Mass Communication Librarian
Research Tools
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window1. Select "Law Reviews" on the Guided Search located in the middle of the home page to only search for law review articles.
2. Enter your search term, phrase, or case. (You may want to use quotes around your phrase or case for better search results.)
3. Use the drop down menu under "Date Range" to search for the past three months, year, two years, five years or a select date range. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window1. Search the main search box at the top of the home page. Try using quotes around your search term or case name to retrieve more relevant results.
2. Refine your search results by entering the date range you'd like to limit your search by.
3. Limit by "Collection/Library" and select "Law Journal Library"
4. Then select "Articles" under "Section Type".
.***Only currently supported by Chrome or Firefox browsers. - Legal Source This link opens in a new windowContaining full text for hundreds of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals, Legal Source is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexisUni is useful for researching federal or state cases, law reviews, statutes and regulations, and accessing Shepard's Citations.
The default search results are for news, so you'll need to select the specific type of legal source you need directly from the results page. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is Heins premier online product with more than 138 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in legal history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,300 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
Presently, the database supports Chrome and Firefox only.
To look for case law on Google Scholar:
-
At the homepage, enter an initial keyword search (or case name or citation) and narrow your search to "Case law."
-
You can further narrow your search by jurisdiction or court on the initial search screen by clicking "Select Courts"..
-
After results have appeared, there are filters on the left to narrow your search by date and jurisdiction or court. The default is to display results by relevance, but you may also choose to sort results by date, displaying the most recent cases at the top of the page.
-
When reading a case, case citations are hyperlinked, but not other sources like statutes and regulations.
-
Below each case on the results page, you will see additional links such as:
-
Cited by: other cases that have cited the case you are currently researching. This feature gives some indication of the depth of discussion; one can also search within these results.
-
How cited: language snippets from citing cases.
-
Related articles : additional information relating to that case.
-
" : case citation; Bluebook form with links to different citation management systems.
-
Remember that after finding a case on point, you may want to use a citator to check whether the case you found is still good law.
The NexisUni database provides free access to Shepard's Citations.
- DiscoveryDiscovery is the default search for LSU libraries. It searches about 80% of the journal articles and all of the eBooks and print books owned by the library. This is the best place to start your research.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is Heins premier online product with more than 138 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in legal history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,300 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
Presently, the database supports Chrome and Firefox only.