Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Veterinary - Clinical databases and resources: Free Veterinary Resources

Veterinary Information Network

What is Veterinary Information Network (VIN)?

Veterinary  Information Network (VIN) offers up-to-date veterinary news, clinical calculators, a 3-D anatomy tool, videos, journals, conference proceedings, and more.

 

What species are included in VIN?

Dogs, Cats, Horses, Pigs, Birds, Reptiles, Cows, Sheep, Goats, Rabbits, Ferrets, and other small mammals.

 

Registration information

Registration is required to access content; registration is free for veterinary students, interns, residents, and faculty of veterinary schools.

Large Animal Health Topics-American College of Veterinary Surgeons

What is American College of Veterinary Surgeons-Large Animal Health Topics?

American College of Veterinary Surgeons-Large Animal Health Topics offers overviews of health issues that often require surgical intervention in large animals.

 

What species are covered?

Horses, Cows, Goats, and other small ruminants

 

Registration information

No registration required.

BestBETS for Vets

What is BestBETS for Vets?

BestBETS for Vets from the Center for Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine at the University of Nottingham offers the current best evidence to answer specific clinical questions. Each answer includes six sections: Clinical Scenario, a 3-part question (uses the PICO framework), a literature search (searches are conducted in CAB Abstracts and Medline), a summary of the evidence, a comment section, and a clinical bottom line (the answer that research suggests is best).

 

Which species are included?

Cats, Dogs, Cows, Sheep, Horses, Poultry, and Rabbits

 

Registration information

No registration required.

Consultant

What is Consultant?

Consultant is a diagnostic support database developed by Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine. The database can be used to suggest possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs. The database provides a brief synopsis of a diagnosis including: a general description, species affected, the signs associated with it, and a list of recent literature references.

 

What species are included?

Birds, Dogs, Cats, Cows, Horses, Goats, Sheep, and Pigs

 

Registration information

No registration required.

Small Animal Health Topics-American College of Veterinary Surgeons

What is American College of Veterinary Surgeons-Small Animal Health Topics?

American College of Veterinary Surgeons-Small Animal Health Topics offers overviews of health issues that often require surgical intervention in small animals.

 

What species are included?

Dogs and Cats

 

Registration information

No registration required.

Cornell Feline Health Center Health Information

What is Cornell Feline Health Center- Health Information?

The Cornell Feline Health Center offers a variety of articles, brochures, and videos online for anyone concerned with cat health and behavior. 

 

What species are included?

Cats

 

Registration information

No registration required.

WikiVet

What is WikiVet?

WikiVet is a worldwide collaborative project to develop a comprehensive on-line peer reviewed veterinary knowledge database. You can browse content by discipline, system, species, or type of learning resource. 

 

What species are included?

Dogs, Cats, Rabbits, Cows, Horses, Pigs, Camelids, Sheep, Goats, Donkeys, Birds, Snakes, Lizards, Ferrets, Rodents, and Fish

 

Registration information

Registration is required to access content; registration is free with approval from the site's moderators.  

Merck Veterinary Manual

What is Merck Veterinary Manual?

For more than 60 years, the Merck Veterinary Manual (MVM) has provided veterinarians and other animal health professionals with concise and authoritative information on diseases and management of food-producing, companion, laboratory, and exotic animals.

 

What species are included?

All species

 

Registration information

No registration required.

International Veterinary Information Service

What is International Veterinary Information Service (IVIS)?

International Veterinary Information Service (IVIS) is a not-for-profit organization established to provide information to veterinarians, veterinary students, technicians and animal health professionals worldwide using Internet technology. The IVIS website provides free access to original, up-to-date publications organized in electronic books each edited by highly qualified editors, proceedings of veterinary meetings, journals, short courses, an international calendar of veterinary events and much more, with the help of private and corporate sponsors.

 

What species are included?

All species 

 

Registration information

Registration is required to access content; registration is free.

VetCompanion

What is VetCompanion?

VetCompanion is the ultimate "multi-utility tool" for clinical decision support at the point-of-care for dogs and cats. It offers unbiased treatment and diagnostic recommendations, a complete integrated formulary, and conversion tables on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

 

What species are included?

Dogs and Cats

 

Registration information

Registration is required to access content; registration is free for veterinary students, interns, and residents. To register as a student/intern, complete this sign-up form. Due to Covid-19, faculty can also register for a free account; use the student/intern sign-up form to register for a free faculty account.

AVMA Animal Health Studies Database

What is AVMA Animal Health Studies Database?

AVMA Animal Health Studies Database connects you with veterinary clinical trials reported by researchers. Use the database to find studes related to a wide range of animal healthcare issues, including diabetes, arthritis, and cancers.

 

What species are included?

Dogs, Cats, Horses, Exotics/wildlife, and Agricultural animals

 

Registration information

No registration required.

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement