Land Acknowledgement Statement
As a land, sea, and space-grant institution, Louisiana State University and A&M College (LSU) has a responsibility to acknowledge, honor, and affirm Indigenous culture, history, and experiences. LSU is a community of higher learning built upon the traditional, ancestral, and contemporary lands of Indigenous peoples. LSU recognizes the communities native to this region including the Caddo Adai Indians of Louisiana, Biloxi Chitimacha Confederation, Chitimacha Tribe of Louisiana, Choctaw Nation, Coushatta Tribe, Four Winds Cherokee Tribe, Muscogee (Creek), Point au Chien Tribe, Tunica Biloxi Tribe, United Houma Nation, and others whose memories may have been erased by violence, displacement, migration, and settlement. As a University, we thank them for their strength and resilience as stewards of this land and are committed to creating and maintaining a living and learning environment that embraces individual difference, including the Indigenous peoples of our region.
Librarian
The William Morton Bowlus Comic Colleciton
The William Morton Bowlus Collection includes more than 7,000 comic books, many from the Silver Age of comic books (late 1950s and 1960s), and related materials. Bowlus, an LSU alum, began collecting comic books in grade school and continued until his death in his late 20’s. The collection was donated to the LSU Libraries by his mother, Mrs. Martha Bowlus, to honor his memory and preserve a collection he loved. The Bowlus Collection offers a wealth of graphic art and storytelling from a formative period in American cultural history.
How to Search the Collection
To search the comic collection, use the LSU Libraries' Catalog. Narrow your search by library, choosing "Special Collections," on the drop-down menu, and by location, choosing "William Morton Bowlus Collection of Comic Books" on the drop down menu. You can search the catalog using keywords, titles, or subject headings.
For example, to find Swamp Thing in this collection
- Go to the LSU Libraries' Catalog
- Narrow your search by
- Library: Special Collections
- Collections: William Morris Bowlus Collection of Comic Books
- Enter "Swamp Thing" in the "Find These Words" box
- Click "Search."
For more information on searching the catalogue, visit the Tips for Finding Books page, use the "Introduction to Special Collections" LibGuide, or use the "Virtual Help Desk," on the bottom right of the Special Collection home page.
Additional Resources
- The William Morton Bowlus Comic Book Collection Inventory is a list of every comic book within the collection, as well as bibliographic information about each specific comic book, including the date it was published, the editor(s), authors(s) and artist(s).
- The Russell A. Mann Sherlock Holmes Collection is a collection of media centered around Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's famous fictional character Sherlock Holmes, containing several comics about Doyle's infamous detective.
- The Clarence John Laughlin Collection contains comics and magazines such as Fangoria, Stardock, and Weird Fantasy.