vol, 1 No. 6, Marvel Comics Group, 1964. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Fan Favorites

Swamp Thing

Swamp Thing

Box 243
- Total: 20 Issues
  - Box 1: 2-12; 14; 16; 18-24

The Original Swamp Thing Saga

Box 243
- Total: 3 Issues
- Box 1: 1; 14; 20

The Saga of Swamp Thing

Box 243
- Total: 1 Issue
- Box 1: 10

Wein, Len. The Man Who Wanted Forever, Swamp Thing, Vol, 1 No. 2, DC, 1973. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Howard the Duck

Box 118

Total: 22 Issues
- Box 1: 2-21; 26; 27

Gerber, Steve. Cry Turnip! Howard the Duck, Vol, 1 No. 2, Marvel Comics Group, 1976. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Vampirella

Box 263-266

Total: 63 Issues
- Box 1: 1-10; 12-20
  - Total: 19 Issues
- Box 2: 21-39
  - Total: 19 Issues
- Box 3: 42-46; 48-60
  - Total: 18 Issues
- Box 4: 61-66; 68
  - Total: 7 Issues

Ackerman, Forest J. Vampirella of Draculon, Vampirella, Vol, 1 No. 1, Warren Publishing Co., 1969. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Marvel Classic Comics

Box 152-153

Total: 31 Issues
- Box 1: 1-15
  - Total: 15 Issues
- Box 2: 16-23; 25-28; 30; 31; 33; 34
  - Total: 16 Issues

Platt, Kin. Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Marvel Classic Comics, Vol, 1 No. 1, Marvel Comics Group, 1976. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Marvel Presents

Staring Bloodstone and the Guardians of the Galaxy

Box 158

Total: 10 Issues
- Box 1: 1-8; 10; 11

Gerber, Steve. Just Another Planet Story! Marvel Presents, Vol, 1 No. 3, Marvel Comics Group, 1976. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Marvel Feature (1975)

Staring Red Sonja

Box 158

Total: 7 Issues
- Box 1: 1-7

Thomas, Roy. Temple of Abomination, Marvel Feature, Vol, 2 No. 3, Marvel Comics Group, 1975. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.

Captain Carrot and His Amazing Zoo Crew

Box 183

Total: 9 Issues
- Box 1: 1-3; 5; 6; 9; 13; 16; 20

Thomas, Roy. The Pluto Syndrome! Captain Carrot and His Amazing Zoo Crew, Vol, 1 No. 1, Marvel Comics Group, 1975. Retrieved from: Grand Comics Database.