Skip to main content

TAM 2042 Fashion: Trends, Analysis and Assortments: Home

Course guide for TAM 2042.

Agriculture Support Librarian

Randa Lopez Morgan's picture
Randa Lopez Morgan
Contact:
141-3 Middleton Library
578-4266
Website

Welcome

Welcome to the TAM 2042 Research Guide! This guide will help you find sources and contains tips and tricks for you to do successful research. This is a starting place and hopefully, you will find everything you need in this guide. However, if this guide isn’t helping you, feel free to venture into other library databases.

The “Home” tab explains what the guide is and why we should use the library resources.

The "Resources" tab contains several resources a research might find useful when doing research for a paper. 

  • "Background" has databases that contain background information. These might contain encyclopedias, dictionaries, geographic, and census information. 
  • "Fashion Resources" are databases and journals that contain fashion elements in them. 
  • "Industry Information and Research Databases" contain market reporters, peer-reviewed journals, and other databases. 
  • "Statistics" have databases that are statistics based. 
  • "Online Resources" are resources that are NOT peer-reviewed but still might be useful when trying to find information and inspiration. 

This tab also contains review information about how to identify peer-reviewed journal articles. 

The "Additional Help" tab has citation information as well as a place to go to make an appointment with your librarian. 

Don’t worry, stressing over your research is a completely normal part of the process. Finding sources and even citations can be overwhelming but it doesn’t have to be. If you give yourself enough time to properly research and don’t wait until the last minute, you will be okay! 

Why Use the Library?

Information Online:

Is not always evaluated for accuracy. Anyone can make a website and as long as it looks good and has minimal mistakes, many people will believe it.  

Information online may be incorrect, misleading, or biased. Everything has a bias, however, with academic sources, there's a level of transparency that many online sources just do not have. 

Accessing scholarly content may require payment. At the libraries, everything we have, you can get access to for free. You have already paid for the databases and journals with your student fees. Please don't pay for something that we can get to you! 

Library Books and Databases:

Our books and databases have been evaluated for quality and accuracy. We don't just buy the most popular book or database. We review them and make sure they meet our standards. 

The libraries have information you cannot find or access via Google or Google Scholar. We have over 350 databases and subscriptions to millions of journals.

Unlike Google and Google Scholar, we give you tools to narrow or expand your search. We allow you to filter our your results based on filters like date, full-text, and peer-reviewed. 

Google can't do that. 

Having Trouble Getting Access?

In order to access the LSU Libraries' resources, please make sure that you are logged into your myLSU. Failure to do so may result in you being unable to access our information. 

Steps for Logging into the Libraries' website using your myLSU

1. Log into your myLSU

2. Scroll down and look on the left-hand side for the words, "Library Resources"

3. Select, "LSU Libraries Home Page"

Once you have clicked that link, you should be logged into all of the libraries resources. 

For difficulties using any of our resources, please contact the Research Help Desk

Interlibrary Loan Services

Can't find it in LSU Libraries? Is the book currently checked out?  We can help you borrow books, articles, CDs, DVDs and more from other libraries. We can also provide scans of printed articles, book chapters, and microforms held by Middleton Library to eligible patrons.  Faculty members even have the option of having ILL materials delivered to their departmental mailboxes or having them held at the Access Services desk.

Interlibrary Borrowing
Request materials not owned by LSU Libraries from other library institutions through your ILLiad account.  Note:  Whole e-books cannot be loaned through ILL, but chapters can be requested.

Who's Eligible?
Current LSU Faculty, Staff, Graduate
Students, and Undergraduate Students


Contact Info
225-578-2138 or 
libilb@lsu.edu


Estimated Delivery Time
Loans: 3 days-2 weeks 
Articles/Book Chapters: 24 hours-2 weeks

Electronic Delivery
Request PDF scans of articles/book chapters/microforms owned only in print at Middleton Library through your ILLiad account.

Who's Eligible
Current LSU Faculty & Staff, Undergraduate, Graduate, LSU Online and Distance Education students

Contact Info
225-578-2138 or libilb@lsu.edu

Estimated Delivery Times
24 Hours

 
Loading ...
Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement