Skip to main content

TAM 2042 Fashion: Trends, Analysis and Assortments: Additional Help

Course guide for TAM 2042.

Ask a Librarian!

If you need more citation help, schedule an appointment with a librarian! 

Feeling Lost?

Been a while since you have researched? We have some awesome tutorials to help clear away the cobwebs. 

Avoiding Plagiarism

"What is Plagiarism?

Nearly everyone understands that copying passages verbatim from another writer's work and representing them as one's own work constitutes plagiarism. Yet plagiarism involves much more. At LSU, plagiarism is defined to include any use of another's work and submitting that work as one's own. This means not only copying passages of writing or direct quotations but also paraphrasing or using structure or ideas without citation. Learning how to paraphrase and when and how to cite is an essential step in maintaining academic integrity." From LSU Student Advocacy & Accountability

Here are some links to help you avoid plagiarism when working on your papers:

Is writing not your strongest suit? That's okay! If you need writing assistance, we HIGHLY recommend the CXC writing center. They can help you. 

How to Cite an Image

Image citations can change depending on various factors:

•Citations for original works of art are different than citations of an image from secondary sources like a book or a website.  

• All of the needed information for a citation may not be available (i.e. the date or title of the photograph). Provided as much information as possible and be consistent.

• Instructors may have specific requirements for each class. Always check with your instructors early in the assignment to confirm their expectations for your final work.

An Original Work of Visual Art 

To cite an original work of visual art (a lithograph, painting, photograph, sculpture, etc.) in an institution such as a museum or in a private collection, follow this format:

Artist’s Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork. Year, medium, Name of Institution or Private Collection Housing Artwork, City Where Institution or Private Collection is located.

Examples:

Evans, Walker. Penny Picture Display. 1936, photograph. Museum of Mod. Art, New York.

Rembrandt Harmensz van Rijn. Aristotle with a Bust of Homer. 1653, oil on canvas. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.

 

An Image/Reproduction of a Work of Visual Art from a Print Source 

To cite an image/reproduction of a work of visual art from a print source, follow this format:

Artist’s Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork. Date Artwork Created, Name of Institution or Private Collection Housing Artwork, City Where it is Housed. Title of Print Source by Author or Editor’s Name. Publisher, page or plate number. 

Examples:

Kahlo, Frida. The Two Fridas. 1939, Museo de Art Moderno, Mexico City. Gardner’s Art Through the Ages: The Western Perspective, 12th ed., edited by Fred S. Kleiner, Christin J. Mamiya, Thomson Wadsworth, p. 774.

Moholy-Nagy, Lászlò. Photogram. N.d., Museum of Modern Art, New York. The Contest of Meaning: Critical Histories of Photography, edited by Richard Bolton, MIT Press, p. 94.

An Image/Reproduction of a Work of Visual Art from the Web

To cite an image/reproduction of a work of visual art from the Web, follow this format: 

Artist’s Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork. Date artwork created, Name of Institution or Private Collection Housing Artwork, City Where it is Housed. Title of Database or Website, Publisher or sponsor of Database or Website, URL or DOI. Date of access (optional).

Note about publisher/sponsor: When known, include if it is not related to the housing institution/collection; is a parent entity of the database or website; or offers the source in additional formats.

Examples:

Braun, Adolphe. Flower Study, Rose of Sharon. c. 1854. Metropolitan Museum of Art. Grove Art Online. 0- www.oxfordartonline.com.llibrary.academyart.edu/su bscriber/article/img/grove/art/F019413. Accessed 10 Jan. 2017.

Lange, Dorothea. The Migrant Mother. 1936, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. Library of Congress, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/resource/fsa.8b2951 6/. Accessed 10 May 2014.

 

 

Taken from the Academy of Art University Library How-To Guide: Image Citation 

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement