Computer Science
Computer Science Librarian
Cambria Huff
She/her
Contact:
Office: 225-578-6380
Subjects: Biological & Agricultural Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Construction Management, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Standards, Geology & Geophysics, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Petroleum Engineering
Reference Sources
Specialized encyclopedias provide a wealth of information, such as basic, background information on a topic, bibliographies of articles, books, and other materials on a topic, and images, sounds, and graphics to add interest to your presentations and posters.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science by Publication Date: 2003The Encyclopedia of Computer Science is the definitive reference in computer science and technology. First published in 1976, it is still the only single volume to cover every major aspect of the field. Now in its Fourth Edition, this influential work provides an historical timeline highlighting the key breakthroughs in computer science and technology, as well as clear and concise explanations of the latest technology and its practical applications. Its unique blend of historical perspective, current knowledge and predicted future trends has earned it its richly deserved reputation as an unrivalled reference classic. What sets the Encyclopedia apart from other reference sources is the comprehensiveness of each of its entries. Encompassing far more than mere definitions, each article elaborates on a topic giving a remarkable breadth and depth of coverage. The visual impact of the volume is enhanced with a 16 page colour insert spotlighting advanced computer applications and computer-generated graphics technology. In addition, the text is enlivened with figures, tables, diagrams, illustrations and photographs. With contributions from over 300 international experts, the 4th Edition contains over 100 completely new articles ranging from artificial life to computer ethics, data mining to Java, mobile computing to quantum computing and software safety to the World Wide Web. In addition, each of the more than 600 articles have been extensively revised, expanded and updated to reflect the latest developments in computer science and technology. Intelligently and thoughtfully organised, all the articles are classified around 9 main themes Hardware Software Computer Systems Information and Data Mathematics of Computing Theory of Computation Methodologies Applications Computing Milieux Within each of these major headings are a wealth of articles that provide the reader with concise yet thorough coverage of the topic. In addition, cross-references are included at the beginning of each article, directing the reader immediately to related material. In addition the Encyclopedia contains useful appendices including: An expanded glossary of major terms in English, German, Spanish and Russian A revised list of abbreviations and acronyms An updated list of computer science and engineering research journals A list of articles from previous editions not included in the 4th edition A Name Index listing almost 3500 individuals cited in the text A comprehensive General Index with 7000 entries A chronology of significant milestones Computer Society & Academic Computer Science Department Listings Numerical Tables, Mathematical Notation and Units of Measure Highly-regarded as an essential resource for computer professionals, engineers, mathematicians, students and scientists, the Encyclopedia of Computer Science is a must-have reference for every college, university, business and high-school library.
Encyclopedia of Cryptography and Security by Publication Date: 2011With over 300 new entries, appearing in an A-Z format, this title provides access to information on various aspects of cryptography and security. Written for researchers and professionals alike, it includes key concepts such as: Authentication and identification; Block ciphers and stream ciphers; and, Computational issues.
Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications by Publication Date: 2006There are a myriad of new directions in which databases are growing, presenting new and exciting challenges that promise flux in the whole society, because of the impact and changes the database systems have provoked almost everywhere in modern life. This ranges from the way the organizations operate and make their business decisions, to the use of portable devices with database involvements.The Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications is a wide-ranging collection of diverse coverage of topics related to database concepts, technologies, and applications. This encyclopedia provides an overview of the state-of-the-art of classical subjects and has contributions from over 175 international researchers from 33 countries, more than 970 terms and definitions and over 2,400 references. It also delivers clear and concise explanations of emerging issues and technologies such as multimedia database systems, data warehousing and mining, geospatial and temporal databases, and data reverse engineering. The Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications is a priceless single reference source for any library on the topic of database technologies and applications.This important new publication offers researchers, scholars, students and professionals access to the latest knowledge related to database science and technology.
Handbooks provide standard information, including tables of data, citations to literature, and brief synopses of topics.
Handbook of Face Recognition by Publication Date: 2011This highly anticipated new edition provides a comprehensive account of face recognition research and technology, spanning the full range of topics needed for designing operational face recognition systems. After a thorough introductory chapter, each of the following chapters focus on a specific topic, reviewing background information, up-to-date techniques, and recent results, as well as offering challenges and future directions. Features: fully updated, revised and expanded, covering the entire spectrum of concepts, methods, and algorithms for automated face detection and recognition systems; provides comprehensive coverage of face detection, tracking, alignment, feature extraction, and recognition technologies, and issues in evaluation, systems, security, and applications; contains numerous step-by-step algorithms; describes a broad range of applications; presents contributions from an international selection of experts; integrates numerous supporting graphs, tables, charts, and performance data.
Tech Job Hunt Handbook by Publication Date: 2012Readers of the Tech Job Hunt Handbook will find tools, practical guidance, and recommendations on how to find the best new tech jobs, how to get noticed, how to ace interviews and get hired, and how to keep those new jobs—until it’s time for a better one. As you will learn, learning how to assess and then invest in career management skills leads to long-term competitive advantage and a happier working life.
The Handbook of Information and Computer Ethics by Publication Date: 2008This handbook provides an accessible overview of the most important issues in information and computer ethics. It covers: foundational issues and methodological frameworks; theoretical issues affecting property, privacy, anonymity, and security; professional issues and the information-related professions; responsibility issues and risk assessment; regulatory issues and challenges; access and equity issues. Each chapter explains and evaluates the central positions and arguments on the respective issues, and ends with a bibliography that identifies the most important supplements available on the topic.
The InfoSec Handbook by Publication Date: 2014The InfoSec Handbook offers the reader an organized layout of information that is easily read and understood. Allowing beginners to enter the field and understand the key concepts and ideas, while still keeping the experienced readers updated on topics and concepts. It is intended mainly for beginners to the field of information security, written in a way that makes it easy for them to understand the detailed content of the book. The book offers a practical and simple view of the security practices while still offering somewhat technical and detailed information relating to security. It helps the reader build a strong foundation of information, allowing them to move forward from the book with a larger knowledge base. Security is a constantly growing concern that everyone must deal with. Whether it's an average computer user or a highly skilled computer user, they are always confronted with different security risks. These risks range in danger and should always be dealt with accordingly. Unfortunately, not everyone is aware of the dangers or how to prevent them and this is where most of the issues arise in information technology (IT). When computer users do not take security into account many issues can arise from that like system compromises or loss of data and information. This is an obvious issue that is present with all computer users. This book is intended to educate the average and experienced user of what kinds of different security practices and standards exist. It will also cover how to manage security software and updates in order to be as protected as possible from all of the threats that they face. What you'll learn Essentials of information security in all forms Importance of information security in present day business Establishing an ISMS through a step by step process Best practices in implementation The various domains of information security Who this book is for Beginners to experts in information security. Table of Contents 1: Introduction to Security 2: History of Computer Security 3: Key Concepts and Principles 4: Access Controls 5: Information Systems Management 6:Application and Web Security 7: Malicious Software and Anti-Virus Software 8: Cryptography 9: Understanding Networks 10: Firewalls 11: Intrusion Detection and Prevention Systems 12: Virtual Private Networks 13: Data Backups & Cloud Computing 14: Physical Security and Biometrics 15: Social Engineering 16. Current Trends in Information Security 17. Bibliography
