Research Guides: Zombies! --- HNRS 2020 &amp; CMST 3013 (Bennett): ** Scholarly Databases & Journals (Suggested)

Search Strategies

When searching in the databases listed below or the specific journals at the left of the screen, you may want to consider using a combination of search terms that relate to your topic. Here are some examples of ways you could search:

zombies and [term/idea]
- zombies and alienation
zombies or zombie and [term/idea] (*Note: Using "or" between the two terms (zombies and zombie) will increase your results)
- Example: "zombies or zombie and popular culture"
zombie films and [term/idea]
- zombie films and capitalism
[director] and [term/idea]
- Example: George A. Romero and working class
- You can also just search by the director's name to get a sense of what is being written by scholars and experts.
[name of movie] and [term/idea]
- Example: "Night of the Living Dead" and masculinity
- You can also just search by the name of the movie to get a sense of how it is being discussed by scholars and experts.

Remember to look at the subject terms associated with the articles that are showing up in your results lists --- these terms can be used in your search as well!

Discovery Search - Broad/General Results

Discovery
Discovery is LSU Libraries' Google-like search box for information sources: it will search for print books housed in LSU Library and Hill Memorial Library, scholarly journal articles in databases such as Academic Search Complete and JSTOR, and newspaper and magazine articles in the NexisUni and Access World News, all in one search.

Suggested Databases for More Focused Results

These are suggested databases that you can use to search for scholarly and/or peer-reviewed articles. Databases are large collections of journals and so you'll get results from many different journals. You will need to narrow your results on the left of the screen - these are called "limiters."

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history. The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program consists of four archives: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an array of publications, this database is a robust resource for art students and art historians. Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
• More than 360 full-text periodicals (40 more full-text than Art Full Text)
• 220 full-text books (which are not in Art Full Text)
• Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 790 academic journals, magazines and trade publications and more than 220 books
• A collection of over 63,000 images
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences Collections I-XV, Ireland Archive Collection, Life Sciences Collection, University of California Press Collection, University of Chicago Press Collection, Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, and the Sustainability Collection.
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs/books.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale’s Women’s Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women’s History, Gender Studies and Social History. Access to 2 sections: Issues and Identities & Voice and Vision

WorldCat: Searching Other Libraries

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
You can use WorldCat to search for any number of things, including books and book chapters. Remember, you can click on the "Request Item through Interlibrary Loan" button to request the item from another library if the LSU Libraries does not have access to it.

Zombies! --- HNRS 2020 & CMST 3013 (Bennett)

Suggested List of Scholarly Journals

Search Strategies

Discovery Search - Broad/General Results

Suggested Databases for More Focused Results

WorldCat: Searching Other Libraries

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement

Zombies! --- HNRS 2020 & CMST 3013 (Bennett)

Search Strategies

Discovery Search - Broad/General Results

Suggested Databases for More Focused Results

WorldCat: Searching Other Libraries

Provide Website Feedback Accessibility Statement

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement