Research Guides: BE 1251: Research Resources

Develop Those Keywords

Keyword searching is the "key" for successful searching. Synonyms can make or break your searching experience and without the exact term, you may struggle to find the resources you need. This is why it is so important to search using different synonyms. If you type in one term and you don't find what you are looking for, try searching for it under a different term.

Possible keywords and phrases your professor has provided:

Biological engineering (ie, research biological engineering)
Bioenvironmental engineering
Biomechanical engineering
Biomechanics
Bioagricultural engineering
Biomaterials
Bioprocess engineering
Biomedical engineering (tissue engineering, prosthetics, orthopedics, etc.)

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A complete collection of bibliographic references to life science journal literature published internationally. This database gives users easy access biological information and makes it simple to retrieve millions of records from earlier research in virtually every life science discipline.
**The maximum number of simultaneous users is 10.**
CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Including the CAB Abstracts and CAB Health, this is the leading database for literature related to agriculture and applied life sciences, including strong international coverage.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village is a platform that enables in-depth search and discovery of both current, archival and interdisciplinary content comprising research and technical information in the applied engineering and physical science domains. It hosts highly-curated databases in which content from global publishers is indexed from journals, conference proceedings, trade publication, dissertations, standards, books, patents and technical reports.

Discovery
Discovery is the default search for LSU libraries. It searches about 80% of the journal articles and all of the eBooks and print books owned by the library. This is the best place to start your research.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) Abstract records and full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents IEEE conference proceedings IET journals IET conference proceedings IEEE published standards and redline versions IEEE Standards Dictionary Online Access to the AbstractPlus records and select full text published since 2005 from: VDE VERLAG conference proceedings IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library Purchase Full text access to all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2014.

PLEASE NOTE: Excessive printing and downloading, even through available functionality on IEEE Xplore, is not permitted under our license and will result in loss of access and possible disciplinary action.
Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Science & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 journals. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect, published by Elsevier Science, serves as a web information source for scientific, technical, and medical (STM) research. It offers access to thousands of journals in many fields of science, including the social sciences.

PLEASE NOTE: Excessive printing and downloading, even through available functionality on ScienceDirect, is not permitted under our license and will result in loss of access and possible disciplinary action.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Access the worlds leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. LSU Libraries Core Collection includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present); and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).

Biomaterials
The scope of the journal covers the wide range of physical, biological and chemical sciences that underpin the design of biomaterials and the clinical disciplines in which they are used. These sciences include polymer synthesis and characterization, drug and gene vector design, the biology of the host response, immunology and toxicology and self assembly at the nanoscale. Clinical applications include the therapies of medical technology and regenerative medicine in all clinical disciplines, and diagnostic systems that reply on innovative contrast and sensing agents. The journal is relevant to areas such as cancer diagnosis and therapy, implantable devices, drug delivery systems, gene vectors, bionanotechnology and tissue engineering.
Annual Review of Biomedical Engineering
This journal covers the significant developments in the broad field of biomedical engineering, including biomechanics, biomaterials, computational genomics and proteomics, tissue engineering, biomonitoring, health care engineering, drug delivery bioelectrical engineering, biochemical engineering, and biomedical imaging topics.
Biofabrication
Biofabrication™ focuses on cutting-edge research regarding the use of cells, proteins, biological materials and biomaterials as building blocks to manufacture biological systems and/or therapeutic products. Emphasis is on the development of fabrication technologies, modelling of the fabricated constructs and maturation of biofabricated objects towards the intended tissue types
Acta Biomaterialia
The scope of Acta Biomaterialia includes:
-Hypothesis-driven design of biomaterials
-Biomaterial surface science linking structure to biocompatibility, including protein adsorption and cellular interactions
-Biomaterial mechanical characterization and modeling at all scales
-Molecular, statistical and other types of modeling applied to capture biomaterial behavior
-Interactions of biological species with defined surfaces
-Combinatorial approaches to biomaterial development
-Structural biology as it relates structure to function for biologically derived materials that have application as a medical material, or as it aids in understanding the biological response to biomaterials
-Methods for biomaterial characterization
-Processing of biomaterials to achieve specific functionality
-Materials development for arrayed genomic and proteomic screening
IEEE transactions on medical imaging
The focus of the journal is on unifying the sciences of medicine, biology, and imaging. It emphasizes the common ground where instrumentation, hardware, software, mathematics, physics, biology, and medicine interact through new analysis methods.
Advanced Healthcare Materials
Advanced Healthcare Materials bridges the gap between fundamental laboratory research and clinical practice, covering all aspects of materials science in medicine and biotechnology, including:
-Tissue engineering and regenerative medicine
-Bioelectronics and implantable devices
-Imaging, biosensors and diagnostic tools
-Drug-delivery systems
-Infectious disease and vaccination
-Biocompatibility and toxicology
-Wound healing and traumatic injury
-Cancer therapies
-Materials for personalized medicine
Clinical oral implants research
Clinical Oral Implants Research conveys scientific progress in implant dentistry and its related areas.
Keywords:
clinical oral implants research, implantology, implant dentistry, oral implants, osseointegration, clinical trials, tissue integration, research, dental implants, stomatognathic physiology, material sciences
IEEE transactions on bio-medical engineering
Basic and applied papers dealing with biomedical engineering. Papers range from engineering development in methods and techniques with biomedical applications to experimental and clinical investigations with engineering contributions.
Journal of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine
Keywords: Tissue Engineering; Regenerative Medicine; Stem Cells; Biomaterials; Scaffolds; Clinical Trials; Cell Therapy; Cell Culture; Smart Materials; Animal Models; Bioreactors; Surgery; Tissues; Organs; Progenitor Cells; Gene Therapy; In vitro; In vivo; Biodegradable; Polymers; Self-Assembly; Minimally-invasive; Surface Modification; Constructs; Transplantation; Repair; Replacement; Regeneration; Artificial Organs; Protein Adsorption
Annals of biomedical engineering
Annals of Biomedical Engineering is an interdisciplinary, international journal which presents original and review articles in the major fields of bioengineering and biomedical engineering.

A major aim of bioengineering is to provide integrated approaches to the solutions of biological and biomedical problems. The philosophy is to provide engineering approaches to enhance the power of the scientific method, and to maintain a balance between experimental observation and quantitative analyses. While the development of theory and of mathematical models is strongly endorsed, these should be evaluated wherever possible using biological data from experiments that test specific hypotheses.

BE 1251: Research Resources

Develop Those Keywords

Research Resources

Provide Website Feedback Accessibility Statement

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement