Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Veterinary - School of Veterinary Medicine Records and Related Special Collections: Noteworthy materials related to SVM

Noteworthy materials related to SVM Class in Veterinary Science. Louisiana State University Photograph Collection, A5000, Louisiana State University Archives, LSU Libraries, Baton Rouge, La.

 

Materials that have a connection to the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine but do not fit within the SVM Records, oral histories, or SVM Publications are listed below.

 

 

                                                                                                     

Louisiana State University Photograph Collection, A5000, Louisiana State University Archives, LSU Libraries, Baton Rouge, La.

 

Title Description

Call # / Manuscript #

Location Links
Besch (Dean Everett) Papers Papers, reports, studies, correspondence pertaining to SVM planning, committee work, curriculum, accreditation, and other materials pertaining to Dean Besch's administration. Inclusive dates: 1968-1996, Bulk dates: 1979-1990. Materials are unprocessed. n/a Special Collections

Request Item

Dalrymple (William Haddock) Papers William Haddock Dalrymple was professor of veterinary science at Louisiana State University and a veterinarian in Baton Rouge, La. Papers contain original notes defining medical terms, organs, and symptoms and causes of diseases; and notes on anatomy, osteology, arthrology, myology, structure of bone, etc. Included is a bound volume, Livestock Sanitation by W. H. Dalrymple, M.R.C.V.S. (Baton Rouge, La. : Gladney Press, 1923) is a biographical sketch of Dr. Dalrymple. U:47 Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections

View Record

 

Send message to Special Collections

Dalrymple (William Haddock), assorted works William Haddock Dalrymple was professor of veterinary science at Louisiana State University and a veterinarian in Baton Rouge, La. These works, dating roughly from 1890 to 1923, were authored by Dalrymple and pertain to his studies and contributions in the field of veterinary medicine at LSU. Multiple Call #s

Special Collections

and

LSU Library

View Catalog Search
DeGuisti (Dominic L) Parasitology Reprints A collection of reprints representing a broad range of topics that trace the historical development of parasitology research from 1865 to 1972. The reprints were collected by Dr. Dominic DeGiusti, Professor Emeritus of Parasitology at Wayne State University and are bound alphabetically by author in 276 volumes. Materials are unprocessed. n/a Special Collections

Request Item

Historical Chronology of the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine for the Period August 1, 1968 to August 31, 1988 This manuscript was authored by Dr. Everett D. Besch, dean of the Louisiana State University School of Veterinary Medicine from 1968 until 1988. It consists of a manuscript on the history of veterinary education at Louisiana State University and the establishment of the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine. Also includes some early general history of the university.

UU:77

(Originally accessioned as Mss. 4462)

Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections

View Record

 

Request Item

Lingard (Donald) Collection Materials pertaining to research and career of Dr. Donald Lingard. Dates: 1980s through 1990s. Materials are unprocessed. n/a Special Collections

Request Item

LSU Board of Supervisors Records Records of the Board of Supervisors and its committees pertaining to the governance of Louisiana State University and the Louisiana State University System between 1854 and 2012. Contains materials pertaining to the establishment of the LSU SVM, including reports, planning documents, meeting minutes and more. #A0003 University Archives

View Record

 

Inventory

LSU Photograph Collection The photographs in this collection are chiefly from the 1886-1925 period and document life on the downtown campus. Also included are images of the present campus from 1922 to 1997. Photographs specifically relating to SVM or veterinary medicine include William Dalrymple, students studying veterinary science, veterinary laboratories, classrooms, and so on. Most of the photos concerning veterinary-related subjects are from the 1890s to the 1920s. #A5000 University Archives

View Record

 

Inventory

 

View Digital Images

Shaw (Mary Elizabeth Miller) Cat Books and postcards pertaining to cats collected by Mary Elizabeth Miller Shaw. (The postcards have been added to the Thomas and Elizabeth Shaw Papers) Multiple Call #s Special Collections

Inventory

 

Request Item

SVM Rare Books Consists of hundreds of veterinary textbooks, manuals, and publications, including histories of the veterinary medical profession and works of fiction that have featured animals in some way. Dates: 1782 to about 2010. Multiple Call #s

SVM Library

and

Special Collections

Inventory

 

Request Item

Veterinary Medicine in Louisiana, 1889 to 1979 This book traces the history of veterinary medicine in the state of Louisiana and includes a rich section of biographical sketches and reminiscences. The author, Dr. W.S. (Will Sidney) Hornsby, was a veterinarian in Lafayette who held various positions in organizations associated with veterinary medicine (State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners and Louisiana Veterinary Medical Association to name a few) during the early to mid 20th century.

SF 624.L6 V47 1993 (SVM Library)

SF624 .L6 V48 1993 (LSU Library)

SVM Library

and

LSU Library

Place Hold (SVM Library)

 

Place Hold (LSU Library)

 

Requesting materials in Special Collections

Please note:

1) It is always best to request materials prior to your visit as some materials may be stored offsite

2) Requested materials will be paged once you are on-site at Hill Memorial Library

3) You will need to present government-issued photo identification to view materials

4) Access to unprocessed materials is at the discretion of archives staff

For additional information about what to expect during your visit, please see 

lib.lsu.edu/special/about/policies.html

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement