Handbooks
Handbooks are comprehensive and detailed works on a particular topic for practitioners, structured for quick reference.
Below is a curated list of resources specific to veterinary handbooks. Follow this link for a complete list of catalog holdings for veterinary handbooks: catalog search for veterinary handbook.
**Note: All hyperlinks in this guide open up in another window.**
Electronic Books
Essentials of Veterinary Ophthalmology (3rd Edition)Call Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781118771969Publication Date: 2014
Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents: Clinical Medicine and SurgeryCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780323484350Publication Date: 2020
Handbook of Veterinary NeurologyCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781437706529Publication Date: 2011
Handbook of Veterinary Pain ManagementCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780323062909Publication Date: 2009
Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and SurgeryCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780323482530Publication Date: 2019
Manual of Clinical Microbiology, Eleventh EditionCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781555817381Publication Date: 2015
Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical CareCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781119581154Publication Date: 2023
Brinker, Piermattei and Flo's Handbook of Small Animal Orthopedics and Fracture RepairCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781437723649Publication Date: 2016
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Musculoskeletal ImagingCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781905319787Publication Date: 2016
BSAVA Manual of Reptiles, 3rd EditionCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781905319794Publication Date: 2019
BSAVA Manual of Wildlife CasualtiesCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781905319800Publication Date: 2017
Clinical Guide to Fish MedicineCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781119259886Publication Date: 2021
A Colour Handbook of Skin Diseases of the Dog and CatCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781840761153Publication Date: 2009
Ear Nose and Throat Diseases of the Dog and CatCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780367133177Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Exotic Pet MedicineCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781119389934Publication Date: 2021
Handbook of Small Animal Radiology and UltrasoundCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780702048791Publication Date: 2010
Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat: A Color HandbookCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780429186646Publication Date: 2019
Kirk and Bistner's Handbook of Veterinary Procedures and Emergency TreatmentCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781437707984Publication Date: 2012
Pocket Handbook of Small Animal MedicineCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781840761740Publication Date: 2012
Small Animal Anesthesia and Pain ManagementCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781138035683Publication Date: 2019
Small Animal Dental, Oral and Maxillofacial DiseaseCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781840761726Publication Date: 2011
Veterinary Technician's Manual for Small Animal Emergency and Critical CareCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781119179115Publication Date: 2019
Adams and Stashak's Lameness in HorsesCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781119276715Publication Date: 2020
A Handbook for the Sheep ClinicianCall Number: Elecrtronic ResourceISBN: 9781845939748Publication Date: 2012
Handbook of Equine EmergenciesCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780702054174Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Equine Parasite ControlCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781119382805Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of Equine RadiographyCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780702028632Publication Date: 2010
Sheep, Goat, and Cervid MedicineCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780323624633Publication Date: 2021
Veterinary Technician's Large Animal Daily Reference GuideCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781118694886Publication Date: 2014
Online Resources
- Diseases and Resources by Species
The mission of the CFSPH is to increase national and international preparedness for accidental or intentional introduction of diseases that threaten food production or public health. CFSPH is part of the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine.
Print Books
* Older editions available for most texts.
Chinese Veterinary Herbal Handbook 3rd EditionCall Number: SF 745.5.C55 X543 2011ISBN: 9781934786352Publication Date: 2011
Essentials of Veterinary OphthalmologyCall Number: SF 891 G443 2014 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781118771921Publication Date: 2014- Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents: Clinical Medicine and SurgeryCall Number: SF 997.5.F47 F47 2021 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9780323484350Publication Date: 2021
Handbook of Veterinary AnesthesiaCall Number: SF 914 M84 2013 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9780323080699Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Veterinary NeurologyCall Number: SF 895 O44 2011 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781437706512Publication Date: 2011
Handbook of Veterinary NursingCall Number: SF 774.5 O774 2011ISBN: 9781405145534Publication Date: 2011
Handbook of Veterinary Pain ManagementCall Number: SF 910.P34 G396 2009ISBN: 9780323046794Publication Date: 2009- Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and SurgeryCall Number: SF 997.5.R4 R465 2019 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9780323482530Publication Date: 2019
Management and Welfare of Farm AnimalsCall Number: SF 61 U24 2011ISBN: 9781405181747Publication Date: 2011- Manual of Clinical Microbiology, Eleventh EditionCall Number: QR 46 M36 2015 (2 volumes)ISBN: 9781555817381Publication Date: 2015
Poisoning and Toxicology HandbookCall Number: QV 600 P64 2008 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781420044799Publication Date: 2008
The UFAW Handbook on the Care and Management of Laboratory and Other Research AnimalsCall Number: SF 406 U542 2010ISBN: 9781405175234Publication Date: 2010
Veterinary emergency + critical care manualCall Number: SF 778 M384 2017ISBN: 9781896981Publication Date: 2017
Xie's Veterinary AcupunctureCall Number: SF 914.5 X54 2007 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9780813812472Publication Date: 2007
* Older editions available for most texts.
Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical CareCall Number: SF 778 A38 2023 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781119581413Publication Date: 2023- Brinker, Piermattei and Flo's Handbook of Small Animal Orthopedics and Fracture RepairCall Number: SF 991.O77 B75 2016 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781437723649Publication Date: 2016
BSAVA Guide to Pain Management in Small Animal PracticeCall Number: SF 910.P34 B73 2019ISBN: 9781910443002Publication Date: 2019
BSAVA Manual of Backyard Poultry Medicine and SurgeryCall Number: SF 995 B73 2019ISBN: 9781905319435Publication Date: 2019
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Dentistry and Oral SurgeryCall Number: SF 991.D46 M371 2018ISBN: 9781905319602Publication Date: 2018
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Emergency and Critical CareCall Number: SF 778 M368 2018ISBN: 9781905319640Publication Date: 2018
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline GastroenterologyCall Number: SF 992.G38 B75 2020ISBN: 9781905319961Publication Date: 2020
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Head, Neck and Thoracic SurgeryCall Number: SF 991.S87 B73 2018ISBN: 9781905319930Publication Date: 2018
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Musculoskeletal ImagingCall Number: SF 757.8.S63 B752 2006ISBN: 9780905214863Publication Date: 2006
BSAVA Manual of Rabbit MedicineCall Number: SF 997.5.R2 B73 2014ISBN: 9781905319497Publication Date: 2014- BSAVA Manual of Reptiles, 3rd EditionCall Number: SF 997.5.R4 M36 2019ISBN: 9781905319794Publication Date: 2019
- BSAVA Manual of Wildlife CasualtiesCall Number: SF 996.45 B738 2016ISBN: 9781905319800Publication Date: 2016
Ear, Nose and Throat Diseases of the Dog and CatCall Number: SF 992.O74 H37 2017ISBN: 9781482236491Publication Date: 2017
Fish Diseases and MedicineCall Number: SH 171 F57 2019 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781498727877Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Avian MedicineCall Number: SF 994 A957 2009 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9780702028748Publication Date: 2009
Handbook of Exotic Pet MedicineCall Number: SF 997.5.E95 K83 2021ISBN: 9781119389941Publication Date: 2021
Handbook of Small Animal Radiology and UltrasoundCall Number: SF 991.R33 H362 2010 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9780702028946Publication Date: 2010
Infectious Diseases of the Dog and CatCall Number: SF 992.I54 W44 2020 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781498775519Publication Date: 2020- Kirk and Bistner's Handbook of Veterinary Procedures and Emergency TreatmentCall Number: SF 745 K5 2012 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781437707984Publication Date: 2012
Nestle Purina PetCare Handbook of Canine and Feline Clinical NutritionCall Number: SF 427.4 N47 2010ISBN: 9780976476603Publication Date: 2010- Pocket Handbook of Small Animal MedicineCall Number: SF 981 S78 2012 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781840761740Publication Date: 2012
Raptor Medicine, Surgery and RehabilitationCall Number: SF 994.5 S36 2021ISBN: 9781789246100Publication Date: 2021
Skin Diseases of the Dog and Cat, Third EditionCall Number: SF 992.S55 M35 2019 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781482225969Publication Date: 2019- Small Animal Anesthesia and Pain ManagementCall Number: SF 991.A54 K65 2019 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781138035683Publication Date: 2019
- Small Animal Dental, Oral and Maxillofacial DiseaseCall Number: SF 867 N54 2011ISBN: 9781840761726Publication Date: 2011
Veterinary Technician's Manual for Small Animal Emergency and Critical CareCall Number: SF 778 V49 2012ISBN: 9780813810577Publication Date: 2012
* Older editions available for most texts.
Adams and Stashak's Lameness in HorsesCall Number: SF 959.L25 A3 2020 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781119276685Publication Date: 2020
A Handbook for the Sheep ClinicianCall Number: SF 968 W56 2012ISBN: 9781845939731Publication Date: 2012
Handbook of Equine EmergenciesCall Number: SF 951.E44 A73 2013ISBN: 9780702045455Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Equine Parasite ControlCall Number: SF 959.P37 R45 2013ISBN: 9780470658710Publication Date: 2013
Sheep Medicine, Second EditionCall Number: SF 968 S36 2015 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781498700146Publication Date: 2015
Veterinary Technician's Large Animal Daily Reference GuideCall Number: SF 748 V48 2014ISBN: 9780813816210Publication Date: 2014
