MC 7005: Public Opinion: Scholarly Research Databases

This guide provides resources for podcasting in the social sciences.

Search for Scholarly/Academic Research

Discovery
Discovery is the default search for LSU libraries. It searches about 80% of the journal articles and all of the eBooks and print books owned by the library.

LSU Libraries has access to hundreds of academic databases. Below are just a sample of the databases at LSU:

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source is the most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research. Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.

Searching Tips - Databases

Use quotes for searching exact phrases
- example: "college students"
  - results will only include articles with this exact phrase
  - quotes are used to narrow your search
Use Boolean operators AND or OR
- AND example: media AND sports
  - results will include only articles that include both search terms
  - AND is used to narrow your search
- OR example: tobacco OR smoking OR cigarettes OR nicotine
  - results will include articles that have any of the search terms
  - use OR to find articles with similar or related keywords
  - OR is used to broaden your search