Search for Academic Articles in Library Databases or Journals
- DiscoveryDiscovery is the default search for LSU libraries. It searches about 80% of the journal articles and all of the eBooks and print books owned by the library. This is the best place to start your research.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowCommunication Source is the most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research. Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
- LSU Libraries - List of Databases (A to Z)Select the "All Subjects" drop-down to review databases for a specific subject area.
The list below is a selection of mass communication journal subscriptions available at LSU Libraries. This is not a complete list.
- American Political Science Review2001 - present
- American Political Science Review11/01/1906 - present (Full Text Delay: 6 years)
- American Politics Research1973 - present
Finding Related Articles Using a Citation Index
If you find a helpful article, it's a good idea to look at the sources that article cites to identify other, earlier articles that may be relevant to your research.
A citation index allows you to find later articles (and in some cases book chapters) that cite an earlier article. In other words, if you find an article you are very interested in, you can look up the article in a citation index to identify later articles that list that original article in their references. These articles will often be related to the topic of the original article; a citation index can lead you to newer articles on a related topic.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is one of the easiest tools to use as a citation index. Note: If you aren't authenticated through MyLSU, Google Scholar will not recognize you as being affiliated with the university, and these articles won't be available as full text directly in Google Scholar.
How to Search for Full-Text Access by Journal Title
Looking for access to a specific journal title? This video demonstrates how to find out whether LSU Libraries has full-text access to the journal you need.
