Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Dictionaries and encyclopedias provide basic information and an overview of a subject. These books are highly organized and formatted to access information quickly.
**Note: All hyperlinks in this guide open up in another window.**
Electronic Books
Black's Veterinary DictionaryCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781408149553Publication Date: 2015
Dictionary of Toxicology by Call Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780124202412Publication Date: 2015
A Dictionary of Zoology (Oxford Quick Reference series)Call Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780192583543Publication Date: 2020
Dorland's Illustrated Medical DictionaryCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781455709854Publication Date: 2012
Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary DictionaryCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780702074639Publication Date: 2021
Veterinary Medical Terminology Guide and WorkbookCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9781119465720Publication Date: 2019
Webster's New World Medical DictionaryCall Number: Electronic ResourceISBN: 9780470373439Publication Date: 2012
Online Resources
- Flashcard MachineAids in the ability to memorize and recall key terms and concepts in veterinary medicine.
- Merck Veterinary ManualA concise, easy-to-use, comprehensive online reference that covers the diversity of species and animal diseases worldwide. Provides authoritative guidelines for the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of animal disorders and diseases. Contains over 1,100 full-color images, audio examples, and videos.
- Pet M.D. Encyclopedia of TermsProvides descriptions of veterinary terms and topics, including diseases and pet care.
- Veterinary Terminology Flashcards – Study StackAids in the ability to memorize and recall key terminology in veterinary medicine.
- Vetlexicon (formerly VetStream)An online clinical reference source offering evidence-based treatment plans, detailed formularies, alternative medicine and acupuncture information, factsheets for owners, and multimedia resources on a variety of veterinary topics. Information is provided from a series of comprehensive, digital encyclopedias with content written and peer-reviewed by over 900 of the world's leading veterinarians.
- VIN (Veterinary Information Network)*Note: Sign-in is required*
Provides an online community, continuing education, and information resource for veterinarians. Founded in 1991, VIN reaches over 45,000 veterinarians, veterinary students, and industry partners worldwide.
Print Books
* Older editions available for most texts.
Animal Behavior Desk ReferenceCall Number: SF 756.7 B37 2011 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781439836514Publication Date: 2011
Black's Student Veterinary DictionaryCall Number: SF 609 W48 2017 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781472932020Publication Date: 2017
Black's Veterinary DictionaryCall Number: SF 609 W47 2015 - Permanent Reserve & StacksISBN: 9781408175729Publication Date: 2015
Dictionary of ToxicologyCall Number: QV 600 D535 2015 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9780124201699Publication Date: 2015
Dictionary of Veterinary NursingCall Number: SF 774.5 L365 2016 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9780702066351Publication Date: 2016
Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and AbbreviationsCall Number: W 13 D532 2016 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9780323340205Publication Date: 2016
Dorland's Illustrated Medical DictionaryCall Number: W 13 D68 2020 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9781455756438Publication Date: 2020- Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary DictionaryCall Number: SF 609 B56 2021 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9780702074639Publication Date: 2021
Veterinary Medical TerminologyCall Number: SF 610 C575 2020 - Permanent ReserveISBN: 9780323612074Publication Date: 2020
