Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Veterinary - School of Veterinary Medicine Records and Related Special Collections: Home

Outreach Librarian

Profile Photo
Brian Collins
Contact:
School of Veterinary Medicine
Louisiana State University
Skip Bertman Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
(225) 578-9794

Contact

Do you have suggestions for improving this guide? Email me!

Suggestion box drawing

SVM Records and special collections

LSU School of Veterinary Medicine, 1979

The LSU School of Veterinary Medicine Records and related special collections consist of hundreds of linear feet of historic and current materials in various formats. The majority of these materials were physically transferred to LSU Libraries Special Collections compact shelving in 2017 as the Veterinary Medicine Library underwent a major renovation and no longer had the space to hold the collection.

Descriptions and location of materials can be found by using the corresponding tabs located at the top of this guide. Categories of materials include rare veterinary medicine books, materials on the establishment, construction, and operations of the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine, miscellaneous materials of Dean Everett Besch's administration, a collection of parasitology reprints collected and organized by Dr. Dominic DeGiusti, miscellaneous materials of Dr. Donald Lingard’s research and career, a collection of cat books and postcards collected by Mary Elizabeth Miller Shaw, School of Veterinary Medicine publications, oral history recordings, and other noteworthy materials related to the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine.

To access books or materials, please place a request via the Special Collections Request System link located in this guide, or contact Special Collections at (225) 578-6568. Materials in the archive collections may not be checked out, but can be viewed in the Special Collections reading room. Information on hours to view materials, reading room policies, and duplication services is found below.

 

LSU Special Collections Information:

Department hours to view materials

Reading room policies

Duplication fees and copyright information

 

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement